We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE this hotel”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #58 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I am having a hard time describing just how much I love this hotel. The rooms are genuinely unique and feel more like little Parisian apartments than NYC hotel rooms. In the era of cookie-cutter glass showers and ambient techno music in every lobby . . it is a really refreshing change done extremely well with top-of-the-line everything. It manages to be fancy without being formal, to be hip without being tragic, and to be lively without forcing it. A hospitality triumph.

Room Tip: The Grand Salon rooms are very large and face the rear of the hotel - absolutely dead silent but wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TDubMotoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 839 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

The decor makes it feel like home - as if you had a great interior decorator! Very well thought through, very personal, great material, nothing like the next hotel, this place looks very nice. The lobby is busy with people from the restaurants which make the building lively despite being in a rather dull neighbourhood. And the rooms are very calm.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vcc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on NYE. Stunning rooms in a 1920's Parisian sort of way. We had a Grande Room facing the street. The thing that was most impressive was the politeness of the reservations staff as we were looking for a room at the very last minute.
Most definitely, we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eglicomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Salon room on the 12th floor with a view of the Empire State Building from the writing desk and windows on 3 sides ... who could waste time sleeping with the city spread out beneath you? Across the way, caryatids hold up the top floor of a neoclassical building. I swear you need to bring your Rimbaud, or Patti Smith on your iPad, your French notepaper and moleskin journal, a stay at the NoMad is the quickest way I know to take a European vacation, or time travel without giving up your devices (electronic and otherwise).
This was our third stay; I haunt Jetsetter for good rates and pounce when I find them. The staff is always amazingly sweet, dinner at Daniel Humm's restaurant a treat, and we stop by Maison Kitsune for a new mixtape cd. You know a place fits you like a second skin when you hunt down their toiletries and order them for your home and make up backstory for the photos and art in your room long after you've gone.

Room Tip: The shades and curtains *do* block out the street noise, so try them before you freak. You have to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

No words to describe the overall experience with this boutique hotel. Seldom do 5star hotels in Europe match this decoration, level of service, facilities, etc. Price still below the 5star benchmark.
Midtown Manhattan location works pretty well, and the subway is only 20m away from entrance.
There is only one place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel_disappointment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the NoMad. The Suite room(s) are inviting and generate warmth rather than steel and gloss like so many other trendy hotels. The suite room has the bay corner windows.

The room is ample sized and well lit. Looks very much as pictured on the site. With two roller bags and carry-ons it is difficult to figure out where to put them and while we didn't bother to ask for more we were VERY short of hangers. One of us put our bag in the open position to use as a dresser in the entry way of the living room the other on the bedroom floor because the closet wasn't wide enough for our open luggage which you had to use because of no drawers in the bedroom. BTW, the entry hall has hooks for coats and hats.

Thank goodness the beautifully clawed deep bath tub is in the bathroom where it belongs. The bathroom is comprised of two rooms and has a generous sized separate shower stall with a double vanity offering room on the counter top and below it. Thank you NoMad for some bathroom storage! Plus we like having the pocket door separating the toilet and another sink separate from the rest of the bathroom, yet you can also exit the toilet into the entry hall area as well as having the main bath door off the bedroom. FYI a towel ring needs to be added to the toilet room, though a very minor negative.

The NoMad was kind enough to arrange our suite on a higher floor due to the fact street noise is a huge issue for those of us who live at the bottom of a mountain on a private road. We could hear some traffic noise and it did wake me a couple times but it is truly an issue for me. I got back to sleep quickly. Anything lower than the 10th floor probably would of been a deal breaker for me for the suite because it's on the corner.

Overall we liked the NoMAD for both ambience and location. It would be nice if the lobby was lit well enough to see. It is dark, even on a bright day. To me it seems depressing. Would I stay there again? YES the good far out weighs the minor negatives. They also arranged for a car service to pick us up from the airport which was helpful. Their service had the driver circle while another person was stationed at the baggage area waiting for us. Although this time I had to go looking to find him but he did help me file information for my missing bag. I hope this isn't seen as a negative review but more of an informative review. It's a very nice hotel with great service and comfortable rooms. I like it!

Room Tip: light sleepers ask for high floor or "inside" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great boutique hotel and good position in midtown manhattan. Bedrooms could do with more storage but showers were the best I have ever had in a hotel. We ate in the restaurant one evening and it was fantastic if not very busy. The cocktail bar is brilliant - but again very busy.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank virgo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#54 of 469 in New York City
1,102 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#30 of 469 in New York City
4,210 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Ace Hotel New York
Ace Hotel New York
#202 of 469 in New York City
1,754 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 469 in New York City
3,472 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway uf hfhdj, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $332 - $779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing