We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #150 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location is perfect, very close to a number of subway lines and just a few stops away from major tourist attractions, and you would feel safe even at midnight. Walkable distance to High Line Park.

Breakfast is OK but isn't very rich in choice. There's no order-to-make in the breakfast but you can DIY pancakes. I like the coffee there. There's one night I came back hungry and surprisingly found they serve cookies and milk in the lobby - I just grabbed one and said thanks to the concierge.

The room isn't big but the bed is huge! Very good sleep indeed! I like the electricity socket dock at the bed side, it allows you to charge a number of devices even by USB. The hair dryer isn't working well but the technician didn't came to fix at the time we requested and we were in a hurry to leave (we didn't want him to come our room without our presence...) and we just had to leave it. From our room we can see the World Trade Center Tower 1 from afar, which is still under construction. There's no fridge in the room.

Staff are courteous, helpful and cheerful. The staff in the breakfast cafeteria would come to refill your coffee, one of them even came to me with a beautiful toast after seeing me ruined mine by making it too brown. I requested an extra chair in the room and they're happy to help.

A place of this quality is actually over our budget, but what can you say? It's New York downtown Manhattan!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peonie414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

I'm glad the location was to your enjoyment, please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated and close to lower Manhattan. Madison Square Park and Union Square are just blocks away. It is also very close to both the 123 and ACE lines, as well as the NQR train. Complimentary breakfast and free coffee make this hotel a no-brainer. Plus, the staff is also amazing, especially Lucy at the front desk. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As a first-time traveller to New York/Manhattan, I had no idea what to expect from the hotel and location, but I can honestly say it was a fantastic choice and I cannot fault the Hampton Inn on anything! Free breakfasts every day:- hot buffet, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, pastries and bagels etc. Free WiFi throughout the hotel, and the "business centre" PC's and printer that were absolutely invaluable for checking in online prior to the return journey and printing off boarding passes. They offer free tea and coffee all day in the lobby, and fresh hot cookies and milk were brought out to the lobby on the Friday and Saturday afternoons - what a lovely surprise! The rooms are clean and quiet - some say small, but I found our room perfectly adequate in size for two people, and with a very comfy bed for excellent nights sleep every night. They provide a luxury car service for return journeys to the airport (charges apply) but I definitely recommend this for comfort and convenience. The hotel location itself (108 W 24th Street, Chelsea) is ideal - walking distance to Times Square (head uptown) or Soho/Greenwich Village (downtown) and for further distances there is a subway one street away. The Empire State is literally a few blocks away, and there are plenty of deli's, restaurants, bars within the area so you won't go hungry! All in all, a fantastic experience and I would happily stay at the Hampton Inn, Chelsea again and again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a great room on a high floor. This is a sliver hotel in the middle of the block with a just a few room on each floor and no big hallways. Room was decent sized and bathroom was very clean. I used to think that 24th St and 7th was just for Fashion Biz, but I find it is very convenient to Midtown and the Village. Great train stops at 23rd st. Plus you got a new Fairway on 6th and a Whole Foods on 7th. Fun quiet part of Manhattan to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank UpInTheAirPotomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hampton Inn Chelsea in Manhattan is a FABULOUS hotel and we will definitely stay there again the next time we are in NY. It is close to so many places and in the heart of the city. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We were a party of 27 and they just rolled with it. The chocolate chip cookies they baked in the afternoon were the best!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for that great comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great location, clean room, helpful courteous staff, complimentary hot breakfast, and yessss, free wi-fi.
Everything you need in a hotel in New York City, and very reasonable, too.
Can't forget the warm cookies in lobby every afternoon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for that great comment. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in June and we were really impressed with the hotel given the price compared to other New York hotels. The buffet breakfast, included in the room price, sets you up well for the day with a selection of cereals, Bagels, fruit, waffles etc.

The included coffee station is available all day and the freshly baked cookies which come out in the afternoon are another added bonus.

The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Plenty of storage for a weeks worth of clothes for two, iron and ironing board in the room. Cleaning service were very helpful and the bathroom amenities were frequently replenished.

A great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. Please come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#206 of 471 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#142 of 471 in New York City
2,042 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#45 of 471 in New York City
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#201 of 471 in New York City
851 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#104 of 471 in New York City
2,030 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#188 of 471 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $130 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing