We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #157 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rosedale, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having stayed at this particular hotel several times, it has been a more than pleasant experience each time and between the quality of the hotel and its location, it is my preferred location when staying in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    718
    165
    52
    29
See reviews for
557
496
158
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice Location, right in Chelsea and close to 3 different subway location to explore the city easily, Hot buffet breakfast and coffee tea and cookies all day long. Very friendly and responsible staffs, they changed my room in my request in just a minute, they provided me the fridge I asked to be added to my room in just 5 min. Hampton Inn is always the best in value and quality

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank OmidIrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for that nice compliment. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This Hampton Inn is located in a great location near Madison Square Park and close to many subway lines. The hotel had a free breakfast which we found to be very good although basic. The breakfast was a great way to start the day and had fruits, cereal, hot breakfast items, waffle maker and more. The breakfast room was small but we never really had a problem finding a table. Sometimes there were AMAZING chocolate cookies in the lobby as well :) Rooms were average (small) size for Manhattan but very comfortable. Staff and service were pleasant and efficient but didn't over do it.

If you are interested in shopping/antiques definitely check out the garage antique sale across the street. (on weekends)

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endingstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Superb location on 24th with the 23rd Street subways a short walk away and a Whole Foods and Starbucks at the end of the road. Very friendly welcome, clean and comfortable accommodation, breakfast, cookies, coffee and tea all day and business centre for check in and printing boarding passes. The staff couldn't be more helpful - have stayed before and would stay again - the experience has been consistently good.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the lower the street sound - I prefer the front for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was happily surprised by the Hampton Inn on a recent business trip, as it's not a brand I typically choose. The room was very comfortable and clean and had a safe, the location was great, and the included Wifi and breakfast made it a much more affordable option than other similar properties. The breakfast included a number of hot and cold options (hurray for eggs!), which was also a nice surprise.

My only quibbles were that the TV didn't have many HD channels, which seems out of date given the nice modern decor, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the shower curtain can't seem to contain the water spray, so the bathroom floor was a wet mess each morning. Overall, it's a great choice if you need to be in lower Manhattan and I'm sure I'll be back.

Room Tip: You can request a room with a view of the Empire State Bldg., if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I admit it, I’m a Hampton Inn junkie, choosing the H.I. whenever possible. But its fine ratings on Trip Advisor notwithstanding, the Chelsea Hampton let me down. Maybe it’s just me but I had hoped for better. Yes, the location was good, the price was right, the wi-fi complimentary and strong. The personnel were pleasant enough, the lobby cheery, the water in the shower hot, even a safe was present in the room (not all Hampton Inns have them) – all important stuff, don’t get me wrong. But the moment I got off the elevator on my assigned floor I began to feel uncomfortable. Maybe it was the gray, colorless walls that got to me, so institutional looking and feeling that I had an urge to turn around and leave. Maybe it was the compact room with its unattractive view. Maybe it was an HVAC unit that had a mind of its own, never allowing me to set the temperature. Maybe it was the lumpy duvet cover that reeked of over-use, over-washing. I dunno. Maybe my expectations were too high. Maybe a renovation and some upgrading might help. Lot’s of “maybe’s.” I am not suggesting travelers stay away from the Chelsea Hampton Inn – there is plenty of good going on here, and obviously most visitors don’t seem to be disappointed. But for me, one visit was enough…

Room Tip: Presumably, the higher the floor, the better the view. I was on the 10th - could have been anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy, new york
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights during Veterans Day weekend and I can't say enough great things about the place. Check-in was smooth and the staff was very pleasant, the room was very nice and in fact when I asked for two double beds for the second night instead of a roll-away bed and and a Queen, the staff promptly checked the availability and got me into a room with 2 full-side beds. The breakfast was great and saved us money for our first meal of the day. They had a great variety. My grandson was very satisfied and so was I. Arturo, who I believe was the manager, was absolutely wonderful and in fact all of the staff that I encountered was so pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: On the weekends, there is an excellent flea market directly across the street. It is worth a stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for that wonderful comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#169 of 468 in New York City
1,897 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 468 in New York City
775 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#207 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 468 in New York City
815 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#81 of 468 in New York City
1,573 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#181 of 468 in New York City
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelPower, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing