We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Ranked #214 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
London
16
Reviewed January 10, 2005

Just returned from New York - a 9 day stay at the Millenium Hilton in the Finanicial District of NYC. Hotel was perfect. Our room, on 33rd floor, was spacious, modern & clean with a great view over Ground Zero and the location was a perfect base for getting around New York.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but food in local Deli's was fresh, plentiful and great value.

We loved the City - exciting & well organised, and the subway was efficient & cheap. There was loads to see & do, we found it safe to walk around day and night (perhaps because it was absolutely swarming with police).

In any case, if we are ever lucky enough to go back, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,036 - 4,042 of 4,744 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2005

We stayed here during 22 - 29 November.
We arrived around 2.30pm and were checked in and taken to our room. We were on the 39th floor overlooking Ground Zero.

This was our first time to New York and we loved our stay here. The room was spacious with a huge 42” plasma screen (not that we had much time to watch it).
The bathroom was very clean and fresh towel everyday.

We stopped B+B and the concierge was very helpful and friendly. We never encountered any unfriendly staff during our stay.

The Buffet was hot and cold choices, for example bacon, eggs, toast, bagels, fruit etc.

We thought the hotel was ideally situated, the subway right outside the hotel. Another bonus this hotel was great to get away from all the hustle and bustle to grab some peace and quiet.

Loved New York, loved our stay in the Millenium Hilton. Would definitely visit again.

5  Thank Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2005

Just back from 8 days at this hotel . The staff were excellent as were the rooms . The concierge was very helpful and never phased by our requests . We were a party of twelve and we all felt that this hotel was excellent. Room service was prompt, taxis readily available . Plenty of places to walk to . I have stayed in other hotels but this was my fourth visit and I was gald to see that since 9/11 it had lost none of its charm on reopening

3  Thank Tricia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2004

Stayed on Dec 26th for 3 nights, they checked us in early which was a bonus. Booked the city view room directly overlooking Ground Zero, for $150 per night from the Hilton website.

Room was clean and a good size, especially for NY hotels. 42" plasma tv screen was great and the "Hilton Heavenly Bed" is the most comfortable at any hotel I have stayed at.

Very quiet room and ideal for getting away from the busy streets further uptown. Century 21 is right next door for those who are looking for shopping bargains.

We had breakfast once at the restaurant, had good choice in the hot and cold buffet, which cost $16 each. However, on the other days we went to the numerous cheap delis and cafes around the hotel, you'll never be short of choice.

The tube stops are right on the doorstep, and is only a 10-15 min metro ride to Times Square, very convenient, and only costs $2 for a single trip. Taxi from airport is $45 flat fee (metered in other direction), but suggest you get the metro from/to Howard's Beach ($2) and the AirTran ($5), takes about about 40 mins.

Would agree with some of the other reviews that not all the staff are friendly, however would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thechinesecockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2004

stayed at the Millenium Hilton from 18 Dec to 23 Dec, had a fantastic time staying there and had no problems checking in.

The room was small but clean, the bathroom had everything you needed and the plasma TV was a bonus. It was great to use the pool every morning and the gym is more than adequate. We didn't eat at the hotel during our stay as we thought it was a little expensive but with the Stage Door Deli around the corner and plenty of small restaurants in the vicinity, especially Yori's Japanese on Fulton Street, we didn't see the point of paying out in the hotel.

If you want to stay in NYC but want to be able to return to a quieter area away from the crowds the Millenium Hilton would be perfect for you.

the only complaints we'd have would be the staff seem a little cold and disinterested when enquiries were made and we were charged for using the mini bar when we hadn't, they quickly reimbursed us the over payment on check out though.

all in all our stay in NYC was near perfect and the Millenium Hilton was a big part of it!

3  Thank wjash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2004

Room not ready upon arrival even though it was after check-in time. We were told that there were 5 pages of guests waiting for their room as well. Front desk said that they would call us when our room was ready...they never did.
Also, this hotel is AAA rated 4 diamond and yet you can only get heat or air conditioning depending on the time of year. Granted, we were there in December but a very warm stay and we were uncomfortable the entire time. Opening the window helped slightly. For this rating, you should have all the comforts of home...a choice of heat or air!
Room service breakfast was delivered fast and hot but it appeared to annoy servers if you didn't leave an extra gratuity almost to the point of rudeness. That's unacceptable!
Would we return to this hotel?
A definite NO!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nyyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2004

Hi all

Just returned from the Millenium from Sunday 19th - Wednesday 22nd December. Stayed in room 4206 overlooking ground zero.

The hotel was amazing and the room was first class we paid extra for the city view and it was well worth it.

The bed was so comfortable, the plasma tv was great, the bathroom was spotless. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom. With Sham

We never ate at the hotel, but shopped at Century 21 right next door!

Bought a Metro Subway card which we used all the time, it was nice to come back to the hotel at night away from all the hussle of the city.

We asked the conceige about a transfer back to JFK we said it would cost $72 one way! so we used the underground from fulton street to howard beach and then got the air train, $5 each for the air train, so if we want to save some $$$ use the underground back to JFK.

We ate at Buba Gump (from the film Forest Gump), Hard Rock Cafe & Planet Hollywood.

We also seen the Knicks at Madisson Square Garden you can book online from ticketmaster.

We loved our time in New York, it also snowed on Sunday night which made our trip even more special.

Thank you Hilton for making our visit so special. We will return.

10  Thank SandalsPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#290 of 470 in New York City
5,483 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#335 of 470 in New York City
5,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,805 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#192 of 470 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#193 of 470 in New York City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hilton New York Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hilton New York Downtown

Address: 55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007-2939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $150 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hilton New York Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown places you right in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of Wall Street and adjacent to the Freedom Tower, Ground Zero and World Trade Center Memorial. Easily access all of Manhattan and nearby boroughs via the nearby Subway station, taxis and more. Enjoy some of the largest hotel rooms and suites in Lower Manhattan, spectacular skyline views and a glass-enclosed pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Hilton New York Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenium Hilton Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
Millenium Hilton New York
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing