We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Desert!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgetown Cupcake

Georgetown Cupcake
Ranked #44 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: SoHo
Seneca, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place for Desert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

When I was in New York City I came here after watching the TV shoe DC Cupcakes. They are located in SoHo but I wish it was closer to Times Square. Besides the fact they had AWESOME cupcakes!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    68
    29
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Better than others!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Love Gtown cupcakes and glad I tracked down their NY location - situated on a little side street paved with cobblestones it's almost as though they're trying to be inconspicuous which, so far, has kept there from being lines around the block (at least the two times I've been). I'm normally more of a vanilla girl but the chocolate lava fudge and chocolate with strawberry frosting are amazing!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ABB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Get Your Georgetown Cupcakes in New York!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I bought two cupcakes that day: salted caramel and red velvet. Red velvet is their #1 cupcake flavor so I had to have it right? But then I also wanted to try the caramel because they looked so good! I mean, look at the photos below! Fluffy cream with salted caramel.. Yumm.. how can I say no?

Verdict:
1. Salted Caramel Cupcake
The caramel cupcake was soooo good even if you do not eat it without the icing. However, if you eat it with the salted caramel infused buttercream then it is outrageously yummy! The frosting was so soft, rich and creamy. I felt like I was eating a caramel cloud when I first bit it. Oh gosh! It was that good! And the caramel drizzled on top makes this cupcake even more .... MIND BLOWING!

2. Red Velvet Cupcake
Love love love the cream cheese icing! Not overly sweet but enough to satisfy your sweet craving. As for the cake texture, it was very very moist! No wonder this is their best seller!

Blogging about food, travel, shopping and trend worldwide at www.thetwotales.com

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank putri a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen
Level Contributor
149 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I didn't even know the tv series...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just stumbled upon this shoppe while discovering SoHo and was very excited about the interior. They just opened for the day and there was nobody in so I decided to go and try a Red Velvet cupcake, since I never did before.
Took it "to-go"and ate it later on our way home. I felt sorry we were too far away to get MORE! What a treat. I consider myself a cookie-monster but cupcakes never got my fancy for some reason...this cupcake changed that and all I could think about was getting another Red Velvet cake.
After trying the Red Velvet at Magnolia Bakery I was even more sure that these Georgetown cakes were right what they should be : moisty cake, not too sweet (for a chocolate cake) and a wonderful, wonderful, almost sour cheesecake topping that complimented the sweetness of the cake.
Just great! I look forward to visiting the Washington and Georgetown shops on my next trip to the US....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a great treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The cupcakes here are amazing. Never a long wait and staff are very friendly. When I'm in town a stop here is a requirement. What are you waiting for? Try the chocolate and vanilla with cream cheese frosting. You will not be disappointed

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Honest_1Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgetown Cupcake also viewed

 

Been to Georgetown Cupcake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing