We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check out the snow leopards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Park Zoo

Central Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Pedicab Guided Tour of Central Park
Ranked #101 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oasis of wildlife in downtown Manhattan where visitors can encounter more than 1,400 animals in a variety of habitats, including a tropical rain forest to view rare birds and icy Antarctica to view penguins and other chilly creatures.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Check out the snow leopards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

A very small zoo but excellent use has been made of the space available. Tropical zone was great with birds flying around you but be warned it is hot in the enclosure. Prize animal for the zoo has to be the snow leopards, deadly and magnificent and the cubs just had everyone cooing over them.

Could do with another two rest rooms in the dining area, queued for 20 mins.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    859
    524
    191
    75
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great day for a small venture into the animal side of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Our group took a break from the cold with a magnificent Saturday in the city. Zoo is very small however the $5 student rate for our group tix made it truly a no brainer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iconic City Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

As far as animals go, let's face it: this place is ho-hum. What's fantastic is the ambiance of the place: the Penguin House, where all those kids' movies were filmed, the polar bear, the monkeys, the bird house. Is it worth lining up forever to get in? No. But beautiful old zoo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FranMills2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth every second”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My kids and myself love this zoo. We found a coupon online to save some money. Now when you go to NYC for the day you try to fit a lot in. If something takes all day long, to me, it's not worth it. There is so much to see and do you don't want to spend all day indoors at one place. We went in the spring. The grounds are beautiful. Lots of interesting animals. Near other interesting attractions. It was relaxing and beautiful. Would definitely go again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvhavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I loved seeing all of the animals...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

*I actually went in January 2007, they make you put a date*
I loved going to the Central Park Zoo. I went for my tenth birthday. I had a lot of choices of where to go and I decided that I wanted to get a horse drawn carriage ride around Central Park, then go to the Central Park Zoo, and for dinner, go to Hard Rock Cafe' in Times Square. I loved that day. The zoo was so fun. I really recommend going there. It's fun for people of all ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Central Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing