We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Park Zoo

Central Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Pedicab Guided Tour of Central Park
Ranked #102 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oasis of wildlife in downtown Manhattan where visitors can encounter more than 1,400 animals in a variety of habitats, including a tropical rain forest to view rare birds and icy Antarctica to view penguins and other chilly creatures.
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love the central park. There is always a great sight to see. We ran into the Guitar Man and other musical people that draw a crowd and make the park just that much more inviting. Def worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AGNE U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    859
    524
    191
    75
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Little Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stopped here while we were visiting family in New York. It's a nice little Zoo, and the price isn't too bad considering everthing in New York is overpriced. You can get through it pretty quickly though as we made it through the entire zoo in about 4 hours. You could spend more time if you move slower and read all the informational things they have though.

Don't go here thinking it's going to be one of the "Big City Zoos" or anything though. Nothing like other Zoos I have been to in Ohio and Florida in regards to size. Hard to believe you're in the middle of NYC while walking through this place which is kinda cool.

Only negative thing was the crazy long wait to get a ticket and get in the place. Other than that it was a nice little experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doogie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste-Marguerite-du-lac-Masson
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Something magical about this place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was a rainy day, but our only day in NYC for my birthday, so we took our umbrellas and walked to the Central Park Zoo. We were very kindly greeted, and to my surprise, the entry fees were very low (12$) - less than parking in NYC! This is definitely not the biggest zoo ever, but it is so inspiring and charming. To have the trees and the animals around you, and to see the huge buildings surrounding this place all at once really made this experience worthwile. You must visit the bird house, I actually made friends with a huge weird looking bird! The polar bear seemed very lonely and his "enclosure" was definitely too small for him, that was the only downside to this very beautiful place. Visually, superbe!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank decibelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Madagascar - eat your heart out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

A superb little zoo. Very quiet in the winter - needed to get into the butterfly house to warm up from the bitterly cold winter winds. Only downside was the rather sad looking lonely polar bear - surely the living space is too small for it? Otherwise looked well kept and clean. Miserable staff though!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thirty_nine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect little Zoo to enjoy the best of Central Parc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited on a sunday which we thought to be crazy bussy. Gettingthere there was a long line but the helped everybody quickly on there tickets so it took us about 10 minutes to get ours. After entering we watched the sea lions get fed and the pingins where great as well. Spend about 2 hours in the zoo looking at all the animals and left after that. Clearly not a full size zoo but great to spend a couple of hour getting the most out of Central Park.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buijsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Central Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing