We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“DO NOT stay here.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
World Hotel
Ranked #443 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“DO NOT stay here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here on the 4th to the 5th due to my bf's business trip. Check in was ok, but the room is very small, we reserved for a private bathroom room, but instead they gave us a shared bathroom room.

The room's furnitures are outdated, seem like the chair could fall over anytime soon. Wifi was slow, and the heater didn't seem like it's working at all. The shared bathroom is very unclean, as the people that stayed here can't seem to help keep it clean, or the helps here don't care much.

Location is right in the heart of Chinatown, close to shopping/eating, close to subways stations, and those are the only good thing for this motel. If you are not planning to stay in room all day, then it's fine. But if you are, DO NOT stay here, and spend a little extra at the Comfort Inn (Manhattan Bridge).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    47
    56
    218
See reviews for
30
73
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed here it was a cheap room but no value, no elevator had to walk up and down 5 flights of stairs, I opened the door and literally the bed was right there I could stand up and each hand could touch both walls this room was the size of a small SUV, no joke, they gave me a orange heavily used beach towel as a bath towel, could hear a couple three doors down eating and being intimate, asked front desk move room he seemed agitated and gave me a room, just as bad no a/c or t.v., don't be fooled by photos online they don't look like that there's only two bathrooms for the whole floor and there incredibly filthy, its also in a rather in unsafe area I had a two night stay there and left and got a room at a way better hotel was more but worth it, please don't make the same mistake I did don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will012586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

If this hell hole was in the UK , it would be closed down !!!
DO NOT REPEAT NOT STAY THERE !!!!!!!!!!!!

After an 8 hour flight from the UK , WE ARRIVED TO BE TOLD WE NEED TO PAY BEFORE BEING GIVEN THE KEY ,
So we paid and the key was handed over once we tackled the 5 flights of stairs with our heavy suitcases , the room which can only be described as worse than the Bangkok Hilton (prison ) , no no In fact it makes the Bangkok Hilton look like the ritz they take the money knowing full well that if you saw the room first there is no way you would stay there

The lovely view of blood stained covers and wet towels from the previous person were there to greet to As well as the bedside table thick with dirt not to meantion dirty floors and curtains

THERE WAS A MAN SHOUTING EVERY NIGHT FROM SOMEWHERE TELLING SOMEONE TO SHUT UP IN A VERY ABUSIVE MANOR WHICH WAS SCARY AND INTIMIDATING NOT SURE WHERE BUT HE SOUNDED SO CLOSE HE COULD OF BEEN SITTING ON THE BED WITH ME

I had to go to the nearest shop to buy gloves bleach and clothes to clean the shower out myself before I could even think about getting in it


I complained about the blood stained covers only to be blamed for doing it myself and he refused to replace them as if I would do something like that .

After the 3rd night we couldn't take any more and left at 6am to a more expensive hotel without any kind of refund

I have complained to booking.com who quite frankly do not care about this and will not accept any kind if responsibility ,

The pictures advertised on booking.coms website do not exists in that place , so do not go off the pictures that you see on the sellers websites

BE WARNED please spend the extra

The whole experience of the new world hotel ( what a joke ) ruined my holiday I had saved so hard

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Anjunabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I booked 2 nights at this 'hotel' via Booking.com for a room advertised a 'Standard Twin' for $90 per night. On arrival, I struggled up a steep flight of stairs to find a shabby 'lobby', and the surly desk clerk asked for my ID and Credit Card. He then gave me my room key and said the room was up another 3 flights of stairs. When I asked if anyone could help me carry my suitcase, he said he was the only person there and could not leave the desk. I opened the door to my room (on a long and dismal corridor) and gazed in disbelief at the cramped, windowless cubby-hole and the ONE tiny bed. The shared shower and toilet area was filthy and stank to high heaven. There was someone injecting drugs in the toilet. Needless to say I decided not to stay and left the premises to look for another hotel. I returned an hour later to collect my things. I contacted Booking.com who forwarded my email to the 'New World Hotel. A week later I received a response that was illiterate at best and full of inaccuracies and lies. The Manager claimed that someone had carried my case to my room, that the shower/toilets are cleaned every 3 hours and that the room was as advertised. The place should be shut down. It would be a rip-off at $9, never mind $90. ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Curatorial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

you get what you pay for I guess, but this was a third world style accommodation experience . The only good thing about it was that they have a cheap taxi company on hand ready to get you out of there!
with our suitcases in the room , we couldnt open the door. I am 6" tall and could touch the width and the length of the room with my hands.
You have to lug your suitcases up very steep stairs with no help at all from staff , and everything is absolutely filthy... mops in buckets that reek of dirt from the floor ...feces on the floor of the bathrooms.. mould and grime. Theres only 4 toilets to about 150 people that stay there . which i'm sure is a health hazard in itself .
disgusting.
save more money and avoid this place ruining your stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Theres NO good rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Avoid this card board city sham.. can't even call it a hotel with a passion as i booked to stay here for four nights seen as the price looked reasonably cheap for a stay in New York. But take my advise i had to make a quick change when i arrived to book another as soon as we got here. They gave us a different room number than advertised also there was no phone in the room like they advertised and the room was supposed to be a double room with double bed and they tried to palm us off with a box room with a single bed for two people and no window it felt as if you where in jail SERIOUSLY... what a cheek and i'm talking really... As i'm in the process of getting a full refund it was booked through expidia.com belive me guy's & girls look around and you'll get a nice motel or hotel for a few bucks more. I've gave a another name below F.Y.I

Room Tip: A good cheap place that i found and ended up staying after being let down by the World Rot Hell.. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kickstart2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Well, I knew it had to have some tricks the fact that a hotel in NYC could be so cheap. And still I was shocked when I walked in there. I went with a friend and we got just one bed (we couldn't even fit both) in the 5th floor. Too many stairs and all of them smelled like crap. No cleaning and Wifi worked only in the mornings. Staff tried to be helpful but they hardly speak english, so it was worthless asking for something to them. Our room had a very bad smell everyday and the bathroom was very dirty and creepy. I would recommend to pay some extra dollars and get at least a clean room where you can sleep.well. Views from the broken window were awful too.

Room Tip: Better ask for a room in the ground floor if you dont want to walk up the stairs. Avoid this hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Guillermo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#382 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#316 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#427 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#263 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Hotel

Property: World Hotel
Address: 101 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4900
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — World Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing