We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”
Review of Central Park Zoo

Central Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Pedicab Guided Tour of Central Park
More Info
$229.00*
and up
Private NYC Combo Tour of Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art
More Info
$40.50*
and up
Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #103 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oasis of wildlife in downtown Manhattan where visitors can encounter more than 1,400 animals in a variety of habitats, including a tropical rain forest to view rare birds and icy Antarctica to view penguins and other chilly creatures.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is probably the smallest zoo I've ever been, but still nice. Though the entering fee is too high for this size of zoo. It has red panda, penguins (a lot of different species), birds collections and sea lions. Sadly, polar bear had died and I don't know if he will be replaced.
If you're going with kids - this might be interesting, if you're by yourself - maybe try Bronx zoo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    909
    555
    196
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lots of penguins, couldn't see much else”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Central Park zoo, unless I missed a bunch of it, isn't very big. The penguin room had a lot of penguins, and it was fun to watch them eat, dive, swim and jump out of the water, but that was about it. Not worth the $45 we spent for two adults and three kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't bother going.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was horrible I went with my friend was really looking forward to it and what a let down. All the animals look very unhappy only the birds were happy but the polar bear shouldn't be there its to hot and was getting fed bread and carrots.. We had to leave as it upset us so much. I feel so sorry for the animals it's to small to be a zoo. If you want to go to a zoo and see the animals happy go to Edinburgh zoo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Barely an animal in sight...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I wasn't exactly expecting a huge selection of animals here as it's a very small space and obviously the fact it's smack dab in the middle of NYC...but the few enclosures they did have were not populated by animals that the human eye could detect! There was just no sign of the majority of the animals. During my visit I spotted penguins, insects, reptiles, birds and 2 seals, that was it.

NYC is one of my favourite cities in the world but this 'attraction' just doesn't cut the mustard. There are sooo many things to do in this amazing city so just stick to every other experience the city offers because this one just isn't worth it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cococlarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good way to spend an hour or two”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited this zoo in August.

Was a little hard to find (it's not signposted at all in Central Park), ended up having to ask a few helpful Hot Dog and Pretzel vendors for directions.

Found the zoo itself to be enjoyable, wouldn't place it top of any "must see" New York lists, but definetly a good way to spend an hour or two if you have a bit of down time during your trip. It is a little on the small side, but was well aware of that in advance by reading the reviews on here.

There are Penguin and Sealion shows on at different intervals during the day so check the schedules in advance of visiting.

Would recommend paying the few extra dollars upon entry in order to get the Ice Age 4-D movie tickets, which I found to be surprisingly good. This 20 minute movie runs throughout the day at a theatre located on the zoo grounds.

We didn't stop to eat during our visit, food on sale at the cafeteria didn't look the best so might be an idea to bring a packed lunch with you and have a picnic instead!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liamq13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Central Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing