We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Ranked #226 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spur-of-the-moment. we decided to spend a Saturday day and night in NYC for our 33rd wedding anniversary. We wanted a hotel with a heated indoor pool, and, after reading comments from folks who had stayed at the Millenium Hilton, we decided to take their advice, pay a few more bucks and get a corner room. Turns out, during the week the hotel is expensive and a busy place for business people, but weekends it is almost deserted and the PRICE IS GREAT! We arrived at the front desk after being greeted by several friendly employees, and Javier at the front desk told me he wanted us to call as soon as we arrived in our room so he would know if we were happy with the room.HOLY COW, WE WERE VERY HAPPY! Javier gave us a corner king room on the 54th floor with a dining room, living room, jacuzzi, huge bedroom and THE MOST AMAZING VIEWS! We could see the Brooklyn Bridge out of one window, and we were DIRECTLY ABOVE the 911 Memorial site! It was AMAZING watching the activity below, and touring the site is incredible.We were the only ones in the lovely heated pool, and the pool runs next to the ancient cemetery and church next door where the 911 viewing platform used to be, and it is a very beautiful location. Our room included a full breakfast which was great . Every staff member was friendly and nice. We loved walking the Brooklyn Bridge which is RIGHT THERE, and we also enjoyed walking through City Park. We found family-run "Joe's" 24-hour store around the corner from the hotel; Joe's has been feeding the construction workers at the Twin Towers site for 10 years - we LOVED Joe's Cuban sandwiches! It is a VERY QUIET part of town on the weekend which was perfect for us, but for a fun night-life just hop the subway or take a taxi . Highly recommend!! BUT GET A ROOM ON A HIGH FLOOR and spend a few extra bucks so you have a GREAT ROOM! WELL WORTH IT!!!

Room Tip: Get a room high up!! You will hear no noise up high from the construction site below at Twin Towers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,827 - 2,833 of 4,811 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Comfortable matress as were pillows.

Bad bread & bacon (Hilton hotels in London & Australia provides much better quality breakfasts) however, good fresh OJ.

Broken curtain rail - not fixed.

No free wifi like Accor hotels (despite biased speed which were fine for travellers to check emails - business people requiring faster connection have the paid option).

No kettle for tea although tea bags were provided. Had to improvise with provided coffee machine - had to run a few times to remove coffee. Then add tea.

No shoehorn or shoeshine cloth - considering it's in the financial hub, this would have been a nice touch for business people and those rainy days where shoes require a quick rub.

Inter-connecting door - The family next door sprayed so much cologne/perfume that it "flowed" through to my room via the inter-connecting door - not pleasant.

Good access to various subway lines and within walking distance to Brooklyn bridge.

Excellent water pressure in the bathroom.

Angela at front-desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 4808 may have a haunted bathroom. Either that or I have spirits travelling with me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinT176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millennium Hilton New York Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Justin,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We value your input as a world traveler and will surely share your comments on the condition of your room and quality of our breakfast items with our team so necessary adjustments may be made. We are sorry you were disappointed in the lack of wireless internet and amenities provided in your room and we will keep your suggestions in mind as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. We are glad you found our staff friendly and welcoming and our location convenient for your activities in the city. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and stay you expect the next time you visit New York.

Thank you,
Alex Joset
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had expected alot of this hotel when be booked two nights there from new years eve. We had a jr. suite and payed a great amount for it (it was the only available these nights). We thought that we woud spend some extra beacause of the event (new years). The staff where really not service minded, and especially one lady at the front desk had a bad attitude. We tried the room service one night, and the soup I ordered tasted like baby food thinned out in wather. Worst soup ever!!! The room was notting special, and had a heater who made more noice than a car in the room would. Only good thing was the view, but then agian for the money we spendt we would have expected to be higher then 37th floor. Would not recomand, or stay there again .

Room Tip: Noisy heater/air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 319AnitaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millennium Hilton New York Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing to spend your New Year's holiday with us. We appreciate being a part of your memories and we apologize you were disappointed in your stay. We strive to provide the best in class for all of our guests and we have shared your comments on our service and dining options with our team so we can work to improve these aspects for greater guest satisfaction in the future. If you would like to discuss your stay with us in further detail, please feel free to message us privately with your contact information and we will be more than happy to call you, with hopes of rectifying the issues at hand. We hope you were able to enjoy your time in New York and that you will consider staying with us again should you return to the city.

Thank you,
Alex Joset
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A simply fantastic location overlooking Ground Zero and the wonderful 9/11 Memorial. Reasonably priced rooms for such a location but not the quality of service I would expect from a Hilton, with some notable exceptions. Had to ask for soap - had to ask for coffee cups (which were paper - Yuk - surely they can be proper cups?) - no safe in room (there was an explanation). I just felt that the whole staff needed a dose of the real Hilton magic that I have experienced from other hotels in the UK and other parts of the world. The swimming pool/gym attendant was unbelievably glum and disinterested.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, so you have a view over the World Trade Centre development and the 9/11 Memoria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LumCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millennium Hilton New York Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing lack of amenities in your room and poor staff interactions your encountered during your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests the best in service and accommodations and we regret having dropped the ball in these key areas. We have shared your comments with our team in order to address the issue and prevent similar experiences from occurring in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can show you the Hilton quality hospitality you expect and deserve, should you return to New York in the future.

Thank you,
Alex Joset
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night at the Millennium Hilton, and the hotel was wonderful. Check in was quick and I was able to be checked in early which really helped me with the travels.

The biggest problem I had with my stay was the fact that when I entered my room, it was 82 degrees and the heat was still blowing on high. I tired to set the thermostat lower but it was set already to 65 degrees but blowing out extremely hot air and on high. I had to turn off the unit and had to call maintenance who said nothing they could do and opened a window and left after waiting for a half hour.

I had to go out for the evening so I left the window open and left but when I came back the room was still 76 degrees! I was tired and settled and I did not want the hassle of changing rooms.

Other than the thermostat problem, everything about the hotel was fine for a nights stay. It was noisy outside, but that is NYC folks. I would still stay here again, hopefully in a better climate controlled room.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justice4all72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millennium Hilton New York Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Steven,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are so sorry for the issue you encountered with your room's heater as we know how important a cool and comfortable room is while traveling. Our maintenance team has since addressed the issue but we regret it caused you discomfort. We are glad you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay with us and that our location was convenient for your activities in the city. We hope you will consider staying with us again should you return to New York so we may show you the complete hotel experience you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you,
Alex Joset
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here whislt in NYC in November, and whislt the location is very good, with great views of Freedom Tower and the rest of downtown, it is a bot aged as a hotel. The rooms were drab and tired looking, i had 2 huge double beds in my room, and a tiny bathroom.. Trying to check out and get my bags in to the storage area took 30 minutes!! It was always very busy with tourists (mainly Asian) which just added to your frustration when try to get out, or in to the hotel. The food was pleasant , nit amazing, and for the price i would expect more, as i could have walked round the corner to The Ancora italian restaurant for a simlilar price. Not bad if you are on business and are in and out, but for a break i would not stay here, if it were my money..

Room Tip: High up and at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syksey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Manager at Millennium Hilton New York Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback on your experience. We appreciate your feedback on the look and feel of our rooms as well as your dining experience. We will share your comments with our facilities and culinary teams as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. We are glad to have met your needs while in town and hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to New York in the future.

Thank you,
Alex Joset
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The location alone is enough to sell this place; right behind the World Trade Centre site, next to Century 21, with a subway stop almost under the building. However the general feel and presentation of the hotel round out the package into a nicely functional property with a touch of class. It is not the most glamorous hotel you could stay at in NYC, but it is clean and the rooms smartly furnished. It's not ultra-modern like some Hilton properties (which I personally do prefer) but it's also not dated or boring. The staff were, almost without exception, very friendly and impressively knowledgeable about the area - as you'd expect from a hotel concierge. They were always ready to help with directions or tips about what to do. There is a Starbucks a few steps around the corner where you can get a decent coffee and free WiFi too. For the price, this hotel is a great deal if only for the great location!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing west so you can see the World Trade Centre site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#303 of 471 in New York City
5,579 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,932 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#335 of 471 in New York City
5,095 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#189 of 471 in New York City
1,893 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hilton New York Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hilton New York Downtown

Address: 55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007-2939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $133 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hilton New York Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown places you right in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of Wall Street and adjacent to the Freedom Tower, Ground Zero and World Trade Center Memorial. Easily access all of Manhattan and nearby boroughs via the nearby Subway station, taxis and more. Enjoy some of the largest hotel rooms and suites in Lower Manhattan, spectacular skyline views and a glass-enclosed pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Hilton New York Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenium Hilton Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
Millenium Hilton New York
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing