We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The first "excellent" I've given”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The first "excellent" I've given”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked a business trip to Manhattan, and I chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Chelsea because of the room rate and the location near certain subway stops. I went expecting an average Hampton Inn with below average services, as offered in most Manhattan hotels. I was totally surprised!!! This property is a jewel, and the staff makes all the difference. I received a very friendly greeting on check-in, a call to make sure my room was acceptable 10 min. after I arrived, an excellent WIFI connection, immediate responsiveness to my every inquiry, an EXCELLENT morning breakfast (the best I've had in any hotel) which included waffles, omelettes, scrambled eyes, sausage, bacon, potatoes. Every day was a surprise, and it was laid out beautifully. The room was spotless, the cleaning of the room was thorough, and you were greeted with a smile at every turn, even from the janitorial staff. I had to pinch myself. Phil Cordelle, the Brand Manager at Hilton Hampton Inns, needs to know that this General Manager runs a "superb ship". My compliments to the Chelsea team! I'll be back, and I'll send others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front and sides are preferable. Back rooms are a bit dark and feel isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the first. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    712
    164
    50
    28
See reviews for
550
492
156
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emilyspinach
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hampton Inn Chelsea was a great place to stay in NY. My room was large (by New York standards), clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included in the rate. It is very well located and the subway is only a block away. I was able to walk to Chelsea Market, Theodore Roosevelt's boyhood home and the Antiques Garage is across the street. There is plenty of shopping in the surrounding area and lots of good restaurants within walking distance. If you forget anything there is a CVS drugstore a block away. I asked for a city view (recommended by reviewers on this site) and was given a room looking out on lower Manhattan. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilyspinach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad you had a nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is on 24th and 6th - very convenient to 23rd St subway. I stay in a lot of Hampton Inns - this one is new, clean, convenient - and the staff was great - will definitely return next time I need to be in Chelsea (or anywhere on the R really)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had no issues at all, staying for 7 nights whilst I with work. I found the staff to be very welcoming stand helpful. The breakfasts were great with lots of choice and included in the price which was fab! Free wi-fi in the rooms which meant I could Skype home and I found it a very relaxing stay would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DominicJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Glad to hear you were welcomed and relaxed. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were there for 5 nights, The hotel was spotless, extremely warm & friendly staff at great location. The rooms are small though. The breakfast a surprisingly large selection and was very good. We did not even need to go to Starbucks because the coffee was so good and always fresh and available.. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeyjford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice rooms, great breakfast, good service, reasonable price. Nothing to complain about at all! We booked two rooms for our group and they were right beside each other, the beds had no "comforter ick-factor".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the rooms and breakfast. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here in a double queen room in august for 3 nights. The staff at reception were brilliant and very efficient. We were checked in very swiftly. Our room was a little small but immacculate. We were there on a shopping trip and spent most of our time out, so the size of the room was not a problem. We were pretty close to a metro station and macys and broadway were a 10 min walk from here. The other great thing was the complimentary breakfast at the hotel. I would deinitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at world famous restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries.After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs while you send photos to your family using our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing