We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #165 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I love Hampton Inns. This one was no exception. The staff were really nice, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast was tasty. The location was nice as it was close enough to a lot of the attractions, but far enough away that it wasn't as busy as the hotels in the more touristy areas. It was also close to a couple different subway lines, so getting around was pretty easy. My only complaint is that the room was so small! I think that is probably normal for hotels in NYC, though. It definitely wasn't a deal breaker or trip ruiner, though, considering we really didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,904)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Hampton Inn has always been very inviting and pleasant to stay in. I stay there for at least 4 days annually when I visit NYC. I find this hotel to be excellent in the area of hospitality. I also like the location because I can get to various parts of NYC by foot instead of public transportation or taxis.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jasoncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The facility and service was great and we loved the location. It is one block from two seperate subway lines. The area was more like a neighborhood than a tourist location and there were reasonable resturants as well as very nice markets with in a block of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Beverely U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent 11 nights during June 2013. The location of the hotel is a huge asset: much nicer than the Midtown locations of most Manhattan hotels. It is close to subway lines and great hangout places around Greenwich Village. We stayed on the 10th floor with a view of the new World Trade tower. The room was quiet and large by NYC standards.

The hotel itself is very clean and everything is run efficiently. It is, of course, not in the luxury hotel class but all the basics you need are there: plenty of pillows, blankets, towels, toiletries etc. The free Wi-Fi is fast and reliable. Computers and a printer are available in the reception area.

The free breakfast is quite basic and limited in choice (I stocked up at the Whole Foods around the corner on nicer spreads) but is a good quick snack to kick-start the day. Free coffee and teas are available 24h.

On the downside, the elevators took quite long at times and there is not a single glass or porcelain mug in sight (all dinnerware is disposable). Given the green ethos of the hotel I would really like to see management review this aspect.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaGabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in NYC over the years and I have to say that this cute little place has been the best so far. The location is unbeatable! Close to everything and in a real and beautiful neighborhood in the city. Small-ish rooms but us two adults and our two preteens fit and rested quite comfortably. Comfortable beds and super quiet rooms (very important to me). Lastly, one of the the best complimentary breakfasts of any hotel I've stayed at. A gem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is located in the very appealing Chelsea area of New York. There are great places to eat and interesting art galleries nearby. It's right next to two main subway lines. The staff here is great. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet. The hotel offers a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We often stay in Hampton Inn hotels, and this was fairly typical for the brand. We had a king room on the 11th floor that was fairly large, especially by NYC standards. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the room was quiet at night--no bothersome noise from the street or from other guests even Saturday and Sunday. I had requested a room away from the elevator but it was actually just around the corner from it--but because of the layout of each floor none of the rooms are very far from the elevator. In any case noise was not a problem and we did not have long waits for the elevator.
When we arrived it looked like the bathroom had not been thoroughly cleaned--for example, there was an unwrapped soap on the floor partially under the trashcan. It also looked like one or two of the handtowels may not have been changed, or maybe they just weren't thoroughly dried after laundering. The housekeeper was on our floor when we checked in, so I asked for a replacement. I also didn't like that the towels were fairly thin.
The free buffet breakfast had lots of choices, though the quality of the cooked foods and the fruit salad was mediocre (except for the very tasty maple sausage that was offered one morning). There was sufficient seating for breakfast, in contrast to some other Hamptons and other hotels where people have to wait for someone to get up or take the food to their room.
The parking situation is confusing. The hotel offers valet parking for $45/day, but we thought we could find something less expensive in nearby garages. We asked the front desk person at checkin about garages and he mentioned a couple but said they don't have any special rates with them. One of the garages seemed to be across the street but the entrance was actually on another block. The sign said Hampton Inn parking so we drove up the ramp and found a strange situation--we said we were staying at the Hampton Inn and asked how much it was to park, and he said $60 paid in cash upfront (apparently for the whole stay) and he gave us a receipt. He said something about the car being moved to a different place on Monday because on the weekend the parking garage is used for a flea market. I was nervous about leaving the car there, but when we got back to the hotel and told the front desk person about it, he said that was the right place and stamped our receipt. When it was time to pick up the car there was no problem. But if that was a garage that the hotel apparently had an arrangement with (based on the fact that the front desk person stamped the parking receipt), why didn't they say so when we first asked about parking options?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#158 of 468 in New York City
1,970 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#202 of 468 in New York City
2,040 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#179 of 468 in New York City
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#203 of 468 in New York City
828 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 468 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#55 of 468 in New York City
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $185 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing