We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for budget travellers, can't fault the hotel!!!”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #447 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Three of us (Early 20's) were over at end September for 6 nights, we had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel, no bed bugs or anything like that, room was very clean, serviced every day, lots of toiletries in bathroom (toothpaste, soap and shower gel)

The beds were comfy enough and the shower was excellent, plus our room had a view of the Empire State Building (Think you will need to get a room on the corner, number *02 dependant on what floor you're on (We had 2 double beds)

Anybody saying that the room was too small is talking nonsense. Three of us were in one room and there was more than enough room for us.

If I come back to NY, I will definitely consider to staying here, as will my friends. The staff were very courteous and polite and there are 2 subways stations within the area (Grand St is 1 minute walk, yes, 1 minute! and Bowery is 2-3 minutes.

Fantastic budget hotel that gets all the basics right.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a corner of two extremely quiet side streets, there were no noise issues whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip. Got there at 10:30PM to find that because it had been raining, there was a leak in a room which forced them to put me in a basement room with a shared bathroom - not what I wanted to deal with. The room seemed clean (I checked for bedbugs after reading another Tripadvisor review after I booked the hotel) and had a tile floor, which I was glad to have. But it was barely big enough to hold the double bed, chair and table (with a TV on it) that it had. No hooks on the wall, so nowhere to hang anything. The "bathroom" was a small room with a toilet, sink and shower head sticking out of the wall - fortunately there were disposable slippers that I was able to shower in.

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This def isn't a fancy place to stay, but was good enough even with our 3 year old daughter. The location was great just a short walk to all the shopping and fun things to do in Chinatown as well as downtown area short train ride. Ask the front desk a good place to eat and they will giv u great suggestions we went to an amazing Chinese place that u would never find or even think of goin to if u don't ask the locals. The air conditioner leaked water but apart from that was an average hotel in a good proximity to a fun time

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jvaradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed in Room 406 late May early June 2012. The room was clean, and it was cleaned satisfactorily every day.

The room was modest: See photos. The bath towels were small, but when I asked for extra they gave me extra.

I used the microwave in the basement to cook my cereal. The front desk people were courteous. They stored some perishables for me in a small refrigerator at the front desk.

My bed was firm but I slept well on it. There were NO BUGS, of any kind, that I could perceive, in my room. Repeat: In my room I did not get bitten or grossed out in any way.

This place is very convenient to the Grand St. subway station. And I had a view of the park across the street, where people exercise in the mornings and play soccer. This is smack dab in Chinatown; it's likely that the people you meet on the street will not speak English. The food store across Broome St. is unusual in that the predominant language is Spanish, not Chinese.

This is not a place to get away from it all. This is a place to be in the middle of it all. You can do your morning exercises in the park and no one looks at you funny.

My only complaint is that in the staircase the last night, something stank in the garbage, and it made climbing the stairs (for exercise instead of using the elevator) unpleasant. I told the desk clerk. Instead of removing the garbage immediately, she said she would tell the garbage collectors about it in the morning. But, in her defense, she was the only person on duty, and it is likely that she could not leave the desk during her shift. Nevertheless, I avoided the stairs because of the stench.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank OakParkSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in August 2012 for one night and have over 150 bed bug bites on my body! I have spent over $600 in medication, medical attention, throwing out my luggage and clothes, throwing out gifts I had purchased in my travels and throwing out my infested hand bag! My body has welts and sores all over it and it will take many months to look normal again. Management does not return call and gives out a false contact phone number. STAY AWAY FROM THIS FILTHY HOLE. Report them to phone number 311 in New York City and file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau if you have problems with them.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and stay at a clean place that speaks a language other than Chinese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location: on the border between Chinatown and Lower East Side, it is also close to a subway station and it has some shops and basic restaurants close by.

The hotel itself is very poor and extremely expensive for what it offers. Last June, I paid US$ 230 (taxes included) per night for a double room which was really poor. Although clean, it was sloppy and careless: the chair was full of stains, the furniture was partially ruined, the blanket of one of the beds was ripped off, paper of the wall was peeling and the shutter of the window was half-broken. Moreover, there was no double glazing on the windows and so it was rather noisy. The room was tiny, almost without space for the luggage and two persons. It was the worse relation quality/price that I have ever experienced! Unbelievable!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good value this close to downtown. Room was adequate. Travelled uptown by metro every night no problem. No facilities so eat out and bring your drinks in. Some good places to eat close by in China town or Little Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
647 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#400 of 469 in New York City
29 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#395 of 469 in New York City
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#421 of 469 in New York City
141 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#434 of 469 in New York City
1,997 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 469 in New York City
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 108 Forsyth St, New York City, NY 10002-5102
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $101 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing