We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China Town Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #430 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“China Town Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed during our visit to NY. I did not realize that the hotel was in the middle of China town. I probably did not do enough research. We arrived very late so it was difficult to change our minds. The room was very small and the temperature was not stable. Cleanness could be improved and some of the furniture replaced. It is however a two minute walk to the B and D metro station that gets you in four stops to 5th avenue. China town is vibrant with lots of shops and the streets did not feel unsafe but there were always lots of garbage bags on them.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    66
    30
    49
See reviews for
59
55
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Before making a booking with Hotwire in the US, we looked in detail at the Hotwire website information, read the testimonials they have on the website, and looked at Trip Advisor. Hotwire was promoted as reputable company that offered quality travel deals below published prices.

HOWEVER... we were very shocked to find that the hotel we had booked - the Windsor Hotel - supposedly in the financial district and supposedly usually priced at US $375 - was a rundown hotel in Chinatown staffed by people with very low-level English language skills. The room was quite dirty, smelt funny, and was furnished very shabbily. There were people in the street outside talking and you could hear every word from inside the room. We have stayed in better hotels in rural China.

As soon as we saw the room, we called Hotwire and spoke with one of their operators; however, they could not find another hotel and we were charged for the night's accommodation (that we did not use). We had to find another hotel for the night, which we did using another travel organisation. When I got back to Australia I sent Hotmail a couple of emails but got no reply.

Advice from this experience is to be very careful if you are dealing with Hotwire and avoid the Windsor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chez_Victoria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Reading other reviews of this hotel I was expecting the worst, but was pleasantly surprised. Yes the hotel is a little dated, and not the cleanest. However, it was adequately clean, and housekeeping came in everyday. The location was excellent, and very easy to get round the city from. Some of the staff could do with learning a bit more about customer service, as some weren't all that friendly. However, this is just a small negative. This hotel is great for people who are on a budget like myself, so would totally recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BeckyManley76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I left the hotel at 4am to catch a early flight home after being bitten by bed bugs. Room was not very clean. Old outdated furniture. One bed was a twin size, the other bed was not quite a full size. No matress cover on bed and thin sheet. Other bed had dirty cover on top. Shower fixture was loose. I had to get my own face cloth from the basement after I had asked the front desk for one. Window blinds were broken up and curtains soiled. After reporting this to the front desk, I was told to call back later to speak to the manager. I got the run around and never got a response. I will never stay here again! The only good thing: Good location to subway and China Town. Not worth the $200

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 366Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba, Caribbean
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

In a good spot, basic hotel. Don't expect anything too flash, if you just want a place to sleep in a good location then you will find this to be the place.

Review doesn't have to be any longer than that really,





Room Tip: Clean the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Hipster1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Bed bugs..very gross........expired body wash (the expiration date on the package was 2 years ago!)

super dirty rooms...I can see trash hidden behind the bed.... it's located at a great spot that is close to subways and food but I will never want to come back again because of those cleanliness issue.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lockingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon; this being the NY bit of it.
This hotel is smack in the middle of Chinatown, with a park over the road where, each morning, you'll find the local population undertaking Tai Chi or Chinese dancing. On Sunday afternoon we also watched bicycle polo - fascinating, but, even as an ex racing cyclist, not something I want to try!
The hotel itself is located close to subway stations, so travel around NY is easy and convenient.
Plus points for the hotel:
a) 24 hour manned reception
b) Fantastic location
c) Rooms comfortable and adequately spacious
Minus points for the hotel:
a) Cleanliness - the rooms could do with a serious vacuuming - as a nurse, my wife reckons it's because the cleaners are male - how sexist! That said, she did find a sock in the bedroom - and it belonged to neither of us.
b) the safe in our room did not work. The manager attended and discovered that there were no batteries in it. He told us he was going to get some. Had I been patient enough to wait, I'd still not have a safe! In the end, I used some of my rechargeable AA camera batteries to power it.
c) There's a sign in reception that states "Free coffee 0600-0900 daily". Close, but no cigar. Apparently, coffee has not been available for more than 2 years. Tea (sorry, Liptons teabags) are available, with creamer not milk!!
Would we stay there again? Yes, because, for NY, it's cheap; you get a private bathroom rather than shared as many others offer at this price and it's quiet, so sleep is possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpannerGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#378 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Comfort Inn Sunset Park / Park S...
#388 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#417 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#398 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 108 Forsyth St, New York City, NY 10002-5102
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing