We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The NoMad Hotel to your Saves list
The NoMad Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a new favorite. I was staying for work, and while at first the hotel felt more like a getaway spot (in a good way), the free wireless and adorable little room with a desk facing a window (ok, the view was of a parking lot, but it is NYC, I'll take windows that let in light wherever I can get them) made it great for work. It was also extremely quiet. The bed and linens were amazing, and everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Loved a lot of the details of this hotel including the hardwood floors and incredible walk-in shower. The Library Bar is great. However, the area seems transitional and rooms facing interior get a lot of late night noise from bar!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful room, although small, very well laid out. Nomad restaurant is first rate and the library a great place to hang out. Short walk to Madison park and subway right outside. Getting a cab can be difficult

Room Tip: Get an interior room. No traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank careme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Nomad is a very hip, boutique hotel in the Flatiron District of New York City. It is a fantastic venue for a stay, a dinner, or even a coffee. The restaurant is wonderful, the library is a favorite, and the rooms are the best part. I would highly recommend the Nomad for anyone. Patrons should know that this hotel is extremely popular for its incredible style and energy. So, the restaurant and bar get very busy and quite loud. That said, the hotel itself remains quiet as could be. Simply, if you want a lobby and restaurant that are extremely private, this is not your place. But, for everything else, Nomad is the place. (I love hardwood floors in a hotel room!)

Room Tip: The lower floors actually have higher ceilings — quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was traveling on my own (male, mid-30s) for business on August 16, 2013 (one night stay, a Friday evening).

My original plans were to fly from IAH to LGA and back in the same day. Unfortunately, due to a massive wreck on the 59th Street Bridge, traffic from Manhattan to LGA was slammed on Friday and I missed my flight.

My company has many of us stay at The NoMad and our travel coordinator quickly grabbed a room for me as I headed back into the city.

I had no “creature comforts” with me. As I was warmly greeted by two sharply dressed doormen, I felt like I was walking into a place called “home” for the night.

The front desk was well staffed and I had no wait to check in at 7:45pm. The front desk had notes in their system that I was not expecting to stay the evening and they quickly asked me if I needed any toiletries or if I could be guided to a local drug store to grab any necessities. The staff was sympathetic to my situation and went above and beyond to make me feel welcomed.

I asked about restaurants and the staff took pride in mentioning their own restaurant and bar that had many great write-ups recently in local publications. They did tell me that even though I was staying at the hotel, I would probably need to make a reservation on a Friday night. I told the front desk that I wanted to go to my room for a few minutes and take a shower before coming to eat; the staff immediately said they would speak to the restaurant host to ensure that I had a spot to eat in about 30 minutes. That is great service!

Given that my reservation was hastily made at the last minute, I entered my room expecting to have the tiniest room I had ever stayed in; not the case at all.

The room was very large and faced the interior courtyard on the 8th floor. It was “three rooms” having a separate bedroom, a completely separate study/office area with desk, and a large bathroom with separate toilet (with its own closing door) and a walk-in shower. The closet was a “real closet” and not just an armoire; there were plenty of hangers and robes provided. When I checked rates when I got home, I saw that a room of this size runs about $425 per night.

Having lived in NY/NJ area, and visited many times from Houston for both business and pleasure, The NoMad is by far the best situation I have found (combining quality of room, size of room, service of staff, and location).

Here is what you need to know about them in a nutshell: I left in such a hurry on Saturday morning, I forgot my iPhone charger plugged into the wall. I know this is just a $20 piece of plastic, but I hate losing things. A month later, I was in NYC again (staying at another hotel … See my review of The Ace Hotel). As I walked past The NoMad one day, I thought I would stop by and just see if by chance the Lost & Found had my charger. I told the front desk my name and my room number from the previous month. The staff immediately said, “Yes Derek, we found it during our cleaning and it is in our locked area. Would you like to have a drink in the bar while we locate it for you?” That is exceptional service!

If my wife and I travel to NYC for pleasure, I will definitely be staying there again. If I travel for business, I will always hint to my company that they should make sure any of our team members have the chance to experience The NoMad.

When I arrived back in Houston, many of my coworkers had the same high praises of their stays at The NoMad.


NOTE: On my ratings, I left blank "Value" because my company covered the cost and I had no idea the fee when I checked in. However, I would gladly pay the rate in the future knowing how great my experience was.

Room Tip: When visiting NYC, I always try to get a courtyard or "inner room" due to normal street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the NoMad for a week and we celebrated the New Years Eve '13 there as well.
We loved everything about the hotel - location, very professional staff, room- lovely design, always clean, adjustable lighting, cosy, comfy bed and lovely bathroom/shower. The room wasn't too big but we reserved a standard double so no complaints. The best part was the food at the hotel. We had NYE dinner at the famous restaurant and it was one of the best experiences ever. The breakfast was also delicious (very important for us).
If you are a picky and a demanding client this hotel is great choice for you. We travel a lot and normally stay at 5 star hotels and this hotel had a great value. Better than many other 5 star hotels we stayed at around the world. Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel probably 5-6 times now and its been exception every time. Beautiful clean rooms, amazing staff, great food. I highly recommend this place to all my friends. The only problem with this hotel is that it makes other hotels seem horrible by comparison. I wish there was a Nomad in every city I travel to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#24 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing