We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #451 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 13, 2012

It;s in the midst of chinatown. Not my favorite place to be, but it is safe. The rooms are pretty basic, not sure it should qualify as a two star, but you get a prety small room, hard beds, dusty tabletops, bathroom countertops and desk. At least bathroom and sheets were clean. Towels looked a little brown, I brought my own. You do get soap, shampoo, toothbrush and toothpaste in case you forgot your own. The WiFi worked fine for me and we had a medium sized flat screen t.v. in our room that made it look a little nicer, but rarely ever used. There was a safe in the room, but I didn't need it. It's perfect walking distance to financial district, little italy and the subway station is just 1 block away and it takes you anywhere you need to go. So in that sense it was great. I feel it compares to a bad motel 6 (even those were cleaner). Not worth more than $80 a night at THE MOST. It does you a place to sleep if you are in a rut though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 255 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

after reading the reveiws on here i was wary of what i might find ect. but i was pleasently surprised.
the hotel was clean, loved the location as it was near little italy and the famous "katz deli" (where harry met sally" the most fantastic food i have ever eaten and the subway was pretty much opposite. the staff were lovely. bit of 70's decor but was absolutly fine. people are far to picky for a budget hotel, will be coming back xx

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harriet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Avoid this, if you don't want to sleep with bed bugs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Repe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed in over 40 hotels in the last 6 months and this hotel is by far the most professionally run, and the staff is extremely competent and compassionate. The only negative is the location in Chinatown and the presence of so many rodents at night that it seemed like Ben's birthday party.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank executiveproducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is great location for Chinatown and soho, also the metro is just on the corner of the street so access is great to the rest of manhattan. I expected a basic hotel but this was worse than I expected. We stayed 5 nights, only 3 of which they cleaned the room. The bathroom was dirty, and the fridge in the room you wouldn't dare open. Our curtains wouldn't open so it was generally dark so I found it difficult to do my make up. No safety deposit box, we asked 3 times about this but they just passed our complaints around and nothing happened. Although this is a cheaper end hotel in the city it's is very expensive for the quality. I have stayed in much nicer hostels. Would definitely not recommend staying here at all!!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Thevoice17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks over Xmas & New Year period. It was a basic hotel but was clean and comfortable. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis. The beds were OK. We were up on the fourth floor and away from the lifts (so it was pretty quiet) facing the street and had a view of the park across the road. The location was fantastic with only minutes walking to Soho and Little Italy. Subway was just across the road and it was so easy to get anywhere in Manhattan in a short time. The staff were always courteous and polite and ready to assist us when required. The only issue we had while staying here was the free wifi was non existant in our room for 4 days/ nights of our stay and staff were unable to fix the problem. No coffee maker, microwave or fridge in the room, however you could get coffee or tea/ hot water from in the lobby.
There was a coin laundry / laundromat just around the corner from the hotel which was convenient and very reasonable.
There was a Wholefoods Market at The Bowery, which was about a 10 minute walk where you could get take out salads / meals/ sandwiches / groceries/ fruit & vegetables. Caffe Roma in Little Italy had excellent coffee and pastries for a reasonable price. Plenty of great restaurants close by particularly in Little Italy.
Overall we had a great time in New York and a pleasant stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Horrible customer service. They gave me the wrong room in the basement w no bathroom, next to the maids lounge, washers and cots. When I told them it was not what I booked, I was offered $50 a nite. It took me 2 hours on the phone with Expedia to get a refund. They either overbooked or thought they could take advantage of a women. I was appalled and felt I'd been conned. Stay away.

Room Tip: Don't go there. Tell everyone you know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 471 in New York City
656 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#446 of 471 in New York City
874 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#437 of 471 in New York City
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#398 of 471 in New York City
1,549 reviews
Upper West Side
Riverside Tower Hotel
Riverside Tower Hotel
#386 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 108 Forsyth St, New York City, NY 10002-5102
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $47 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing