We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet, lovely zoo. Easy for young kids!”
Review of Central Park Zoo

Central Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Pedicab Guided Tour of Central Park
Ranked #100 of 1,092 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oasis of wildlife in downtown Manhattan where visitors can encounter more than 1,400 animals in a variety of habitats, including a tropical rain forest to view rare birds and icy Antarctica to view penguins and other chilly creatures.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A sweet, lovely zoo. Easy for young kids!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Always a favorite with my kids. First visit since Gus the polar bear died and space is vacant. Penguins, snow leopard, rainforest animals are a huge hit and love the location as it is so close to 5th ave shopping and central park playgrounds. An easy way to spend an hour or so. Geared toward younger children

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    884
    545
    195
    77
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed by the zoo.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Took my infant daughter to the zoo over the weekend. The zoo is not stroller friendly...No ramps...had to carry the stroller up and down the steps. I thought what about the folks in wheelchairs, its not very accessible. Very limited attractions to see. Was not impressed by the zoo I really had my hopes up and was disappointed. I thought a place for children would be "baby friendly", we couldn't take the stroller into some of the exhibits and there really wasn't a good diaper changing station.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PASM718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was surprised to find the Zoo to be so attractive. It is obviously very popular and rightfully so. Sadly, the bear has recently died, but all the exhibits, though small, are very well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 29doro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Way to Spend an Hour...”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Visiting the Central Park Zoo was a nice way to spend an hour or so on a beautiful day. A good way to enjoy the outdoors in the city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A must do in NYC”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's a quiet oasis in the heart of NY. Perfect for families and couples and really anybody. Make sure that you don't miss seeing the penguins get fed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Central Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing