We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location, otherwise average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea International Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelsea International Hostel
tipperary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location, otherwise average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Travelling on my own to New York, I stayed here for five nights in a private room. The hostel runs across five houses on 23rd St between 7th and 8th avenues. It is a nice area, with lots of restaurants, pubs etc nearby. I walked home from Times Square in 20 mins, and there is a subway a couple of blocks in either direction. There is a police station across the road and it always felt very safe. My room faced onto the street at street level, and even with the window open I slept easily every night.
Other reviewers have talked about the staff - they won't win any happy smiles competition, but they do their job competently and efficiently. The hostel attracted a wide variety of travellers, from students to people in their 50s and 60s. Had some great conversations at breakfast and lots of sharing information with other travellers. There is a common breakfast room with an outside area to the back which runs across all the houses and was very pleasant to sit and chat in, when it was warm enough. There is a cooker, kettle, microwave, food storage area and tea and coffee always available.
The room was small, but clean, with a hand basin, the toilet was opposite and the shower up a couple of steps. The place was well cleaned, given the amount of people going through, but could do with a complete overhaul, refit, repaint etc. But if that happened, it would no longer be affordable.
So it is cheap, great location, friendly .... so what if it is a little run down!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamastipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    225
    173
    75
    66
See reviews for
13
82
247
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin 11
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were doing a two night stay in NY on way to another city. It was mid-April so the weather was sunny but not too humid. The hostel is in a very good location but really is a bed with nothing else to offer. The hostel is a number of buildings added together but not connected. It is very convenient (3/4 blocks) from the subway.

The staff were efficient but probably a bit uninterested! We had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs which were narrow. The room was small but was a private two bed dorm. The lockers were fine but bring a lock with you. There was no issue with the bathroom/shower rooms being free. There was apparently air con in our room but we couldn't see it/ it wasn't necessary but I'd worry in the humid days of summer! Overally, it's an excellent location but you get what you pay for. Good wifi in the common areas.

Room Tip: Get a private dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had 2 beds in a 6 bed dormitory, it was clean and near from a metro station. The reception was helpful and seems they organize some trips and events for the hostel gusts. Generally it is for students and the prices are acceptable. The sleep quality will depend on your room mates.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The guy at the desk is not the most ''friendly'' person in the world, in fact the only time he was nice to me was when i was leaving. I had the private room downstairs with a shared bathroom..What they don't tell you on the website is that the private rooms are right NEXT to the common and breakfast / internet wifi room…So at 7am everyday you get 30 people right in front of your door laughing and yelling and banging, and also right in front of ur door is the bathroom and toliet…so those 30 people who come down for their breakfast also use the downstairs bathroom making a mess and a hell of a noise.

but thats not the worst part…the worst part is the bed sheets. HIGHLY doubt they were changed, as there was hair and….MANY MANY stains all over it and i don't mean food stains…looks like ''private'' stains you know what i mean. Lucky i brought my own pillow case and slept on top of the blanket…..really NOT good.

The Pro's

Chelsea is a perfect location you can walk uptown to all the most amazing attractions, its really close to the 1 line metro which takes you up to times square and central park.

Safe location..

The Cons…

Dirty…DISGUSTING sheets

Tiny room

TINY bathoom..its like having a shower in an aeroplane toliet

the Staff…I was standing right at the window with my little token to get my free bagel breakfast…the guy is sitting right in front of me reading the paper totally ignoring me..i had to say ..'' ERRRRR EXCUSE ME!???'' and finally he got his butt up

If you stay there....get the guy to have the sheets changed cuz if they were anything like mine...26 people already had private times on them

Room Tip: book WELL in advance and get the room with a private bathroom...bring ur own pillow case. get the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We've booked for 3 people (2 guys, 1 girl)

The guys shared a room and I (the girl) was put in a 2-person room with another girl.
The rooms were in the same building and were near eachother.
The rooms were OK, bunkbeds and a sink in the room. There was little space, but it's enough.
The bathrooms (shared) we're not so OK, it was old and that made it look dirty.
The nicest thing about this hostel; you have breakfast in the courtyard. It is good and easy breakfast and you'll get to learn people that also sleep in the hostel.

The neighbourhood was good, felt really safe and it was close to the subway and supermarket/shops/pubs, etc.


If you're looking for a Hostel, this is a good choice!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Me and friend stayed here for the last night of our NYC trip, it was short notice but the staff we great. Rooms are reasonably priced for the central location, secure if a little basic. Breakfast consists little more of an orange and a bowl of cereal so don't expect wonders in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Hostels seem to be few and far between in the states. Having travelled all of oz in hostels, this was a bit of a culture shock. Upon first glance it looks very dark and gruesome. However, once you get out in to the big apple you soon forgot those 4 walls!

A bit of a harsh start... The hostel is clean, secure and well located. It's in a gay friendly area which is a bit full on but the area has a good vibe. My negative start is more aimed at the hostel culture in America in general. Chelsea has many cafe's, delis and supermarkets to keep you going. A top little place.

Overall 6/10. But, would I go again? Yes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMember07012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#274 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#23 of 167 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#21 of 167 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#15 of 167 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#26 of 167 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea International Hostel

Property: Chelsea International Hostel
Address: 251 W 20th St, New York City, NY 10011-3501
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 167 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Chelsea International Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chelsea International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea International Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing