We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stylish Hotel at a price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #37 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Stylish Hotel at a price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The NoMad is obviously a trendy hotel because it has a capital M in the middle. And to a large extent it lives up to its capitalisation. The welcome is friendly. The room was very comfortable - boutique in a Louis Quatorze kind of way. Big TV comfortable bed.. The spacious bathroom still did not have a bath and suffered from the usual New York bathroom issue - not a shelf in sight. The restaurant is a hot ticket in NYC as is the bar. We went down for drink one night but had no hope of getting to the bar it was so busy - and you need to book the restaurant. However all things considered its perfectly good hotel. At $425 a night it was probably not top value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    209
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
82
352
49
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This boutique hotel is in a convenient location in New York, great for a weekend away. The room was beautifully decorated - hard wood floors, tall ceilings, lovely bay window and a relatively big, well -appointed bathroom. The rooms have a very homey feel. When the reservation was made, we asked for a quiet room, preferably, on a high floor. When we arrived, we were given a suite on the second floor. While it is totally understandable that the hotel may not be able to fulfill requests, the request shouldn’t be completely ignored. This is a fairly busy area so we were immediately concerned about the noise level so close to the street. When we raised the concern we were assured by the hotel staff that after the stores closed, the area was "dead" and there would be little, if any noise. The staff’s assurance was woefully inaccurate. Do not stay on the 2nd floor unless you are a very heavy sleeper. What the hotel staff neglected to say is that the room is above the subway and the area is also far from dead after the stores close. While some degree of street noise is unavoidable in any city, the staff really should have just been honest and allowed us to choose a lower category room on a higher floor or opt to stay elsewhere if nothing was available. In this case, the room rumbled pretty much every time the subway rolled by, often the conductor blows the horn. I don't think the room we were given is suitable as a sleeping room. Despite this experience, we would try the Nomad again – albeit on a higher floor. When we complained about the situation, the hotel staff took action. They were genuinely concerned. Their response shows that they care about their guests and want to improve on the hotel. That earns another try as issues with any hotel can only be addressed after enough guests take the time to point them out. This is a property that listens and cares and from the guest perspective, that attitude is appreciated.
Aside from the room, we did have the chance to have drinks in the library lounge and ate in the restaurant and. The lounge is awkward with spotty service, but their cocktails are inventive and delicious. If you temper your expectations on service, you will be fine. The restaurant layout is a little strange as there is a constant flow of guests walking through to get to the busy bar area. Generally, you can expect your seat to be pumped several times during dinner. The food is fantastic. The menu is creative and the wine list is equally well done. The signature chicken dish is absolutely fabulous but it is the attentive staff that make this place shine.
On the whole, the Nomad has a few hiccups but given their receptive attitude towards guests, the hiccups are easy to forgive.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor. You will hear street noise and the subway all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night on route to Martha's Vineyard for Christmas. Beautiful room with a huge bed and gorgeous bath. The library was interesting and lovely to relax in, reminded me of the Harry Potter movie's.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie56England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our room was very much french inspired, with a delightful clawfoot bathtub in the corner of the room, separate walk-in shower and water closet behind a massive 'room divider.' Very charming, luxurious bed and sheets.

We enjoyed the restaurant and the next day, I met several friends for afternoon tea in the library. What a gorgeous and romantic experience. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband surprised me for my birthday by booking one night at the NoMad in late December, along with dinner in the restaurant downstairs. I could not have had a more perfect birthday! While the location is a bit odd, in the city as long as you can get a cab or walk to a subway (which is on the corner), it's not a big deal. We had a lovely room which truly maximized it's space - the bathroom was cleverly laid out, complete with clawfoot tub right in the room! Big luxurious bed, walk in closet, even a writing desk. And I couldn't believe how quiet it was at night to sleep! For dinner we were totally pampered by an indulgent menu and a very knowledgeable waiter - the only knock was the beverage service wasn't as attentive as it shyould have been. We will come back in summertime to enjoy the outdoor terrace!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weloveziti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a fab hotel in a very central location. We had some minor hiccups with room allocation & air con issues but the way it was dealt with really showed their attentiveness and proactive approach to customer care. I was really impressed. We stayed in 2 rooms in the hotel and I loved them both. The first had a gorgeous bath & the 2nd an incredible view of the Empire State. Stylish and chic with good wifi, great staff & a lovely vibe throughout the hotel. Would highly recommend & return.

Room Tip: I preferred the room with the bath. You can also get views of Empire State - ask for both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtravelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great neighbourhood! Near off broadway shows and the high line, great walks and a lot of good restaurants around.
Pitty the bar is so crowded, not a chance to get in, It would have been nice if there had been some seats in the room in front of the bar, the hotel has a great charme, the restaurant was great, good food and great ambiance the only really really bad thing was the airco, horrible, I did get a cold the next day, they did try to put it at a lower speed, but no difference, it was really bad.

Room Tip: I loved the view at the front of the hotel, others had a room away from the street, more quiet, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#50 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#36 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,192 reviews
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#81 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#89 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 463 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing