We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed, decent views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
City, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy bed, decent views”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a review from an overnight hotel stay for me and my girlfriends for GNO. There was a construction thing going on during check-in. The staff were nice during check-in, check-out, and everything in between. The city view were of the buildings across, and had 2 queen beds. The hot breakfast the next morning were delicious, and yummy. The hallways were a bit narrow. The beds were comfy, perfect a place to just crash. The hotel is close by to many shops and restaurants (ramen spot and bubble tea spot, some seafood spot, Dougnut plant). I would recommend this place :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ll_exx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    732
    167
    55
    32
See reviews for
568
508
162
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is an excellent value for the money, spotlessly clean, professional staff, nice amenities. The toiletries are top notch and the complimentary breakfast is very appetizing and nutritious. The bed linens are fresh and immaculate, and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank TheBostonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I checked into the hotel on 9th March expecting Hilton hospitality but it turns out that these guys are hungry for your money. When i checkd in the normal proceedure was followed and my card was swiped .
I had made the booking through Expedia but the hotel continued deducting money from my account beyond the the charges that were agreed upon... way beyond like almost 50% more.

I had to make reservations for an extension of stay but now i would recommend folks to stay out the hilton group if this is how the other Hilton hotels are here.
If you go to the reception the front office manager would just rebut you asking you to meet the manager despite the fact that she authorized the amount. and these people have no grievance redressal forum or number.

Stay away from Hampton Inn..please. This is a caveat

Room Tip: Dont get yourself a reservation here please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VIKRAMJITNATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was a great choice for our family trip to New York.
There were 4 of us, my husband and I and a 16 yr old son and 14 yr old daughter.
The first night, they were over booked, so we had to squeeze into a King and a roll away, but right away the next morning, they moved our room to what we had selected, a 2 Queen room.
First, I would recommend flying into and out of Newark. There is a train to and from the airport which cost us about 45 bucks. It will take you from Newark to Penn Station, which you can then take a quick taxi from Penn station to your hotel. (after you figure out the subway, you could take the subway, but the first time, I'd take a taxi the 10 or so blocks with luggage.) Returning to the airport, same thing, leave from Penn Station (new york, on 34rd) and get right to Newark. Much cheaper than a taxi with the tolls. Our taxi from JFK was over $65 I think.
This hotel is a great value. I picked it for 2 reasons and realized there were many more. First, the 2 queen beds. In this price/quality range, this was one of the only hotels I found with this size bed. With 2 teens this was so important. The rooms are small, New York rooms, but this worked out OK for us. I would contact the hotel a few days before you get in to make SURE they have your number of people (they said that our reservation from Travelosity said 2 people and that is why they switched us to a King) But they were accomodating, and moved our bags from one room to the other while we were gone.
Everything was clean and beds were comfortable, noise from others (we were probably the noisy ones) was non existent. There are only 8 rooms per floor and 2 elevators, so everything was convenient.
The second reason I booked the Hampton was the breakfast. We saved a few hundred dollars by filling up before we ventured out for the day on the great breakfast. Eggs, meat, breads, oatmeal, waffles, yogurt, fruit and all drinks are complimentary. Coffee, tea and hot choc were available all day and night, as well as the fresh baked cookies in the evening.
One night, we played cards and watched Jimmy Fallon late at night, so we came to the breakfast area and had
Location also proved to be an excellent choice. We were right on 6th, which is the heart of Manhattan. 2 subway lines were right next to our hotel and we used them often. I would recommend buying the subway 7 day unlimited pass as we used it 8-12 times per day to get where we wanted to go. It was 30 degrees F in March, so we walked quite a bit, but it was cold enough to use the subway as much as we could.
Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations. If I were one to stay in the same place twice (I'm not) but I would book this place again. It was good for a family, seeing New York for the first time.

Room Tip: make sure to confirm your room choice a few days before if not booking directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loruhlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and staying with us. I do apologize for the room type not being what you requested the first night. I'm glad we were able to move you the next day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Staff service is great. Hotel location was good and close to restaurants (they provide a list). very clean and quiet room. breakfast was good for the hotel, do not expect a salad buffet.coffee is always available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Javier I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Also glad to hear it was centrally located. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills,New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at here..overnight. The price was just right (used Trivage)..the location perfect for what we wanted to do. When we arrived ,we did pay aliitle extra to valet the car..we attempted to park the car in a local garage, but the place was seedy and pretty creepy. Our check-in was easy, pleasant..we had a room with 2 queen beds. The room itself was clean, tidy,had just the basics.The beds ample for average size people..in the lobby there was a 24 hr coffee,tea,hot chocolate station, and in the morning breakfast was offered, we thought a pretty good variety. All in all, if you're in the area for business and /or pleasure, this is the perfect spot..without breaking the bank

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Puravida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad to know that it did not break the bank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have always enjoyed staying at the Hampton Inn. One of my favorite features is the coffee and tea stand that is available 24 hours per day. The rooms are clean and the Hampton Inn Chelsea, NYC, was conveniently located within a 4-block walk of my destination. It made my stay stress-free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Glad to know the hotel was convenietly located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#161 of 467 in New York City
1,934 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#207 of 467 in New York City
2,021 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#210 of 467 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#57 of 467 in New York City
845 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#175 of 467 in New York City
3,409 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 467 in New York City
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#149 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing