We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All coffee should be this good”
Review of Third Rail Coffee

Third Rail Coffee
Ranked #157 of 461 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All coffee should be this good”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Tiny store off Washington Square in Greenwich Village. Very friendly baristas make coffee from fresh, locally roasted beans. I enjoyed a macchiato and chocolate chip cookie, both excellent. The other baked goodies looked equally delicious.

Helpful?
Thank SheilaLoring
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee we tried in New York”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My fiancée, a coffee connoisseur, had marked on her NYC map the location of the highest recommended coffee places in NYC for us to try when we came to visit. She found this place amongst others in a local blog in which it received v. high praise.

It didn't disappoint, very well ground and brewed. No bitterness, just flavour. My fiancée said it was better than our local here in Dublin. Now that's a bit too far for me, and I don't know if in the warm light of day (it was very cold in NY at the time) she stands by that, but it's high praise indeed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europeest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best coffee i had in nyc”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I went on a bit of a coffee shop pilgrimage durung my ten days in new york and third rail comes top of my list for a good cup. I had a macchiato to go. It was spot on. The staff were also friendly and helpful, so hats off to them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_B186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“They know how to do espresso”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is one of the best coffee shops I've been to. They make great espresso every time, and their pastries are good too! It's a tiny place and can get really crowded, so don't expect that you'll get a seat. I overheard one of the baristas saying they make a point of not offering free wifi so they don't have people just camped out there all day. Fine with me, I just go for the coffee anyway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sokess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional Coffee & Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Too many coffee shops don't understand one simple fact: there is one way to make espresso and espresso-based drinks. It's a lot more science than art and there's not a lot of room for interpretation or complication. Third Rail DEFINITELY understands this. This place understands the importance of fresh beans, grind, extraction time and temperature. I've been drinking two cups a day since arriving in Greenwich Village a week ago and they are perfectly consistent. What's better, I'm always served with a smile. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank peterjhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Third Rail Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Third Rail Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing