We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #159 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

have stopped here previously this time there was 4 adults and 1 infant hotel clean breakfast great but the biggest inprovement was the in room safe the staff were first rate especially alison on the front desk we had rooms 1706 & 1806 from the 27/09/13 to 01/10/13 all in all will stay again when next in new york

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    725
    166
    55
    32
See reviews for
564
505
162
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect! We had easy access to all neighborhoods in NYC. It is located right next to a subway station and there are plenty of cabs that come through this area. It is also right next to the PATH station which makes it easy to commute into New Jersey if you are flying out of Newark Airport. The hotel did a great job with utilizing the space in the room. The bed was comfortable and the staff was very polite and helpful. We also received free breakfast and WiFi during our stay! I was slightly worried about noise from the city but I didn't hear any traffic. Thanks for the great experience in NYC!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I still think that $300+ a night for a hotel room is ridiculous. However, since that seems to be the norm in Manhattan area, here is my review. The room was small but the bed was comfortable and quiet, nice for the noisiness of the city. Bathroom has one sink, would be nice to have had at least another plug or light near a mirror in the room for makeup, blowdryer, etc. Can't have two people in the bathroom at once. The breakfast in the morning was nice, premade cheese omelettes, sausage, fruit, yogurt, etc. Considering everything, the room was great and if the company pays for it again, we would be okay here. Only a couple of blocks to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I'm glad you had a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is a non-flashy hotel located on West 24th Street near 6th Avenue.

The size of the room was comfortable enough for 3 of us for 3 short days. The Wi-Fi signal was good and they even have an Internet cable provided in the room. There was no view from our window but it didn’t bother us, we were out all day. As for the bathroom, you might need to bring your own shower gel if you don’t want to share the cake of soap.

The breakfast is nice. They have made-it-your-own waffles, oat meal, cereal, croissants, bagels, eggs, sausages, fresh fruit. Coffee and tea were available all day. However the breakfast area is a bit crowded during the morning “rush hour”. But the staff are trying their best to restock the food and also kept the area clean.

There is a long wooden table with sockets alongside in the breakfast area…an ideal place if you need to do some work. It is quiet after breakfast time. Or there are two desktops for surfing internet located in the lobby area with printer provided, ideal to do flight check-in and print your boarding pass.

There is a Wholefood supermarket on 24th street and 7th Ave. but this one doesn’t have seating area. Or you might try Eataly on 24th street and Fifth Ave. which is not far away.

All in all, we would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel. Exceptionally helpful and nice staff who were always on hand to help out. We had a slight problem with the room on arrival and this was attended to within a matter of 10 minutes. Great location and very near to Penn Station which we used daily for our travels out to the Tennis at Flushing Meadows. Complimentary breakfast was great each day and certainly set us up for the long days ahead. Fantastic location and close to so many places that we wanted to visit in New York. Room was large in comparison to other hotel rooms that we have stayed in and the bed was extremely comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay here again on any future trips to New York.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a high floor which had nice views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniefromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was a great location and the staff was excellent. The rooms were very clean and the free breakfast was great. I would stay here again if the price is right. Very helpful with car service to the port as I was going on a cruise out of Red Hook.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location is perfect, very close to a number of subway lines and just a few stops away from major tourist attractions, and you would feel safe even at midnight. Walkable distance to High Line Park.

Breakfast is OK but isn't very rich in choice. There's no order-to-make in the breakfast but you can DIY pancakes. I like the coffee there. There's one night I came back hungry and surprisingly found they serve cookies and milk in the lobby - I just grabbed one and said thanks to the concierge.

The room isn't big but the bed is huge! Very good sleep indeed! I like the electricity socket dock at the bed side, it allows you to charge a number of devices even by USB. The hair dryer isn't working well but the technician didn't came to fix at the time we requested and we were in a hurry to leave (we didn't want him to come our room without our presence...) and we just had to leave it. From our room we can see the World Trade Center Tower 1 from afar, which is still under construction. There's no fridge in the room.

Staff are courteous, helpful and cheerful. The staff in the breakfast cafeteria would come to refill your coffee, one of them even came to me with a beautiful toast after seeing me ruined mine by making it too brown. I requested an extra chair in the room and they're happy to help.

A place of this quality is actually over our budget, but what can you say? It's New York downtown Manhattan!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peonie414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I'm glad the location was to your enjoyment, please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,918 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#206 of 467 in New York City
814 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 467 in New York City
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#209 of 467 in New York City
2,009 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#110 of 467 in New York City
834 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#88 of 467 in New York City
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing