We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to many NYC neighborhoods”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Walking distance to many NYC neighborhoods”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I chose this hotel because it is located close to Eataly, the Italian market. I also chose it because it is a boutique hotel and had nice reviews. It is hard to justify the $425 plus taxes per night room rate but many nice hotels in the city are expensive. We usually stay near 57th Street and 5th Avenue for the shopping and Central Park but decided to try something different. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room was on the small side and lacked drawers but had a little separate room with a desk and chair. We stayed for 8 nights and had to keep a lot of our clothes in our suitcases. We liked the decor of our room. High ceilings, hardwood floors, light color walls with dark brown accents, comfortable bed and bedding and great amenities. The location worked well with a subway station right next to the hotel. We walked to the Meatpacking District, Soho, Chelsea and Midtown Manhattan. It is strange to stay in such a nice place, look across the street and see bargain basement type shops in the neighborhood. We ate breakfast in the dining room and enjoyed our meal. The only problem is that it is outrageously expensive. It was very hard to justify paying $16 for a bowl of yogurt with some granola on top. After that experience we decided to find more reasonable places to eat breakfast. I had expected that this type of hotel would have put chocolates in the room with the turn down service and served complimentary coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    226
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
88
380
53
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The room was super the location great. Library bar good but busy highly recommend booking a space. Staff great. The only thing they need to be very careful of is room service - breakfast v v slow and I actually cancelled in the end

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is well located, rooms are (very) nicely furnished and decorated, atmosphere is cosy, view on the city street are nice. Breakfast is regretfuly not at the same pace: overpriced, limited choice, small quantities, no freshly squeezed organge juice (replaced by tropicana style juice).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altanta
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a fun romantic weekend here; it is good to have realistic expectations. The positives: Fun, small room with big windows and a bathtub in the middle of everything. The service was friendly and perfect. And the food at the restaurant was exquisite. Things to know: a second floor room over 28th street is very noisy all night. It is fun to people watch, but know that it is a very urban and gritty location. The lobby and bar are very dark, in what I gather is meant to be a hip style. The bar was a very noisy and crowded scene; it was impossible to sit and have a drink after a show, but they let us have a table at the restaurant for an appetizer and a drink which worked well. We enjoyed walking about 20 minutes to the High Line and walking down to the village.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philipAltanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Based on a traditional approach, this hotel would be 4stars, given for example the lack of a pool. But Tripadvisor isn't about infrastructure really, is it? So based on it's style, comfort, amazing dining, fantastic bar and great service I have to rate it 5 'points' here. Location is good, always depends on what you want to do of course, but it's as close to the original Shake Shack as it gets :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at NoMad recently for four-day business trip. Stayed in an Atelier Room up on 12th Floor. Room not huge but beautifully appointed. Bed comfortable. Internet fast. It is without a doubt the quietest room I have ever stayed in. No noise from outside or inside, which made sleeping in after late flight possible (and appreciated). Definitely on my short list of places to stay for future trips to NYC.

Room Tip: Based of Atelier rooms, I imagine the Standard rooms are pretty tight. Might be worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Really love this hotel, the French influenced decoration and excellent service was impeccable. We stayed there recently in Mar 2014 and we had a great time. The location is very convenient to Flat-Iron district and Union Square. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#113 of 467 in New York City
525 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
301 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#56 of 467 in New York City
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#262 of 467 in New York City
784 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#64 of 467 in New York City
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing