We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #49 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the NoMad mid-December to celebrate his birthday; it was in the perfect location to walk to many of the bars and restaurants we wanted to visit. A friend had also mentioned the chicken, in the NoMad restaurant, was amazing so the hotel was helpful in making us a reservation for dinner one evening - that's another review entirely, but that chicken was hands down the best meal I've ever had! We stayed in an Atelier room w a view of the Empire State Building which was lovely from the claw foot tub! The room itself was small, but organized and designed so that you didn't feel cramped. The bed was soft and offered a lovely nights sleep. The library bar was reserved for guests, which was nice since the bar/restaurant area were packed on a nightly basis. We loved the place and will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for The NoMad Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 831 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is in a strange location but walking distance from Union Square.
Neighborhood itself not great.
Food and drink were excellent.
Hotel service, turn downs, etc...non-existent.
Rooms very strangely set up.
Bellboy overtipped said he would return the change and never did...
Just plain BAD!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Snowbunny91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I did not stay at the NoMad (I live in NYC), but I attended a bridal reception there and was hooked.
Service is excellent, settings are magnificent and the rooftop restaurant is quaint, I did not want to leave.
Judging from all I did experience, I am looking forward to treating my wife and myself to a weekend at the NoMad

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank vgrazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the NoMad for 3 nights starting August 1st and absolutely loved it! From the moment you walk into the beautiful, dark, and sexy lobby you know your in for a treat. The hotel is in a turn of the centruy Beaux-Arts building that has been faithfully restored. The interiors are done by French designer Jacques Garcia. The interiors reminded me of classic Parisian hotel with a touch of contemporary and old New York.....they are gorgeous!

We had a Atelier room that was stellar. The heavy doors open and to your right is a wonderful, classic, dark mini bar that is well stocked. Upon entering the room you first notice the great king sizd bed with a wonderful comforter and big, plump pillows...then the big windows looking out to the city, and then the claw foot tub ( really nice and relaxing). There is a classic leather chair in front of a floor lamp, a club chair and mahogany writing desk. The floors are maple wood and appear to be original. Nice custom artwork is throughout the room. In front of the bed there is a large flat screen TV and behind the TV is a floor to ceiling velvet and damask paravent (a large seperation panel) that stretches most of the distance of the room. There is a (almost secret) door in this paravent that leads to a water closet with small sink and mirror. On the other side of the claw foot tun is the main sink and walk in shower. There are sconce lamps by the bed and sink and ALL lights in the room have dimmer control which I love a really appreciate. The bathroom is stocked with Argan bath products. Obviously I cannot say enough good things about this room....timeless.

The restaurant Atrium is beautifull and gorgeously designed. The NoMad Bar (classic New York) and Elephant Bar are great places for drinks and socializing. The Library Bar though was my favourite: two stories high with spiral staircases leading to shelves of books lit from behind...a really unique and fun space.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Located on Broadway 5 blocks from the Empire State Building and Herald Sqaure..lots of shopping in the area as well as restaurants. Also, the hotel is conveniently located right next to the 28th St metro station and from here you can take the N,R, line to Time Sqaure (2 stops away..5 mins) or Union Station (2 stops 5mins) and from both of these hub terminals you can go anwhere in New York. There are also plenty of cabs outside.

The service at the hotel is excellent from the moment you enter to the moment you leave. Unfortunately the airline we flew sent our luggage to the wrong city. We arrived at 5 pm at the hotel on a Friday with no clothes and few toiletries other than what we had in our carry ons. We had to go shopping and the hotel staff were perfect in telling us where we needed to go. The airline said they would send our luggage to the hotel once it was on a new flight to NYC and
I spoke with Alisha (spelling?) at the front desk about our problem and she was very sympathetic and helpful and said as soon (and even if) our luggage arrives she would have it sent to our room. Finally on Saturday during dinner around 10pm we got a text from the hotel that our luggage had arrived and was placed in our room. Relief. The next afternoon I saw Alisha (sorry if I am spelling your name wrong) and thanked her. Although our lost luggage was not the hotel's fault Alisha offered us a drink on the house whenever we wished. We took her up on the offer later that evening with a friend joiing us in the Elephant Bar. The bar was quite busy and the bartender messed my drink up so I was offered another drink on the house by Adam (I believe was his name) who was over restaurant and bar in some capacity...a very nice guy. They care about service and making you happy at NoMad. I do not know what exactly is Alisha's position at NoMad but if it is not hotel manager IT SHOULD BE! Thank you for your genuine kindness.

NoMad is an excellent place to stay for location, service,dining, and atmosphere. At night the hotel's restaurants and bars are busy with well dressed, good looking patrons ( I saw several celebrities) and there is a jovial good vibe in the day as well. This is a classy and hip hotel and probably not the best choice for families though I know they would be welcome and treated wonderfully. Thank you NoMad and staff for a great visit...we cannot wait to come back to your beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor which was still a little noisy at night from taxis honking. If you want alm...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stayed in many NY hotels, but this one is special. We often go for just a night as we live near the city, and find last minute deals. The room was large, very quiet, and felt like we were in someone's home - the oriental carpet on the old wood floors, VERY comfortable bed, and all the lights have dimmers - a nice touch except the bulbs in the reading lamps next to the bed should go up brighter. The designers have created a comfortable, and Dark motif, which is the antithesis of so many contemporary designs, with very hard edges and bright lights.
The only real complaint was a very rude call when we checked out from a clerk threatening to add a day to our bill if we did not check out within one hour of the stated time. Incredibly poor manners for such nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REPST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My Daughter and I stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed the service, the wonderful bathtub and the food! Everything exceeded our expectations.... and the location is excellent!! Our first night we had drinks and appetizers in the library and the following night we ate in the restaurant and the service and food were excellent.

Room Tip: they are all good
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank esanford01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I booked the atelier room. It was small but everything was well thought out and I loved it! I loved taking a bath in the claw foot tub, while looking at the Empire State building! I was there for Christmas so the Empire was light up special for the occasion. Everyone seemed helpful and courteous. Had dinner in the restaurant it was great, nice bar with good drinks as well. The only off was room service breakfast on Christmas morning, it was terrible. But I loved the way the rooms are decorated. Location is good. I would definitely state there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank diorandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#116 of 468 in New York City
530 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#163 of 468 in New York City
308 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#57 of 468 in New York City
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#263 of 468 in New York City
797 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,883 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 468 in New York City
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $369 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing