We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buen hostel a buen precio/Good hostel for a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Student Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International Student Center
Trujillo, Peru
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Buen hostel a buen precio/Good hostel for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's clean, cheap, cozy and the location is great. It's just one block from the subway and right next to Central Park. Nice neighborhood and good service. there's no wifi and i had to leave my suitcase in the office. But the let me know about that in advance and for the price I think it was a good deal. I will go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
4
6
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in a 10 beds dormitory, room 3 on the second floor, with a shared bathroom; which was 27$ (tax included) per person.
The room was clean and quiet. I would have like an extra blanket, as it was a bit cold in the middle of the night.
The bathroom was ok and clean.
The staff is really friendly and helpfull. I asked them one million of questions, and they always answered with a smile.
The location is great, near to Central Park, and the subway is two minutes away.
Really nice kitchen with everything you need for basic cooking.
Really nice common areas.

No wifi. 1$ for 10 min of internet on the computer.

I did not like the fact there is no locker. And the fact we cannot bring our bags with us in the room. It is such a mess to open your bag in front of the reception! Pick up your stuff for the night, the bathroom... It is not handy! And I did not like the fact I had to open my bag in front of everybody.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Routarde2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is the best hostel I've stayed at in New York (after trying two others) and one of the cheapest.

It's right next to the metro station and close to supermarkets. The staff were chatty and helpful, and they sorted my check-out in advance when I had to leave early in the morning. The communal area was big and the kitchen had good (clean!) utensils. The rooms were an ok size, the beds were comfy, the rooms and bathrooms were very clean by hostel standards.

The only downside is that you have to leave suitcases downstairs at reception because of fire safety restrictions - but since FDNY are notoriously strict it's easy to overlook having to take stuff up in a smaller bag.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akakakak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

You can't take your bags to the rooms, for security. They are really worried about fire!!
I think it's too expensive for a hostel with no breakfast and no wi if Internet.
And there are so many stairs!! I was on the 4th floor and there was no elevator!!
The good side is that the subway is right next to the hostel!! So as the central park!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlaviaC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a perfectly adequate place to stay with clean beds and linens, a nice communal area and kitchen. I found it friendly and quiet and it had a good amount of information on things to do, including a board dedicated to free activities for those on a tight budget! The price is also good for New York and the location is good - a seemingly nice area within easy reach of a good few attractions (if you're a walker), easy reach of Central Park (for all) and within even easier reach of Central Park! The down side was having to leave your bags in reception. I still don't really understand why you had to do that. The reception is shut between 11pm and 8am which makes it quite inconvenient, especially if you have an early start getting out of there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

It's a very cheap and nice hostel. The staff is friendly and the location is really good, it's not in downtown but it's right next to a metro station.

The only things I would change of this hostel are: 1) Lack of atmosphere: The hostel doesn't have activities or a lot of common spaces for meeting people. 2) Too many rules. You must follow a bunch of rules that sometimes are not the best.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmontecinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

Hello,

I v spend a small week in that Hostel with my brother and my 2 cousines ... basicely we where Up at 8am and came back everiday at 1 am ;-) The location of the Hostel is really cool .. if you stay for a week, just get a subway pass (27$) and basicely you can go aniwhere in the city from the Hostel. The cool part of the location is that you have a subway stop just next the Hostel ! ANd the subway IS really safe! never had any trubles with anibody.

The hostel it self is not the Big luxe BUT really clean. ( not like the other comment you can read online) Each room have they own bathroom / restroom. When you arrived you have to give a 10$ for key deposit that you get back at the end of the trip. The hostel crew is really friendly. you have Internet in the lobby .. I had my laptop with me and even got a neigthbur wierless connection in my room ...

If any of my friend would hask me a place to stay i would definitely recomend that place. cause i rather pay 20$ a nigth and spend the rest of my budjet on shopping than the other way arround ;-)

The onely part that i dident like. is that you cant take your suitcase with you in the room. But it wasent really a big deal. Just not really use to it ;-) The suitcase have to stay in the lobby who is lockt at nigth and during the day there is always somone from the hostel in the lobby with them. No one of our familly had aniproblem with the suicase. A suitcase with a lock is always a PLUS ! P.S: i left my laptop everiday in my suicase!

The athmosphere i found in the hostel was really simillar of the athmosphere i had in hostel arround the world: Thailand, florida, south africa, ...

Olivier - Belgium - 27 years old.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obailly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#391 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#22 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Student Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Student Center

Property: International Student Center
Address: 38 W 88th St, New York City, NY 10024-2502
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan, in a beautiful and safe neighborhood of the Upper West Side We are 1/2 block from Central Park and the subway. We serve young travelers passing through New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your International Student Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Student Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing