We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite NYC Hotel”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #49 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We loved the Nomad on 28th and Broadway. We were celebrating our 13th anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The service was amazing. Loved our beautiful room with hardwood floors and a claw-foot tub and a beautiful view of the Empire State Building. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne in our room to celebrate our anniversary. Then, we had dinner in the Nomad Restaurant which was some of the best food we've ever had. The scallops were amazing, as well as the Milk and Honey dessert - not to mention the fabulous service. And, we read that the bar was always crowded and it was, but we were seated both nights within 5 minutes and the hostess was so kind and sweet - she even remembered us the second night. We will return to the Nomad!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for The NoMad Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 831 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

An odd but interesting entry, each room is lovely. The bar is warm and inviting, the bartender smart and great at mixing, and we could have curled up in the library with a good book and a scotch. Warmth and ambiance extraordinary. Food is beautifully seasoned, and not too much of it. Will return soon

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank candacegf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location close to the subway. The bar is a hub of activity and you will struggle to get a space from early evening. The bar snacks were fantastic and very elegant as were the cocktails. Rooms small, everything you need apart from a kettle! Right round the corner at the sister Ace hotel is Stumptown Coffee Roasters - highly recommended. Breakfast quality and value for money didn't match the accommodation and evening bar, a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A cozy, intimate hotel with a magnificent restaurant in the midst of the hectic paced city, perfectly located in mid-town Manhattan. The decor, the rooms, the restaurant, the service and atmosphere are superb. Designed to feel like a small European boutique hotel with velvet's, dark woods luxury bedding and comfortable lounge settings throughout. The Library Lounge and bar areas are so cozy and comfortable you will never want to leave. My new favorite NYC hotel, feels like your very own European Apartment, nothing compares to it in NYC, unique concept offering the best of the best, never want for anything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Room was very cool, and the hotel has a young, fashionable vibe. Staff are very friendly (beards and all). Bed was astoundingly good. Can anyone check where they bought the sheets? Really, really good bedding. Room was not super-quiet (hey, it's Manhattan), but we had no problems sleeping at all.

On the downside, breakfast was not included in our room rate, and cost about 20 times more in the hotel than it cost at Cafe 28 two blocks away. Speaking of food, there's a Hillstone (Houston's) a few blocks away, as well, which is a great option for lunch or dinner. Apart from that, there's not much around the "NoMad" area at all - it's mostly costume jewelry stores that are only open to wholesalers. So you're sort of in a dead zone within Manhattan, and have to walk to get to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyslopc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I went to New York City with my cousin and spent 2 nights at the NoMad Hotel based on a recommendation of a friend that lives in Chelsea. It was pretty fantastic. There was a nice relaxed elegant feel throughout our stay. I originally couldn't find a room with 2 beds online but then when we called pretty easily found one available. The whole hotel is very nicely renovated with good eye for decor. Had a great shower with high walls, high enough for my 6 ft 3 in cousin. He didn't have to bend down even once in the hotel. There were some very nice touches including beautiful blankets, excellent lighting, cool free mags and paper choice. One morning we just couldn't get out of our room and had even forgotten to leave out a do-not-disturb and were left alone. There was also the location close to Madison Square Garden and union square. Twice with help from the hotel we were able to get dining at the Nomad restaurant which was excellent! We felt pretty special because other Locals were turned away but they definitely catered to Hotel guests. Also the Library is pretty fantastic ambiance.

We originally had wondered if we wanted to stay near Times square but I am so glad we didn't. It was quiet in our rooms and although many of the taxi-drivers had never heard of the Hotel, when they all saw it they all made the same notation about the nice hotel. It is in a neighborhood that seems to be up and coming with much scaffolding surrounding it. It meant our trip pretty special.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking the restaurant which had a wonderful glass dome so tha...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Didi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I usually read the negative reviews on places before going, to see what people complain about. In this case other people thought noise was a problem - I didn't find that we were on the 7th floor on the weekend and were surprised how quiet it was. A really nice and comfortable design - think Restoration Hardware, in terms of new things designed to look old, which some might find funny. Highlight for me was how personable the hotel staff was and the rooms. Really unexpected and I thought it was well worth the $.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksmith142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#116 of 468 in New York City
530 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#163 of 468 in New York City
308 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#57 of 468 in New York City
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#263 of 468 in New York City
797 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,883 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 468 in New York City
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $369 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing