We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Staff and Service in NY”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Can't begin to explain how the small details and attention the staff gives made my stay so wonderful.

From check - in , to the housekeeping staff, I just loved the service so much. I never got a handwritten thank you note from housekeeping for tips, until I stayed here. I was so touched !

The rooms are quite big for NY standard , I love the claw foot tub in the middle of the room.

The restaurant is excellent !!

Probably the only downside is the street around the hotel ... Not so nice, but the location is great.

Will stay here regularly from now on .

Room Tip: The '04 rooms are great, for the tub.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for The NoMad Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 831 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

My usual conundrum is that I have 5 star tastes and more like a 4 star budget. I splurged on a stay at the NoMad for a bit of a staycation before a long trip. In fact, I was booked into another purported "luxury" hotel that had just opened, but it didn't meet my expectations for a luxury experience. I checked out early and booked myself into the NoMad and let me tell you, it was an incredible stay.

Check in was smooth, but also friendly and upbeat. The front desk staff had real personalities, were warm, and offered great service. I was offered my choice of newspaper for the morning and off I went to my room. Having paid for an Atelier suite, I was disappointed when we arrived at a room with no tub. We called down to the front desk and they got me into the ideal room next, although it was on a lower floor. The entire staff were lovely and spent time to know each guest's name and story. I am most certainly NOT any kind of VIP, but they treated me like one and greeted me by name even though I was a 1-night only guest. This level of service is definitely 5-star and compares favorably to other luxury hotel experiences, but offered a bit more warmth rather than formality. A great, modern style if you ask me.

The room is extraordinary and unique. Lots of space. Gorgeous hardwood floors. Styled like your French aunt's historic apartment with rugs, artwork, french industrial-type lighting, even vintage style light switches with dimmers. I loved the sconces by the sink mirror with the art-deco style. High ceilings and high windows that open for fresh air. The bed was fantastic -- great linens, good mattress. Loved the separate WC with sink. The shower, oh, the shower. Amazing water pressure, rain shower head plus a hand-held, fantastic bath products, and a tiled shelf to keep everything handy. And of course the tub. It was so great to dock my iphone and put on some music, open the windows, put up the shades, draw the curtains and then soak in the tub with the Sunday New York Times. This was the last thing I did before leaving for the airport to embark on a new adventure, and it was the most perfect experience.

The one con? I was disappointed with the restaurant. Dinner was expensive and didn't really wow me, I wanted the dishes to really pop and I just didn't get that (ordered the salmon rillette, strawberry salad and the lobster entree, but the components just didn't really sing at all, the salad was the most interesting of the bunch). The drinks also took forever-- someone brings your glass but then you are waiting a bit for runner with the wine to show up. For breakfast I ordered a croissant that was cold and tasted a bit old. The cappuccino was great, as was an iced coffee that I took to my room later (but at 6-bucks and change? OUCH!) I might go somewhere nearby for meals next time, as there is a ton within a 5-10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Try to get a high-floor room. Some late night drunks were quite noisy around 3am, and the front desk...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Even though we live in the city we wanted to do something special for Valentines Day so we booked a night at the NoMad. This also gave us priority for restaurant reservations which are near impossible to get unless you are a hotel guest. The room was fantastic and cosy, especially in the February snow. Everything surpassed our expectations

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamdave89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Though I had a confirmed reservation with late arrival, when I got to the hotel after a horrendous car ride from JFK I was warmly greeted and then told I needed to get back in a cab and head to the Marlton as there was no room for me at the inn. Needless to say, I was quite annoyed, and really hungry. See Marlton review for a great option.
The next day I was moved back to the NoMad and I must say that while I wanted to be annoyed with them, the hotel is quite lovely. They upgraded me to a suite and comped one night. The suite was a corner unit with a wonderful layout. This hotel doesn't feel like a hotel, but instead more like home. The sitting room was comfortable, and quite useful for several meetings. The staff are attentive and kind. The doormen are actually incredible, remembering my name and actually treating me like a human being. The suite was well appointed and the bathroom was beautiful with a claw foot tub and spacious shower. I would have given excellent had I not had the snafu at the start, but I imagine when I return I will end up upgrading my rating.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the suite!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rovetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We carefully picked the Nomad for our first year wedding anniversary trip to NYC and had very high expectations based on all that we had read. It surpassed all our expectations and is a truly unique hotel in Manhattan. It oozes effortless elegance, yet from the moment you walk through the front door into the lobby you feel at home. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated (the bathroom alone is enough to give it a 5 star review) and the service was impeccable. Our every request was dealt with professionally and promptly, just as you would hope for from a luxury hotel. Even though we had last minute requests for a drinks reservation in the hotel's Library cocktail lounge, the hotel accommodated us on both occasions and provided us with a complimentary bottle of bubbly on the first night for our anniversary. The only problem with this hotel is that once inside, you don't want to leave to explore the rest of the city. Thank you, Nomad, for an incredible experience. This will now be our home away from home in New York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFlanagans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed at the NoMad on business and most recently with my sisters on holiday. I love this hotel! The high degree of personalized service provided by the staff is unparalleled!
Gorgeously appointed, the level of room comfort is heaven after a day in the city. Many believe that if you are rarely in the room due to museums, shopping, theatre you should choose an economy hotel for "crashing", I disagree. The great sleep afforded by their heavenly beds and linens, the crazy wonderful showers, the claw foot tubs all rejuvenate! As a guest you can easily reserve a table in the library bar or restaurant.
I will continue to return, the location is perfect, the subway mere steps from the hotel and again the service...they make everyone feel special and that is a rare and unique quality!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzzyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Loved the big, beautifully appointed room with its unique art and decor. The staff were all fantastic, taking obvious pride in the property. Kudos to the cute doormen for getting umbrellas and giving directions, to the front desk for getting us early check-in and the special touch of a bottle of wine for our room. The library bar and restaurant were both wonderful and I could get used to warm, foamy cream on the table every morning. It's a beautiful place to stay in the city and we look forward to coming back.

The room had nearly all my requirements: free wi-fi, lots of plug-ins for charging devices, fluffy robes, slippers, full length mirror, hair conditioner, reading lamps, notepad & pen.

Still needed: a magnifying mirror (for putting in contact lenses, makeup, etc.). Coffee service in the room and self-service ice would be nice. I understand it's not the continental vibe, but nice to have. :)

Room Tip: Facing out as opposed to the inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachwriter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#116 of 468 in New York City
530 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#150 of 468 in New York City
308 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#57 of 468 in New York City
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#256 of 468 in New York City
796 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,883 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 468 in New York City
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $372 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing