We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a business trip”
Review of Millenium Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millenium Hilton
Ranked #233 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for a business trip”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A regular in lower Manhattan, the Millennium is a mainstay for many. With clean rooms, a decent restaurant and a great location, it's a hotel worth considering on any trip.

With construction on the WTC still going strong, it can be a bit loud but nothing beyond reason or what might be expected in NYC.

Prices can be a bit high and there are definitely cheaper options nearby with similar quality. That said, all-in-all it's a good option.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millenium Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Andrew,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that noise from nearby construction and property value were of concern and I am sharing your feedback with the appropriate members of our team to address. We strive to provide the best value and experience for each of our guests and your comments will help us to better do so moving forward.

Thank you,
Alex

Alex Joset
Marketing Manager
Millenium Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    1,635
    635
    250
    134
See reviews for
910
1,456
316
981
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a good option for the Financial District and the 9/11 memorial. The views to the west were spectacular...you are literally right next to the memorial.

The lobby is small and uninviting. Plus there is a ton of construction around all the entrances. I did not have the chance to check out the restaurant and bar on the 3rd floor...so maybe there is some hope that those will be adequate if that is something you are looking for. The staff was friendly and I had no problem with the valet or bag service. Be advised that valet parking was $55/night with no in/out priveleges.

The room was well appointed and seemed relatively up to date. The size was adequate and actually quite spacious for NYC. The views from the 21st floor were great. Looking at the floorplan on the back of the door, it looked like only 2 rooms on that entire floor did not have a view to the west overlooking the 9/11 memorial. I can't speak for the other floors, but it appears that you just about can't go wrong with the view at the higher levels.

The gym was nice, albeit a little small. I liked that fact that it was included free of charge (unlike some other properties). The internet was not free...but good luck getting any full service Hilton property to provide free wireless. It is what it is.

Overall, I would stay here again. Its very similar to the Marriott that is a few blocks away...but slightly more convenient to restaurants and bars in the Financial District relative to the Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing west towards the 9/11 memorial
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsingCommonSense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I decided 2 spend a night in NYC for our wedding anniversary. 2 other couples stayed at the same hotel. The rates on the weekends were very reasonable 4 NYC and with available free upgrade it was a score to stay in a 1 bedroom suite with a fantastic view of the Statue of Liberty for the price of a regular room.we were able to walk 2 great restaurants or take a short taxi ride. We also were able to visit the World Trade Center Memorial. We will definitely
.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

You can't go wrong with the Millennium Hilton! The property is in an ideal location. The rooms are very spacious. The customer service is top of the line. I fly in and out of La Guardia on a regular basis so I could stay by the airport, but it is worth the 1 hour subway commute for me to stay here. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millenium Hilton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Traveler1Nebraska,

We are thrilled to hear what an exceptional stay you had with us at the Millenium Hilton! I am glad you found the location of our hotel to be ideal and not too far from the airport. I am also happy to hear you appreciated the level of service you received while staying with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Alex

Alex Joset
Marketing Manager
Millenium Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

There is nothing badly wrong with this hotel, but there's nothing terribly right about it either. I suppose I may have been expecting more because the hotel's name and its promotional photographs evoked the spiffy and luxurious Millennium Hilton in Bangkok.

But the second "n" in the word Millennium is not the only thing this hotel is missing. The pictures on the website make it look like a new hotel, but in fact it's thirty or forty years old, although it hasn't been a Hilton that long. The lobby is small and not particularly inviting; the rooms are small and drab; the carpets should have been replaced years ago.

There are a few positives: all the staff members I encountered were friendly and helpful, and the views from the high floors are impressive. (I had an East-facing room with probably the least interesting view -- no Ground Zero, no Statue of Liberty, just parts of downtown with the East River and the Brooklyn Bridge beyond -- but it was still spectacular compared to most hotels in the world). The location isn't bad, near the PATH train station and several subway lines. And the rates seem to be a little lower than those at other name-brand hotels: I was able to get a discount rate of "only" $245 including tax on a night when the Grand Hyatt would have cost $300 and the Waldorf Astoria wasn't offering anything lower than $400.

Those who are used to executive lounge access, either by paying a higher room rate or because of Hilton Honors loyalty-program status, will be disappointed to learn that there is no lounge here. Guests who would otherwise be entitled to lounge access get a coupon for a nothing-special continental breakfast. This is a shame, because executive lounges at skyscraper hotels are typically on a high floor with the best view in the house.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, but don't ask for a quiet room if you would like a view of the World Trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millenium Hilton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest and taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your time and input as a valued HHonors member and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed in our guestroom appointment and amenities. We constantly evolve our offerings to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we will use your comments as we evaluate our next steps toward this goal. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city so we may show you the improved quality stay you expect and deserve from our family of hotels.

Thank you,
Alex

Alex Joset
Marketing Manager
Millenium Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spouse and I enjoyed a very pleasant one-night stay here last Saturday. Spouse is Hilton Diamond and as such was able to get a corner room junior suite on the 19th floor. Windows on one side looked north: St. Paul's Church and its graveyard, and view up Broadway. View west had peek of the Hudson River beyond the World Trade Center building site. Room had a lovely, deep tub but somewhat wimpy shower, and water could have been a bit hotter. However, the towels were extra large, and there were two terrycloth bathrobes. Being a junior suite, the sleeping area is separated from the entry room with its desk, sofa, and coffee maker by the bathroom. Each area has its own television set. Room was quiet as there are only 12 rooms per floor in this 55 story property. Elevators are quick to arrive, and move at good speed.

As we are Hilton Diamond members, cold buffet breakfast is complementary; adding hot food would have cost $4.00 per person. Not necessary as wonderful croissants, yougurt, fruits, cereals, hot oatmeal, cheese, etc. are included in the cold buffet. This is New York, however, so be aware that if paying, price with tax is $25 per person for that cold buffet. We did not have a car, but be aware also that parking is about $55 per night, and you are asked to order up your car an hour before needed! Also, hotel taxes in NYC are steep: our room, at the AAA bargain price of $161, cost $190 with the inclusion of those pesky taxes.

That said, this hotel is convenient for visiting the World Trade Center site and other lower Manhattan venues. The Cortland Street subway stop is right outside. And, there is a good deli only a few step away on the far side of St. Paul's graveyard.

Room Tip: Become a member of the Hilton program and attain status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbeth1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend, as hotels in the Financial District are usually much cheaper on the weekend than those in mid town. As a treat, when i checked in i was upgraded to a corner suite. The room was great and looked directly over the footprints of the WTC (which was very sombering).
The rooms were very clean and very quiet. The decor is kind of dated. For such a modern hotel i would have thought that the rooms could have been a bit more vibrant than the standard hotel beige.
The breakfast buffet seemed to have pretty much everything, however it was put out in a very small area. The hotel had a well equipped fitness center and a decent sized pool.
I think i have finally found a hotel in NYC that i really like.

Room Tip: The highter the floor the better, and its NYC, so try to get a corner room just for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millenium Hilton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this review via TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know you had an exceptional stay with us and really enjoyed our hotel's location and views. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the guestroom decor, as we continuously look for ways to improve for our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Millenium Hilton again soon!

Best Regards,
Alex Joset
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,119 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,968 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millenium Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millenium Hilton

Property: Millenium Hilton
Address: 55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007-2939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millenium Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Millenium Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenium Hilton Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
Millenium Hilton New York
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing