We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #39 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

First things first, The Nomad is not a luxury hotel, it's a boutique hotel. That means loads of style, a lot of substance, but still, a small property that provides an exclusive and fun experience without being up there with the Peninsula, the Four Seasons, or even the Mark. To give it an "excellent" rating, I would need the orchestral virtuosity this lovely gem doesn't give, nor wants to.

That said, I loved it.

The beaux-arts building is just lovely, although the precise Broadway block it stands in is perhaps the shabbiest below 120th street. I understand the location has been an issue, but I for one had never spent any time in lower midtown/flatiron, and the area has a lot of great things to offer. And it is a very central base from which to go to anywhere, from downtown to the upper east side.

The lobby's interior design is beautiful and strikes a somewhat theatrical tone, scaled down a bit in the restaurant and bar. You do have to cross the restaurant to go to the bar which I found uncomfortable. Once at the adorable library room, you probably won't care how you got there.

The room was seriously cool. Very spacious, light flooded, beautifully decorated. Great mini bar selection, bedside iphone dock, lovely art work. I loved the tub, and used it a couple of times.
There were no drawers in the closet, so I kept my underwear in the desk drawers and the folded shirts in the TV/mini chest. There's more than enough space to put a small four drawer chest in the room, so I hope Monsieur Garcia comes up with a solution.

Service was courteous and friendly throughout. I did ask for a cup of coffee while sitting in the lobby, and was charged 4 dollars for an expresso in a paper cup, hardly acceptable. The doormen talked a lot with each other while attending the door, and were uneven in friendliness. After the first night, and having been given a room on the third floor, I asked to move to an upper floor, due to the street noise and trembling of the subway. The request was addressed promptly, and in the most accommodative fashion.

Would I recommend the Nomad? Of course. I do however feel that for a long stay it is not the most advisable property, and the location might be off putting for those seeking immediate action at their doorstep. I would most definitely recommend it for 3 night stays, specially if you have a lot of different locations to go to, as it is so central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    201
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
78
345
47
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
moraira
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Odd location, we had a very pleasant room, great bed, very comfortable sofa, very Parisian, staff were excellent, we had. lunch and dinner whilst we were there, I was not a great fan of dinner, but the lunch was excellent the chicken was terrifically tasty I just wished they had allowed me the wings. I understand all of the bones are removed for stock making purposes, however 74 dollars for a chicken is not cheap but there you go.... NYC in all its media glory. Lovely public areas, a very pleasant library oddly with music. Would definitely stay again,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnyardMoraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night during the NYC Wine & Food Festival and had a great experience. I would definitely recommend this place, to anyone looking to stay in an upscale NYC boutique hotel for a weekend. The restaurant and library bar is also equally fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great serves, clean well appointed room, nice bed with great sheets and soft pillows will keep me coming back. Bell men new the naborhood like the back of there hand and were able to direct us to every thing we needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel is in a strange spot on Broadway, great if you want to buy a wig, cellphone or cheap knockoff purse tho! But the hotel more than makes up for the neighbors, staff is attentive, bar and restaurant very nice, and the rooms are different than you will find anywhere else. The toilet closet is small but clean and warm, with a seperate shower(nice) and sink in the room. Bed was very nice. Its pricey I thought, but very nice. I'd stay again if I was to be in that part of town. (short walk to Flatiron district).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at this boutique Hotel for the first time and was really impressed. From the decor of the reception area to the decor of the room itself everything was creative, comfy and inviting. The room has a large, white, claw-footed bathtub and an ingenious bathroom area, hidden behind an upholstered screen. Every inch of space was used well and with a great sense of style.The bed was super comfortable too.This is definitely a treat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozziW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The NoMad Hotel is one of my favorite hotels in the city. I discovered it through a deal on "Gilt City" Although the vibe is definitely trendy, the environment is warm and welcoming thanks to the wonderful staff.
The room I stayed in had an adorable nook off the main bedroom outfitted with a comfortable chair and writing desk. The art and decor are appropriate and interesting.
The bar (especially the library room) is my favorite aspect of the NoMad--the drinks are amazing, and it's lovely to sit in one of their sofas to read and drink in luxury.
If you get a chance, please try the restaurant: it is memorable and very refined. Bonus: the hotel is pet-friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vsbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#35 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#37 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#70 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing