We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Weekend Night”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful room with clawfoot bathtub, very comfortable bed, antique lamp,switches. Stayed one night visiting kids in NYC. Hotel restaurant/bar very hip although did not eat/drink there. Area outside very seedy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street on upper floors. Clawfoot bathtub a plus
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for The NoMad Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 831 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Even though I live in New York I stayed here when a friend was in town. From the bed linen to the bathrooms, there is no expense spared! Don't forget to try the restaurant and the famous chicken! If so make sure you have a nightcap in the library bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNYC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Top quality food and very good service. I want to go back again to try other things on the menu, but what I had makes me want to go back for more of the same. Some nice features on the menu - in addition to appetizers they offer "snacks", so you can extend your meal by adding a very light prologue. The also offer a bit more vegetable content than most. I had as a main course roast carrots, accompanied by spiced wheat berries, cumin, and crumbled duck skin, and was glad I did. One trick they seem to favor is the use of crumbles, where little bits of intensely flavored stuff provides a seasoning highlight that permeates the food and lingers on the palate. This is very effective, although it fell slightly short with the fluke appetizer, where the raw fish seemed a bit flaccid compared to sashimi. We sought advice on wine pairings, and the advice seemed quite sound, since the wines were very well matched, although none was memorable on its own.

Room Tip: The back room is quieter, while the main room gets quite loud
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GilBagnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A gorgeous boutique hotel. We reserved an Atelier room and I was initially disappointed that we didn't get a bath as advertised - not all Atelier rooms have a bath I was told afterwards. The room was not big but the high ceilings helped so you didn't feel claustrophobic. It was decorated to a high standard. One big issue I think they should have addressed was the windows. Drivers in NY are not shy to use their car horns! Was woken up by traffic a lot. A drink in the Library or the bar is a must and hotel guests don't have to queue! great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeyan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 5 nights over a weekend at the NoMad in April 2013. It was a mixed experienced. The room was wonderful with a round bedroom, great bed, sheets were right up there with the best we've had, well designed curtain system to let light in during the day and keep it out at night, large bathroom with shower and separate full tub, living room, desk, etc.

It was a little noisy on the 4th floor, we could even hear the subway but chalk that up to NYC. The location is at the southend of no man's land in the Fashion District but walking distance to the Flatiron District and all its amenities. There is a Subway stop right on the corner, which is super convenient.

We found the service in general to be stuck up, especially in the restaurant and the bar. The Library (lounge) was wonderful and we spent a lot of time there over Expresso and drinks. They said the front desk staff were concierge but they were woeful compared to other hotels like the Gramercy Park or the Library. The door staff was serviceable with some exemplary experiences mixed in. Would we stay again? Probably but it would have to be a deal compared to other favorites, as it was on this trip.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nodcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great hotel, loved the decor, had a beautiful view of the Empire State Building from our Atelier room and had a wonderful 6 nights here. We drank in the bar, snacked in the Library and on the final night ate in the amazing restaurant.

My husband never orders chicken as he says its boring, however I forced him to share the house specialty Roast Chicken dish and we are both still dreaming about how delicious it was. If you get the opportunity - order it and you will see what I mean.

Bath in room cute, toilettries excellent. After first staying on the Upper East it was nice to move to a midtown hotel. A very short walk to Eataly where we had our morning coffee - the best we had in NY. Also within walking distance to my favourite store - ABC Carpet & Home.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Empire State Building on a high floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I couldn't ask for a better experience than I had at the NoMad Hotel. From the moment we dropped off our car (parking was cheaper at the hotel than at the garage across the street and it was with a valet service), we were treated like royalty. Check in was a breeze. We went in for a cocktail and to confirm our reservations for dinner and 3 people immediately helped us. Our drinks were great and they got us a table in the Library to continue our pre-dinner drinks and appetizers. Service and food were above anyone's expectations-a great chef is at the Hotel. Our room had a beautiful view of the Empire state Building, a great claw foot tub, and lots of room. Can't say nice enough things about our memorable visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Empire State Building
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#96 of 468 in New York City
530 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
308 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#57 of 468 in New York City
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#264 of 468 in New York City
796 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,883 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#64 of 468 in New York City
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $375 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing