We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and experience waiting five years to go back! One of NYC's hidden gems!”
Review of Pho Pasteur

Pho Pasteur
Ranked #2,741 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Plymouth, UK
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Amazing food and experience waiting five years to go back! One of NYC's hidden gems!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I cannot rate this place highly enough, it is a true hidden gem and well worth a visit if you are in NYC we first discovered this restaurant five years ago looking for somewhere to avoid the rain in China town and had one of the best meals in our lives! When we booked our return trip to the city it was top of out to do list!
This is a tiny family run restaurant that serves the best Vietnamese food you will ever experience at great value prices, the portions are huge (be warned!) and the choice so varied it can be difficult to decide! They even offered to create me a dish that was not on the menu and it was delicious!
We were greeted with foc Chinese tea on our arrival which was very welcome!
Thank you to the team we can't wait to come back - hopefully it won't be so long next time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Tucked away, just off Canal St.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

What a nice (small) spot. Family owned, hands on... love it. Lemongrass shrimp, shrimp wraps, noodle soup.
Tight and friendly here.. we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Vietnamese food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and great sevice!
If you are looking for real and authentic Vietnamese food this is the place. In the heart of Chinatown. Order the Alovera juice!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little Vietnamese place in NYC Chinatown”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pho Pasteur is a simple, unassuming Vietnamese restaurant at the southern outskirts of the Manhattan Chinatown. Clean interior appears inviting. The fare is typical for that cuisine, thoroughly familiar to me from my Windsor, Ontario years. Good lunching place for tourists sightseeing that part of New York City. My favorite appetizer - shrimp rolls wrapped in rice paper and served with peanut sauce – were as good as they come. That was followed by a portion of delicious Wonton soup – in spite of being ranked as “medium” in the menu – a fairly large bowl of it for one person. Main dish consisted of grilled pork served on the bed of rice noodles and very fresh bean sprouts, accompanied by a slightly acidic dressing containing shredded carrots. Service is a bit on the casual/informal side, but in that price range this is acceptable. For fans of inexpensive oriental foods - one cannot go much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janek777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always enjoy our NY trips..”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

As always a delicious, reasonable lunch here.
Shrimp rolls, unfried followed by a seafood and rice dish and a shrimp pho soup. Tea of course, under $20.place was full at1pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hfettuccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Pasteur also viewed

 

Been to Pho Pasteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing