We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Be warned - when you see this place you won't want it at all” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
World Hotel
Ranked #443 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Be warned - when you see this place you won't want it at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This is not a cheap hotel, it is not fit for human habitation.
I was upset that Booking.com allows this place to be listed.
We were shown a room only a few square feet in size with dirty walls, dirty floor and sheets.
These people obviously just advertise the place as a hotel knowing that when customers arrive they will likely refuse what they see and leave. I guess the figure some won't dispute the hard charges for the deposit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank joffydavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    48
    58
    219
See reviews for
31
75
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Simply the worst place we've ever stayed.Dried blood on the wall, tiny room you couldn't swing a cat in, which was only separated by a partition to the next room. Doors banging all night. Absolute kip

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
6 Thank Eoin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This crappy place could be called a hotel? I booked a double room with private bathroom, they gave me a room with shared bathroom(shared with a lot of rooms I believe).
The room is the worst place I stayed ever. It is noisy, dirty, and COLD.
1. The room is next to the busy street (cars&trucks passing by all nights). The windows are so old that there's no protection against the noise.
2. The blankets are not washed and neither does the pillow covers. On the corner of the drawer there're even spots of bloods!
3. It was really cold the day I were there. I felt the heater is off. My room was freezing at night and so does the shared bathroom.
I'd have left the place as soon as possible but I arrived late at night so I had to stay there for 6 hours. I should say this is the worst place I have slept inside. And it calls itself 1.5 star hotel? How do they get the 1.5 star rating? If I were the rater, I would give it 0 star hotel rating and 0 star for the TripAdvisor rating.

DO NOT EVEN SPEND A PENNY HERE! But I am so sad I spent 80 bucks for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
313 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Good location, 2 minutes walk from subway station, and walkable distance to Brooklyn bridge and financial district. Very cheap, the cheapest place to stay in New York City. Bathroom was disgusting and not enough for everyone, there are 53 rooms on one floor with only two bathroom. Room was so small, too small to stay in. I think they did not clean our room when we checked in, I found hairs in pillow and on the bed. And soap they provided us in the room had been used, once again I saw hair in the soap which repacked into the plastic container. It is really gross hotel, I would rather stay in the hostel. Definitely not going back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

OMG ! They cant call this an hotel, is just a place to sleep, if you can sleep with noise, because you can hear all the rooms because all the ceilling are conceted to all of them so you can hear conversations, tv's, anything you can think of, you have one toilet with shower for on level with more than 30 rooms per level, the room was full of cockroaches, the staff was extremnelly unhelphul, hasnt got any lifts, the toilet is cleaned or wiped one a day, not enoughf for all the people that they use it every day. It´s better to pay a bit more in a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PachecoSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Inexpensive and close to the B and D subway. I stayed seven nights on the fifth floor. There is no elevator. There are no phones in the room. If you need the front desk, it is on the second floor which meant, for me, a walk down three flights of steps. My TV did not work for the entire stay, although I mentioned it the first night. The rooms are SMALL, like six feet by six feet-- I could touch both walls with my fingertips in both directions. There were two bathrooms at the far end of my floor that all 20 or 30 rooms shared, so often the bathroom wait was long, and there was rarely any toilet paper. (However they did supply a roll in the room for personal use.) I had no light in my room for the first five nights, but after daily reminders, the bulb was finally changed. There is only a bed and a drawer-less dresser in the room, no closet or drawers for your clothes. There are false ceilings overhead, so you can hear others in their rooms as though they're right next to you (there was a girl with a bad cough across the hall from me who kept me awake several hours every night). There is no control of temperature, either colder or hotter, so I was frigid a few nights. It was very clean, and the staff was friendly. That's about it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuckyMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#391 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#384 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#321 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#427 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Hotel

Property: World Hotel
Address: 101 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4900
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — World Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing