We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bakery must visit”

Dominique Ansel Bakery
Ranked #15 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoHo
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
763 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
“Bakery must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lots of people waiting in the queue,rain or shine to buy Cronuts from this Bakery. This is the only place we get tasty Cronuts. But it will be sold out before you get it. But there are other great items and soups in the bakery. One should have the patience and inclination to stand in the long queues. Enjoy your Cronuts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loki_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    234
    83
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Skip the cronuts and head for the madeleines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I was one if the crazy people that stood in line from 7.30am until 9.30 to bag a cronut (lychee). It was fine but not something I'd eat again - queue or no queue. The cronut popularity has masked what a great bakery this is. The made to order mini madeleines are what got me. They are the most perfect light pillows of happiness. Also had granola with yoghurt while sitting out in the back. That granola is better than any other I've tasted. Really worth it if your in for breakfast and want something other than pastry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awfullybigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Do the Cronuts live up to the hype? YES.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I met friends in front of the bakery at 10 hoping we'd be able to get one of the last Cronuts. We waited about 30 mins and were able to get (some of the last) Cronuts ($5 a piece). They were beyond amazing and yes, worth waiting in line for. The flavor of the month (October) is apple crème fraîche and it was out of this world. My friends and I deliberately ate the Cronut at a snail's pace for it to last as long as possible. Their chai lattes are to die for, and their regular coffee is also very good. We enjoyed our breakfast in the covered garden which seemed like a secret oasis in the big city. This may just be the best breakfast spot in the city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Chocolate Cookie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We happened to stop at this café when looking for a place to have a snack. Once inside, the cronuts story was all over, but the cronuts themselves all long gone, of course.
Nevertheless, we enjoyed an exquisite pumpkin soup and a delicious quiche in the conservatory where we had full view of the kitchen. But absolutely memorable will remain the flourless chocolate cookie. Never had anything coming close!

Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No need to wait in line...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The cro-nut wait is ridiculous and poorly organized but don't bother. The DKA and madeleines are just fine (if you can get over the cro-nut wait fiasco)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank akbadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominique Ansel Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Dominique Ansel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing