We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and trendy, breakfast lacks simplicity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #40 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and trendy, breakfast lacks simplicity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is well located, rooms are (very) nicely furnished and decorated, atmosphere is cosy, view on the city street are nice. Breakfast is regretfuly not at the same pace: overpriced, limited choice, small quantities, no freshly squeezed organge juice (replaced by tropicana style juice).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    193
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
75
337
46
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a fun romantic weekend here; it is good to have realistic expectations. The positives: Fun, small room with big windows and a bathtub in the middle of everything. The service was friendly and perfect. And the food at the restaurant was exquisite. Things to know: a second floor room over 28th street is very noisy all night. It is fun to people watch, but know that it is a very urban and gritty location. The lobby and bar are very dark, in what I gather is meant to be a hip style. The bar was a very noisy and crowded scene; it was impossible to sit and have a drink after a show, but they let us have a table at the restaurant for an appetizer and a drink which worked well. We enjoyed walking about 20 minutes to the High Line and walking down to the village.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philipAltanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Based on a traditional approach, this hotel would be 4stars, given for example the lack of a pool. But Tripadvisor isn't about infrastructure really, is it? So based on it's style, comfort, amazing dining, fantastic bar and great service I have to rate it 5 'points' here. Location is good, always depends on what you want to do of course, but it's as close to the original Shake Shack as it gets :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at NoMad recently for four-day business trip. Stayed in an Atelier Room up on 12th Floor. Room not huge but beautifully appointed. Bed comfortable. Internet fast. It is without a doubt the quietest room I have ever stayed in. No noise from outside or inside, which made sleeping in after late flight possible (and appreciated). Definitely on my short list of places to stay for future trips to NYC.

Room Tip: Based of Atelier rooms, I imagine the Standard rooms are pretty tight. Might be worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OFenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Really love this hotel, the French influenced decoration and excellent service was impeccable. We stayed there recently in Mar 2014 and we had a great time. The location is very convenient to Flat-Iron district and Union Square. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in April. Hotel decor is a mashup of 1920's Parisan luxury and NYC hipster, without too many actual histers (they are all around the corner at the Ace Hotel). Mark, the doorman, was incredible. Our room on the 8th floor was great, especially the bathtub. We were lucky enough to have an unobstructed view of the Empire State Building. Neighborhood is in transition with very run down handbag/cellphone/wholesale flower shops competing for space with the newest coolest restaurant or bar to invade the neighborhood.

Overall, an excellent boutique hotel worthy of the high ratings on this and many other travel sites.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I just returned from NYC and we stayed at the Nomad for 4 nights.

Salon room - the room was very large for NY standards and the decor was really beautiful (like the rest of the hotel). The bathroom was also pretty big. The only downside of our room was the window faced the inside of the hotel so if our shades were open we could see directly into other guests rooms. So we just kept our shades closed all the time, not a big deal.

Restaurant - the food is really really wonderful. I also love sitting in the atrium below the glass.

Service - Compared to other hotels in NYC the staff here is a lot less formal. Unlike larger luxury hotels there aren't always staff at the front door to with things like getting a cab. We are from NY so we didn't talk to the front desk very often. I can only comment on checking in and out.

Location - the retail area around there is transitioning so my guess is all the wig stores and random discount clothing stores won't be there in a couple of years. I don't love the area right around the hotel but that's really not a big deal since everything in NY is an easy walk away.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Nomad. The rooms were beautiful, the service very nice, and the food excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCtoAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,064 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#26 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#64 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#55 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing