We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Ranked #226 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 14, 2006

We spent five days at the Millenium Hilton and while it served it's purpose and is well served by many subway lines, I don't think we'd stay again. The staff/service were adequate (not great), and the walls are surprisingly thin (we could hear our neighbours phone conversations/tv) and with construction having begun at the WTC site, it can get pretty noisy quite early. If you plan to stay, definately ask for a room as high up as possible. We found the WTC construction quite loud at times even though we stayed on the 53rd floor.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank arielized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,930 - 3,936 of 4,811 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2006

Stayed in this hotel for four nights in mid-November. This was a business meeting/pleasure trip. Two of the nights were a Friday and Saturday . We were located on the 49th floor. I give the location, room and service high marks. I required maintenance on the first day to replace a faulty showerhead. This was done promptly. I would definitely stay again. Some of the external positives include convenient subway stations which get you to Soho and even Times Square in less than 25 minutes. There is a well-known electronics store a couple blocks away as well as a discount retailer across the street. There are plenty of cheap eats down Church Street or Broadway. City Hall is nearby. This is a unique location with the WTC site across the street, the riverviews are great and you get a certain feel that is different from midtown. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank southernwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

We have originally booked a 3* hotel on W43rd St, but after reading very bad reviews on here, we had second thoughts. I looked on the Hilton website, and found out that rooms in the Millenium were only £5 per night extra!! We paid another £5 per night to get a garaunteed 35th floor or above (comes under "city view" on the room selection).

The hotel was absolutely amazing - despite being "down town" it was only a $5 taxi or 10min underground ride to Times Square. It is very easy walking distance to the Brooklyn Bridge, Wall Street, the ferry to Statue of Liberty, China Town, Little Italy and Grenwich Village.

The hotel is gorgeous - you really feel like you are staying in somewhere a cut above the rest! The rooms do look over Ground Zero, but only if you stand right next to window and look down. The view straight out of the window was fantastic, and the sun set right between the Trade Plazza buildings opposite. Its a truely amazing sight! The rooms aren't big, but you have more than enough space. The bathrooms are really nice (and the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries are a very nice touch!)

The Ground Zero site is very moving, but is actually worth visiting. The memorial display has been put together very tastefully and actually moves you to tears. I never worried about staying at the hotel because of it, and I actually felt that I was helping the regeneration of the area by staying at the hotel. Some poeple have commented on the building noise, but to be honest once you have the airconditioning on it more than blocks it out - it never woke us up to put it that way.

New York is a truely amazing city - and Millenium Hilton is a fantastic base to explore. If we go back to New York, we would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Daisyboo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2006

My wife and I just left The Millennium Hotel in NYC from our brief Honeymoon and I must say how dissatisfied we were with the service we received at the "Exclusive 4-Star" hotel. Upon our arrival I made arrangements with the gentlemen at the front desk to have a car pick my wife and I up from our Wedding Night Dinner Cruise. This was after upon check-in that the bellhop failed to make the arrangements for us as promised. Time and location were supplied to Arturo and I was assured that there would be a car waiting for us when we docked. When we arrived there was no car. In fact I had to walk approx. 6 blocks in the cold rain to hail a cab back to the hotel, exactly what I wanted to avoid by arranging a car with your hotel. After arriving back to our room we found that there was no heat. Because we were both exhausted and wanting to go to sleep we did not want to make an issue of it because we did not want to change rooms at that time. I believe that our mistakes were having such high expectations from such a prestigious company. That mistake will never be made again, for we will no longer stay at a Hilton affiliated hotel again. I'm afraid that if the disappointing service we experienced at the 4-Star rated Millennium Hilton is the norm I wonder how it is in other not so exclusive facilities under the Hilton Umbrella.

Overall they give you a “sorry” and send you on your way without any recourse. At the end of the day we’d rather stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank AMorad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

We chose the Millenium Hilton for our weekend in NYC because our rate, which included two breakfasts AND one night of champagne, was about $150 cheaper than the celestial rates of Times Square / Midtown properties WITHOUT breakfast.

We were worried that being so far downtown would make transportation difficult, but with a subway station across the street, we had no problem most of the time; Saturday night cabs were scarce and the hotel only had one doorman on, so we left the long taxi line and hoofed up one block to catch our own - no big deal.

We appreciated other TripAdvisor guest photos of the site, as it is across the street from the WTC site - the hotel itself was damaged in the 9/11 attacks and was closed for 18 months. (Now beautifully restored - no issues). The bellman told us a harrowing story of the day of the attack and his subsequent 9 hour walk home to the Bronx. This location, then, becomes a positive - the staff are happy to see you and grateful for your business, and you can walk a few steps out the door to see the moving WTC display or explore St. Paul's chapel, the 18thC church which miraculously survived the collapse of the towers.

The room was better appointed than most brands, with a huge, flat-screen TV and glass and wood furniture. Room a little on the small side for two women who spent three days shopping, but then again, what hotel room would have held all the bags? OUTSTANDING bed.

Our room overlooked WTC site, and the other side of the hotel overlooks the Brooklyn Bridge. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Marge246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

When you pay $400 (including taxes) a night at a five-stay hotel like this one, expectations run very high. Generally, our stay at this place was pleasant. The room was well spaced out and well maintained, the plasma TV was a plus.

The blips:

- breakfast was ok, though the standard (of the food) has dropped since our last stay two years ago. Service was inconsistent - some of the staff greeted guests with smiles and quick directions; others appeared nonchalant and looked away while making greetings (saying "have a pleasant day ahead" with a stoned expression while looking away does not count as service to me). My advice: don't go through the motion if you don't mean what you say.

- Lost a spectacle holder the day I checked out (it had apparently fell behind one of the cupboards, according to my friend who stayed with me). Called the housekeeping who couldn't locate it. Went to the front desk a few hours later to check again. Saw front desk person called housekeeping, laughed and shook his head while talking, out down the phone and said "Sorry, they couldn't locate it". Felt insulted that a matter like this was treated lightly. Friend adviced that small items like mine are always "dispensables" in hotels like this - you will never get it back. Didn't accept the reason and felt robbed.

Otherwise, the hotel was a pleasant stay with a nice view of the Hudson River skyline.

Stayed: October 2006
3  Thank pvtryan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2006

I liked our stay at the Hilton because it was beautiful but certainly not because of the staff or rediculous prices. I found one doorman to be very nice, the others would sit and count their tips infront of us, flag us down a cab and then expect a tip and give us dirty looks when he didnt recieve one. I also found that the food their was rediculously expensive if you even touched one on the food items in the dressers it was an automatic charge, which is not right especially since a chocolate bar was $8. We also didnt want to pay for the drinks in our fridge because a can of pop was $4 FOR A CAN OF POP. We purchased our own drinks at a drug store and put them in the fridge after taking the other drinks out. Later that night a employee came to our rooms to tell us that we had to take our drinks out of the fridge and put theirs back where they came from in exact order or we would be charged for every drink in the fridge, Arent we paying enough to stay here as it is,we cant even have a cold drink unless we pay a hugely overpriced amount for one drink! they also told us that we could have a fridge brought up to the room for an additional $100 to store out own drinks in, YA RIGHT. Anyways i was dissappointed with the hotel. Although it was beautiful I will not go back.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BeckyC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#303 of 471 in New York City
5,581 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,932 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#335 of 471 in New York City
5,095 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#189 of 471 in New York City
1,893 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hilton New York Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hilton New York Downtown

Address: 55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007-2939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $133 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hilton New York Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown places you right in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of Wall Street and adjacent to the Freedom Tower, Ground Zero and World Trade Center Memorial. Easily access all of Manhattan and nearby boroughs via the nearby Subway station, taxis and more. Enjoy some of the largest hotel rooms and suites in Lower Manhattan, spectacular skyline views and a glass-enclosed pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Hilton New York Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenium Hilton Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
Millenium Hilton New York
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing