We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't read about it just go”
Review of Sleep No More

Sleep No More
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't read about it just go”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our favourite attraction in NY during our trip in October 2012. It is a walking theatre production. I won't ruin it for you but go in knowing the story of Hamlet, wear comfortable clothes and shoes and generally look for the crowd, they usually gather where a scene is happening. Do not bring valuables you will have to check in everything and do not pay extra to drink in the bar after, it is much too crowded hot and loud. Go to the bar next door instead.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank baglady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    230
    98
    63
    88
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A night to Remember”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Sleep No More is an interactive theatre event like nothing you have seen before. The dinner before the play was excellent. Ample wine was served before and during dinner. It was fun to talk with other guest, some who were back a second time.
After dinner, the excitement began as each guest donned a mask and was let away by staff into a dark elevator. The following 3 hours were spent in silence, chasing up and down the floors of the McKittrick Hotel. Though all in silence, the actors did a great job portraying a story that was intriguing and somewhat scary.
This was a unique experience that will affect each individual differently as each person will see it differently. I recommend comfortable shoes as you are on the move the entire time.
The evening ended in the "hotel" bar with fantastic, live music.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JSH229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Don't miss this experience!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's hard to describe this experience, and you really shouldn't read up too much before you go, but you should go. Go now! Sleep No More removes you from reality and places you in an in-between place. You're in between Shakespeare and Hitchcock, in-between a play and a movie, in-between participant and voyeur and definitely in-between yourself and your fantasies. This is a go-at-your-own-pace adventure, so you make of it what you want and explore what you want. Expect a dimly lit array of rooms to explore, a mask to wear and no talking allowed. Also, don't try to stick with your party. It will be a lot more fun if you go off on your own.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellington24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA., USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the next step in theater”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not a performance, an experience.
I don't want to give away much. If you are in nyc and you like the unusual and new and fresh and amazing endless sets, this experience is for you too.
It's touching, it's dramatic, it's thought provoking, it's lovely dance, it's tortured dance, it's unforgettable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zikkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sleep is FUN”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I took my husband here for his birthday and we didn't know WHAT to expect. We typically go to the opera or Broadway and I knew this would be a stretch for us. Well, we absolutely loved it and can't wait to share this with our friends. I definitely recommend doing the dinner beforehand. Food was excellent and the atmosphere really added to the entire experience. The jazz club at the end was a big PLUS and the musicians were excellent! Bravo to the entire production team and actors for giving us a night to remember.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank renee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleep No More also viewed

 

Been to Sleep No More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing