We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They cancelled our reservations”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #447 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 29, 2012

After flying in from Australia via Seoul (24 + hours) we arrived at the hotel with vouchers in hand, eager for a bath and bed, only to be told that our reservations had been cancelled! When questioned, the staff member said 'someone' had called and cancelled our rooms twice, first on the 8th then 11th December. We did no such thing. And who would call twice to cancel? Dodgy hotel! When we asked if they could call a taxi for us the non-English speaking staff kept saying "hotel full, you go find other hotel" Never returning here!

Room Tip: Service was non existent except to tell us there was no room for us.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 253 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

A pretty basic hotel for that kind of money. Bed was ok, bathroom was tiny, faucet wasn't easy to operate, room was all in all pretty small, there's a desk there with a chair, but you could hardly sit on it as you were so close to the bed. Room was very clean though!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Davy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were very worried about this place, because of all the negative reviews, bugs, etc. We really had no problems here. It is a budget hotel, so do not expect more than that. The room was small, but the bed was comfotable enough. There was a November blizzard raging outside, but we were plenty cozy. Staff were helpful with restaurant picks. It is a decent location for lower manhatten. We walked to the World trade center location, ran to Battery Park, etc. Good subway connections within a few hundred yards of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldyuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Whatever you do, don't book here. Awful service, nobody listens to you. We got bitten by either bedbugs or fleas, red bites all over my hands and arms. Tried to tell the staff about it and ask whether it had happened before, but they just denied it. When we looked it up on internet, we saw several others that had been bitten at the same hotel, with management ignoring them.
Dirty towels and rooms, small spots everywhere. Don't come here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiVidn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Three of us (Early 20's) were over at end September for 6 nights, we had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel, no bed bugs or anything like that, room was very clean, serviced every day, lots of toiletries in bathroom (toothpaste, soap and shower gel)

The beds were comfy enough and the shower was excellent, plus our room had a view of the Empire State Building (Think you will need to get a room on the corner, number *02 dependant on what floor you're on (We had 2 double beds)

Anybody saying that the room was too small is talking nonsense. Three of us were in one room and there was more than enough room for us.

If I come back to NY, I will definitely consider to staying here, as will my friends. The staff were very courteous and polite and there are 2 subways stations within the area (Grand St is 1 minute walk, yes, 1 minute! and Bowery is 2-3 minutes.

Fantastic budget hotel that gets all the basics right.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a corner of two extremely quiet side streets, there were no noise issues whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip. Got there at 10:30PM to find that because it had been raining, there was a leak in a room which forced them to put me in a basement room with a shared bathroom - not what I wanted to deal with. The room seemed clean (I checked for bedbugs after reading another Tripadvisor review after I booked the hotel) and had a tile floor, which I was glad to have. But it was barely big enough to hold the double bed, chair and table (with a TV on it) that it had. No hooks on the wall, so nowhere to hang anything. The "bathroom" was a small room with a toilet, sink and shower head sticking out of the wall - fortunately there were disposable slippers that I was able to shower in.

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This def isn't a fancy place to stay, but was good enough even with our 3 year old daughter. The location was great just a short walk to all the shopping and fun things to do in Chinatown as well as downtown area short train ride. Ask the front desk a good place to eat and they will giv u great suggestions we went to an amazing Chinese place that u would never find or even think of goin to if u don't ask the locals. The air conditioner leaked water but apart from that was an average hotel in a good proximity to a fun time

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jvaradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
650 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#400 of 469 in New York City
29 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#394 of 469 in New York City
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#423 of 469 in New York City
140 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#433 of 469 in New York City
1,993 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 469 in New York City
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 108 Forsyth St, New York City, NY 10002-5102
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $105 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing