We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, uneven food”
Review of Village Taverna

Village Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Village Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,338 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice place, uneven food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The corner spot, high ceilings, and big windows are very enjoyable, and the service was attentive, so I wish I could say that the food is awesome, but it just isn't. We were early for dinner, having to be somewhere at 7:15 (!) and noticed that the place didn't really fill up until after 6:30. There are lots of locals, judging by the host's greetings, so you'd think it must be a real find. We had two appetizers and one entree - make your own tapas. One appetizer was a special, watermelon and fried cheese, and the other was spanakopita off the menu. The entree was pork souvlaki, on the theory that you should order something you'd never make at home. The presentation was fabulous! The watermelon and cheese came in rectangular prisms stacked alternately and drizzled with honey. I wanted to take a pic but DH frowned. The watermelon was great, but the cheese, um, not so much. The spanakopita was completely wonderful, highlight of the meal, light, savory, awesome ginger sauce. Huh? I'd think the special should be doing that job. And the pork - oh, no. Parts of it were not cooked through, so we left them to the side (time at a premium, remember?). But the rice and the yogurt sauce and the light little greek salad on the plate were delightful!

So, very uneven. I'd suggest going early and getting a suite of appetizers. We saw their regular greek salad going by to another table and it looked mouthwatering. If you don't get the ridiculous entrees you can make a reasonably priced meal; most of the appetizers and the sort of ordinary entrees are about $15, and the wine we had was $8 a glass, so if properly planned you could make a nice meal for two under $75, which means it's worth a look. And get the spanakopita!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaxAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice Service, Mediocre, Bland Food”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Uninspiring food, but nice service. Strictly for the tourists and the NYU crowd. The food is neither authentic, nor is it truly flavorful. We felt a little ill the next morning. Won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“nice addition to neighborhood”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Food is pretty decent Greek, though somewhat expensive. 10 bucks for 4 little dolmades is a little ridiculous. They do keep the pita bread and olives coming and some of the other portions are more in keeping with the usual Greek standards. They serve most of the classics Greek dishes and mezedes and all in all, this is a nice place to drop in on every once in a while if you are near NYU.
Now that Gus' Place is gone--which was on a whole other level of Greek food--this is pretty okay for the moment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The service was outstanding and so was the food. The atmosphere was bright and sunny and inviting. There is a wall of windows that bring the outdoors inside. The three of us shared the Domatosalata vine ripen tomatoes and red onions seasoned with oregano & extra virgin olive oil. We also tried the Lamb-Beef Gyro and the shrimp skewers. All we prepared perfectly. The desserts were super good too. We will return......

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nhlaker1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great for Greek”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My son and I were walking around the NYU campus looking for a nice place to have lunch. I'm vegetarian, he isn't, so we thought Greek food would suit us both. Lucky us, that we found the Village Taverna. We were seated immediately by Maria and soon after, our water glasses were filled and the plate of warm pita with olives in olive oil was set on our table. I decided on the grilled Haloumi cheese for an appetizer and a chopped salad, while my son had the yemista. All the dishes were fantastic. Our water glasses never got below half full before someone came to fill them. We enjoyed the friendly and relaxed atmosphere, until we had been finished for quite some time and had told Maria that we didn't want dessert. No one came with the check until we finally asked for it. Its actually quite refreshing to not be rushed out of a restaurant. When we arrived on
a Saturday around 12:30, they were still serving brunch as well as lunch. So try out the Taverna and spend a lazy morning enjoying some great greek food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaceJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Taverna also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Village Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing