We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff Handled a Difficult Situation Commendably”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #158 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff Handled a Difficult Situation Commendably”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Excellent location. Check in process was excellent. Room was great, clean, efficient. Breakfast was enjoyable. Staff was extremely helpful, pleasant, and even fun. They handled a difficult and potentially dangerous situation with drunk/high/unruly guests fighting in a neighboring room in the middle of the night as well as could be expected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MisfedOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for that comment. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    706
    163
    50
    28
See reviews for
542
490
156
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed 5 nights here for work. It was clean and had a helpful staff. I loved that 3 subway lines were within a short walk. Location was just far enough from Times Square to not be super crowded. Good place to stay. My only complaint is the smoke detector has a bright flashing green light, it's the weirdest thing, it flashed bright enough to light up the whole room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TacoBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. Initially, I booked eight months prior to the vacation and found it good value compared to other nearby hotels. I really like the location of this hotel, its away from the every busy theater district and its easy to get up/downtown via the subway stops at either end of the block. It is very easy to get around and the hotel is quiet at night which I love. They key things i enjoyed in the hotel were: - Complimentary Breakfast (so rare to find in Manhattan) - Free WI-FI for Hilton Honors Gold members (not sure if there is a charge for non-members) - Self Service Laundry (helpful for such as long stay), however, there is a service laundry & dry cleaners on the block which was reasonably priced as well. - Complimentary Coffee / Hot Chocolate 24/7 at hotel reception. I found all staff very friendly and welcoming. I have stayed in Manhattan quite a few times so far and have found this the most convenient as I tend to stay for 3 to four weeks at a time. Also, this is a relatively small in size hotel i think about 140-150 rooms so it is a more personal service. I hope you enjoy the same experience. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shaun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you returned to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel room given to me was dirty with un-made beds. When reported to front desk - no apology was given only a reluctant new room. Room is small and cramped. Carpets were dirty. Extremely over-priced room for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Chesney, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights last month on business. The staff were very friendly and professional, the rooms reasonably clean, and internet connection always available in the room.
It is very well located, very close to the subway and walking distance to many usual tourist destinations.
The breakfast is rather to the low end of one's expectations. There is no restaurant operating in the evening, but the place can be served for dinner bringing your own food from outside.
No room service either.
The price though was too high, but I guess this is rather typical for any hotel in New York city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great hotel! I was apprehensive but am so glad that I went for it. So...

Great central location, within walking distance of the usual tourist sights but not smack bang in the middle. Right by the subway too.

The service was spot on! Staff very friendly and helpful.

Rooms a little bigger than the room we had at the Hampton Inn Soho. Perfect. We even had a little bath. The view from room 601 was probably not what most would like but I found it interesting peering into the lives of New Yorkers and we could just about see the daylight so we knew what the weather was doing. Very clean and the cleaner was lovely and very helpful when I asked for more hangers. Bed very comfy and plenty of room for cases.

Very impressed with breakfast! Perfect start to the day and a lot better quality than most of those kind of buffet breakfasts. There was something for everyone.

Cookies and milk in the lobby was a nice touch as well as the computers for printing tickets etc. wifi in the room worked great.

Doors could do with being a little more sound proof as it sounded like our neighbours were trying to get into our room when they opened their door but other than this we had no disturbances at all.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uMEtravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I travel 3x a month and have stayed in my fair share of places. The staff here could not be friendlier and more accommodating. The rooms are a decent size for NYC, the PRICE is so reasonable and the area is perfect. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and our experience there. My husband and I were so happy and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeelocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for that perfect comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at world famous restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries.After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs while you send photos to your family using our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing