We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT Sushi, lovely restaurant, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neta

Neta
Reserve with OpenTable
Neta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,474 of 13,263 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $225
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Neta offers daily omakase ("chef's choice"), tasting menus, small plates, and a full sushi menu. We invite sushi veterans as well as neophytes to join us at our sushi bar for direct service by our sushi chefs. We believe in the importance of hospitality, and welcome you to relax and enjoy your next meal with us.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“GREAT Sushi, lovely restaurant, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

'Sat at the bar with the sushi chef owners. Had the omakase dinner.

This was one of the best meals - sushi or otherwise - I've ever had, and a fraction of the cost of other highly-rated sushi restaurants in NYC (I'm thinking of 2 - four letter names, one that starts with "N" and one that starts with "M"...).

I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    26
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spectacularly delightful Japanese tucked away in one of New York City's little corners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We arrived early and enjoyed the restaurant's quiet ambience and the friendly, professional staff (particularly the sushi chef). We followed his suggestions and those of our server and were thrilled with the simplicity of each creation--so fresh and full of flavor. The sake was stellar and we had so much fun. We did manage to rack up a substantial bill but it was worth every cent. If you're thinking about Japanese food in New York think Neta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“True love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Skip nobu, go to Neta instead. In comparison, nobu is big and not personal. In neta you will find a great atmosphere, and the best sushi i ever had! Pricey but worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deppeflep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Omakase for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went to Neta this past Friday to celebrate my wife's birthday. We originally had reservations to Morimoto, but on the recommendation of a friend, tried Neta's $135 Omakase. We got to the restaurant at 5PM, when Neta just opened, and was seated at the sushi bar in front of Chef Jimmy. Chef Jimmy was fantastic - it was like a show to watch him prepare the meals in front of us. The caviar and toro (served in a martini glass) spread on the toasted bread was so delicious. Chef Jimmy's unagi was the best I ever have tasted. My wife took pictures of all the dished that was served, and we went home discussing which dish was the best...still debating it.
Yes, with the drinks and tips (I had to honor Chef Jimmy's talent as well as the waiter's attention) it was expensive, but well worth it.
We loved it so much we look forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnbiker0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent and creative sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Diners sit at a long communal table/counter/bar snaking around the sushi bar and open kitchen, where they can watch their food being made. The sushi is both high quality and creatively composed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neta also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Neta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing