We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great location, ok rooms, awful service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea International Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelsea International Hostel
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great location, ok rooms, awful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

the best thing about this hostel is it's location.
it's right in the middle of chelsea, and you can walk to many central places in a short time, like madison sqaure garden, times square, west village and of course chelsea.

I stayed there twice.
once on augost 2011, and once on june 2012.

in the first time I was with two friends of mine in a private room which was really nice and good, but on the second time i was in a 4 beds mixed dorm which was actually a hallway with four beds in it. it wasnt a room. it was tiny, unbelivebly set to be a room. but for people who look for a hostel in the center for 50$ a night, it might be enough.

the service is unbelievebly awful. the people working there are not nice at all, and that is annoying. I asked at the front desk to book a room for the next month when ill be back in NYC, and the guy told me to book it online. when i told him why cant i do it now, (i was right in front of him) he didnt even look at me and told me to go pay for a computer and book myself a room over there. that was simply awful.

the breakfast is very basic - cornflakes, coffee, a bagle with jam and an apple.

the atmosphere was OK.

at 11pm you can't sit outside anymore. that was wierd.

bottom line, if you find another place with the same price in the good of a location - take it, but if you can't - with it's great location, i would deffenitly go back there once again.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before taking it. don't be surprised if they won't let you see it cause...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    210
    155
    70
    59
See reviews for
10
71
225
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have some issues with claustrophobia so I figured I'd be in for it, staying in a hostel in Manhattan. However, the room I stayed in (4 beds, all-female) was awesome. Very comfortable and spacious. Cleaned properly daily. Nice bathroom and shower.

The staff is super friendly. There is a decent, filling breakfast, consisting of a bagel and a piece of fruit, with some generic coffee and cereal. Though I wish breakfast started earlier than 8am, as I'm a bit of an early riser.

The location is great. There are a lot of great shops in the neighborhood and it's pretty and well kept. There's a noise curfew so it never got too crazy.

The only thing I hated is the TV in the common room, which the staff kept blaringly loud. None of the visitors were watching it; it was just a nuisance. I don't believe most travelers like having the TV on all the time (I sure don't).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

So this was my first experience at a Hostel and I would definitely return. The area was great; there were a lot of restaurants to choose from, a ton of brand name clothing stores, small boutiques, & a couple of "adult" stores (lol). Also, there are some subway stations close by and the time it took to get to Times Square from the Hostel was about 5-10 minutes by taxi, which is about $10-$15.

While I was here, it felt like I was living in a downtown apartment. The room was clean, the beds were comfy and each room had 2 lockers, a sink and mirror in it. Each housing unit had 4 floors with each floor having 3-4 rooms with 1 room with a shower and another with a toilet. Since everyone had their own plans and came home at different hours of the night, the shower and toilet rooms were never busy. Also the staff was very friendly at the Hostel.

The common area was small but they had outdoor seating as well. There was a fridge, microwave, stove and 3 computers with free wifi, but only available in this area. At 8AM, they would offer breakfast which included an oversized bagel with butter and jam, an apple or orange, and unlimited orange juice, coffee, milk, & cornflakes. They even had a conveyor belt toaster for the bagel, which I did not expect. For me, this was enough but if you were still hungry, you can just pick up more breakfast along the street at one of the stores.

All in all, I really liked this Hostel. Don't be fooled by the negative reviews, they're the ones who expect the same quality and service from a hotel. Obviously, it won't be the same as a hotel. Since you'll have a jam packed day full of sight-seeing and shopping, you'll only be there to get some sleep, it's not like you're gonna go all the way to New York City just to stay in a hostel the whole day. In short, you'll go to the Chelsea International Hostel with low expectations but then realize how wrong you were. 2 thumbs up, 5 stars, & all that :)

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same, and you need a key for the housing unit and your room so you can leave a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hostel is excellent. I stayed in the 4 bed female dorm with ensuite. Bathroom in the room is not easy to find in NyC so this is a definite plus. Also, the room had single beds so no bunk beds to deal with. The place is clean and provides all the basics of a hostel. BUT the wifi is only reserved for the common areas which close at 10 pm. So if you stay up late, you come back to a locked down facility with no access to the common room, the kitchen and the fridge. This is very inconvenient in the "city that never sleeps". There aren't many social activities and the staff seems to isolate themselves in an office. After certain hours, you can only communicate with them through a small window. Not sure if this has to do with the size of the place but the staff is very distant. However, the hostel serves its purpose and you are in NYC so you just sleep here anyway. The needed improvements would be access to common areas after hours and wifi on the rooms. Otherwise, this place is a good pick.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Don't go in with very high expectations. The beds aren't comfortable at all, the ambiance is pretty grim, and it's very basic. However, you get what you pay for and at least everything is very clean. I thought the bagels for breakfast were great, but then I'm not from New York. The location is great and there's no way you'll find anything cheaper in this area. It's close to almost every subway line and places like times square or the village aren't too bad of a walk. There's a few things I wish I had packed (like I said, it's very basic), like hand soap, a hand towel, and an extra blanket. The wifi wasn't as bad as I expected. I would stay here again. I fell asleep pretty easily despite the awful bed and street noise. If you're not exhausted each night then you're not doing it right!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I did a quick solo trip to NYC and did endless amounts of hostel research. I went with Chelsea International because of the location, it seemed like the best bang for my buck and well managed. Those 3 major details proved to be so true. All I wanted was for it to be basic and clean and it certainly was. Apple, bagel & cereal handed out in the morning. Wednesday night they have a pizza a party with complimentary pizza. I thought that was very generous. The guys at the front desk were friendly and extremely helpful with directions, recommendations etc. It was so easy to find the subway and get around from there. You have to check out by noon, but you can rent a locker to put your stuff in if you have a later departure time which I did. If you are looking for a glitzy & happenin hostel, this isn't it but you'll be in NYC and I hope for your sake, that you won't be spending too much time back at the hostel. Happy trails!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 4 bed female only. It was a perfect size. If you going to bed early I hope you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaAnn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ok the location is good. But being there during winter, the room we had was sooo cold we could'nt sleep. We told the receptionnist, he told us to go and buy some blankets ourselves ! We left for another place, really bad service, really poor breakfast.
If you are in NYC, avoid this place or it could ruin your journey!

Room Tip: Avoid the building at the rear of the courtyard !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tefiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,283 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#14 of 192 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea International Hostel

Property: Chelsea International Hostel
Address: 251 W 20th St, New York City, NY 10011-3501
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea International Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chelsea International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea International Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing