We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - staff keep to themselves”
Review of Millenium Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Millenium Hilton
Ranked #233 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Hotel - staff keep to themselves”
Reviewed August 23, 2005

Very happy with the Hilton. Across the street from subway so you can get anywhere pretty quickly. The staff were good but really kept to themselves, which i like. Not very central but easy to get to on the subway. Cool TV's in the rooms!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    1,652
    638
    251
    138
See reviews for
924
1,479
317
987
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
421 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2005

The Millenium Hotel is everything you would want in a large urbane hotel. The rooms are quite large for NYC and have great views. The service is warm and accommodating, and the prices are excellent. So what seems to be the issue? The location is directly next to Ground Zero and although I applaud the hotel for opening up again shortly after 9/11, the area is very eerie, especially at night.

There simply is not much to do at this downtown location except shop at Century 21 across the street. If you do not mind the subway or taking cabs, it might work for you. As for me, I rather be in the heart of one of New York's more vibrant neighborhoods.

Helpful?
2 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2005

Got a corner king city-view room for just under $300 a night, after taxes, which was not too bad considering the good location, convenience, and *amazing* city view from the room. We usually stay in Midtown and enjoyed being away from the congestion of that area. The sleek black tower was easy to find and next to the WTC site. St. Paul's Church right beside the hotel has some compelling exhibits and stories about 9/11 inside and a very old graveyard that is beautiful and parklike. Good shopping is close by too.

My spouse was duly impressed for his 40th birthday. Furnishings are modern, and wow did he love the flat screen tv on the wall. Nice beds too. (I continue to *hate* the fridge with the hugely marked-up items and no room for your own soda or water.) In NYC, you don't spend too much time in the room, but we had a chance to enjoy a bottle of wine while gazing out over Manhattan at night, lovely! We appreciated the wine glasses and corkscrew in the room, and I liked the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries.

We did not take advantage of the pool, the lobby bar, or the Church & Dey restaurant, too many other things to do. We did notice that there was wireless in the bar and restaurant, and the lobby bar always seemed busy.

My husband is a huge subway fan and loved our central location for getting just about any train we needed, from Midtown to Coney Island. The location is extremely convenient.

I'd stay here again in a regular room if I could get some of the under-$200 prices that others seem to be snagging. Normally, I go budget, but this place came through for me when I needed a special occasion room without seeing it first.

I will continue to wonder why this hotel spells its own name wrong. Don't let that steer you away. :-)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foursquarebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2005

We had a wonderful time and the service was good. The room was clean and we used the subway (across the street) to get around very easily.

We had a nice view of World Trade Ctr renovations. We thought it was very cool - room size was good too. Not a closet.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4BearsinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 14, 2005

The Millenium Hilton is a find in lower Manhattan. For the price (we got a $177.00 per night deal) it was a real charm. This hotel has been nicely renovated to a more edgy funky look but not over the top like some NY hotels. Clean too. Our room was on the 53rd floor, corner overlooking Brooklyn to the East and ground zero to the southwest. Nice and quiet and cosy too. Very romantic overall. Big bathroom and spacious by NYC standards. Located on several subway lines so a quick ride to Midtown and Penn Station. Also located by Century 21 and SYMS for discount shopping. Starbucks is located around the corner for breakfast. Helpful desk staff and concierge. Much better service than in some of the smaller, boutique hotels located in Midtown.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 13, 2005

My wife and I spent six nights at the Millenium Hilton during our first ever stay in New York City.

We were on an award stay from Hilton, and they put us in a very nice 25th floor two-room suite over looking Ground Zero---which can only be described as a sobering view.

Because of our frequent travel status, we did receive free breakfast coupons, which were great because the breakfast buffet (while very good) costs roughly $25 a head. There are a bunch of places within walking distance for breakfast and lunch, though you will find your dinner options a little limited.

The room was very clean and upscale. The beds were quite comfortable, and the sitting room had a fridge, work area, and separate sitting area. The bathroom had a great shower, and the bedroom had a very large flat screen television.

If anyone in your crowd likes to shop, the hotel is located right next door to Century 21---which for those of you from the south, is a little like a Steinmart or TJ Maxx on steriods.

The only downside, at least for those of us in the tourist crowd, is the location of the hotel compared to midtown attractions. You are a $12-15 cab ride, or a pretty lengthy subway ride to midtown---even more if you are going to the museums on either the upper east or upper west side. Many could see this as a positive, since this hotel is in a very quiet part of town.

On the upside, however, you are within a block of two very large subway stations, from which you can catch nearly any of the major lines. The subway is very easy to use, though if you catch a local train, it is probably a 15-25 minute ride into midtown---and you will want to cab it back to this hotel if you come back late at night.

Finally, leaving the hotel is quite easy. The bell station arranged all of our travel back to the airport, and actually found us a town car that cost us less than our cab ride in to town.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2005

We had a suite on the 52nd floor overlooking Ground Zero. For me, this was very emotional and unnerving. However, when I thought about the fact that all of these people working here have to deal with this, and may have actually gone through 9/11 across the street, I realized that we all have to do what we have to do and move on. Back to the hotel: I got an exc. deal: $300/nite for a suite (king bed & sleeper sofa). The staff was wonderful and the hotel was convenient to many attractions. My kids loved the pool and I loved the turndown service. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#284 of 468 in New York City
5,155 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#29 of 468 in New York City
3,212 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#245 of 468 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#206 of 468 in New York City
188 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 468 in New York City
611 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millenium Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millenium Hilton

Property: Millenium Hilton
Address: 55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007-2939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millenium Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Millenium Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenium Hilton Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
Millenium Hilton New York
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing