We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #151 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is located in the very appealing Chelsea area of New York. There are great places to eat and interesting art galleries nearby. It's right next to two main subway lines. The staff here is great. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet. The hotel offers a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We often stay in Hampton Inn hotels, and this was fairly typical for the brand. We had a king room on the 11th floor that was fairly large, especially by NYC standards. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the room was quiet at night--no bothersome noise from the street or from other guests even Saturday and Sunday. I had requested a room away from the elevator but it was actually just around the corner from it--but because of the layout of each floor none of the rooms are very far from the elevator. In any case noise was not a problem and we did not have long waits for the elevator.
When we arrived it looked like the bathroom had not been thoroughly cleaned--for example, there was an unwrapped soap on the floor partially under the trashcan. It also looked like one or two of the handtowels may not have been changed, or maybe they just weren't thoroughly dried after laundering. The housekeeper was on our floor when we checked in, so I asked for a replacement. I also didn't like that the towels were fairly thin.
The free buffet breakfast had lots of choices, though the quality of the cooked foods and the fruit salad was mediocre (except for the very tasty maple sausage that was offered one morning). There was sufficient seating for breakfast, in contrast to some other Hamptons and other hotels where people have to wait for someone to get up or take the food to their room.
The parking situation is confusing. The hotel offers valet parking for $45/day, but we thought we could find something less expensive in nearby garages. We asked the front desk person at checkin about garages and he mentioned a couple but said they don't have any special rates with them. One of the garages seemed to be across the street but the entrance was actually on another block. The sign said Hampton Inn parking so we drove up the ramp and found a strange situation--we said we were staying at the Hampton Inn and asked how much it was to park, and he said $60 paid in cash upfront (apparently for the whole stay) and he gave us a receipt. He said something about the car being moved to a different place on Monday because on the weekend the parking garage is used for a flea market. I was nervous about leaving the car there, but when we got back to the hotel and told the front desk person about it, he said that was the right place and stamped our receipt. When it was time to pick up the car there was no problem. But if that was a garage that the hotel apparently had an arrangement with (based on the fact that the front desk person stamped the parking receipt), why didn't they say so when we first asked about parking options?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great neighborhood with lots of great restaurants nearby. It's close to 2 different subway stops which makes it even easier to get around the city. The other nice thing is that you can get 2 QUEEN sized beds as opposed to other hotels where you can only get DOUBLE beds. This is helpful when traveling with teenagers!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff was exceptionally helpful to us. Great location, about a ten minute walk to Penn Station. The hallways are a bit cramped feeling and the elevators were slow, but other than that, no complaints. We had a great stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here a few nights for business as my company's NYC HQ was just a block away. I usually stay at Hilton brand hotels and this is the first Hampton Inn I've stayed at.

The pros: friendly service, free breakfast, nice looking lobby, nice rooms with solid furniture and fixtures, comfortable bed, comfy pillows, temperature control that worked and was fairly quiet!

The cons: the worst water pressure I have ever experience in a hotel. I was staying on the 2nd floor if it matters. Also, they say that they change the sheets every night on every stay. Untrue. The first night I arrived, my sheets had a pen mark stain on them. The second night, the pen mark stain was still on the sheets. They definitely did not change the sheets.

I don't think I'd stay here again just because of the water pressure and no sheet changes, but it was a fairly inexpensive hotel for what you got!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Four ladies for a 60th birthday celebration. We loved this hotel, and would definitely stay there again. The hotel was very clean and super quiet. The staff was wonderful. They let us check in early because they had a room available at noon, and we just got off a bus from Virginia, and were saturated due to heavy rains. Our room was so welcoming. But the staff was the best. They helped us navigate the area, and even suggested fun things for us to do. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and were very satisfied with our stay. The location was central if there are sights you want to see uptown AND downtown (took about 10 min to walk to Times Square). Having breakfast included (and warm cookies put out each night) was a nice bonus and helped offset the "sticker shock" of paying for a hotel in NYC. This was one of the few hotels we found with free wi-fi (which worked excellently). We requested a small fridge and were provided with one on our first day. Staff was very friendly, helpful and responsive. The room was not large but ok - had a closet and a room safe and a decent bathroom. Very clean. Only small issue we had was with sound-proofing - could easily hear our neighbours if/when they spoke at more than low tones and seem to have heard every door closing on the entire floor (which is only 8 rooms) when people left their rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#196 of 470 in New York City
2,087 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#147 of 470 in New York City
2,022 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#195 of 470 in New York City
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#48 of 470 in New York City
937 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#185 of 470 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 470 in New York City
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $156 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refreshed, 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at hot spot restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries. After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs or stay connected with our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing