We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect, clean, lovely hotel ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #134 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect, clean, lovely hotel ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the perfect combination of reasonably priced, newly opened and well-reviewed and it didn't disappoint.
Staff were absolutely lovely and would bend over backwards for us.
Location is good, it's in Chinatown so it can get a bit chaotic but it's right on Bowery which is a funky street with loads of cafés, diners, bars and good nightlife. Walk to subway not too bad (couple of blocks), walk to financial district about 20 mins, a good 45-60 mins to midtown but worth doing at least once to see some bits of the city tourists miss.
Hotel itself meticulously clean and we requested a city view and we were not disappointed, we were on a high floor, I think 12th, and could see the Empire State Building day and night. So beautiful, we slept with the curtains open so we could gaze out of the floor-to-ceiling windows.
Just lovely

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Most excellent - your experience is exactly what we strive for here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and we are happy to know that it shows. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to take care of you and we look forward to being able to do it again for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    495
    119
    22
    23
See reviews for
248
641
114
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I don't even know where to begin...from the moment we arrived many hours before check-in time, the staff at the Wyndham Gardens was more than accomodating. From treating us so nicely to doing little extras, such as explaining a subway map, this hotel is top notch. The room we had boasted a fabulous view with the floor to ceiling windows, clean, clean, clean! Happy Hour was fun, watching the staff interact with other staff and guests should be used as an example to others on how to treat people. Negative reviews? Baahh! Some people are just miserable and wish to spread that icky stuff. I utilized the workout room three mornings, and we also took advantage of the dramatic views from the rooftop lounge! I felt this was an absolutely wonderful place to stay, and am already planning my next visit....I would highly recommend this place to anybody who wishes to see the city. Midst of Chinatown, 2 blocks from Little Italy, down the street and around the corner to the subway where you can get to pretty much anywhere in the city, and a bus stop less than a half block away. Thank you Wyndham, and all your staff, for giving us the BEST NY vacation resting place anybody could ask for!

Room Tip: Remember this is Chinatown....hustle, bustle...corner rooms are key to dynamite views, spend the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk, bell staff and housekeeping staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My Samsonite luggage lock was tampered with. Thank goodness that it stayed locked and no one was able to get into my luggage, which contained a laptop and sensitive information. But I had to have the lock cut off by maintenance. Throughout the episode, the staff at the front desk conveniently played dumb, pretending not to understand that someone had tampered with lock while I was out of the room.

This is very disconcerting and poor service. I do not recommend this location because of the lack of security and tolerance for people's belongings. I'm very disappointed Wyndham would franchise to such a low standard of hotel manager.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are sorry for any inconvenience; however, security is of the utmost importance. We appreciate your feedback from your stay at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. We appreciate your insight and I would like to discuss your experience further with you. At your convenience, I can be reached at 646-329-3400. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent 7 nights here earlier this year and enjoyed our stay. Staff were extremely accommodating to our last minute change in plans and allowed for a rollaway bed to be added to our room for a reasonable price.

The room itself was smaller than I expected but I can understand why it would be the norm for Manhattan - very little space once the extra bed was put in but this was our fault for changing plans when it was too late to book a twin. It was clean and well maintained. As others have mentioned, the shower sprays out into the bathroom which is a little frustrating but housekeeping happily provided extra towels. Staff were all lovely and friendly throughout our stay. Our room was on the 2nd floor and I was initially worried that traffic would disturb us throughout the night but the sound insulation is actually pretty good. Main negative is the terrace outside the room - it is communal so have to keep curtains closed the entire time for privacy.

Location wise, it was really convenient. The nearest Subway is less than 5 mins walk and Little Italy and SoHo are both on your doorstep. Saying that, Chinatown is not the best location as it is not clean and the smell of raw meat and fish is really off-putting.

Did not use hotel bar or restaurant so can't comment on this - so many wonderful places in Little Italy at a fraction of the price!

Overall, I would recommend the nice rooms, friendly staff and convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Most excellent - your experience is exactly what we strive for here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and we are happy to know that it shows. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to take care of you and we look forward to being able to do it again for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Located in the heart of Chinatown. Easy to locate and close to everything. I had a reservation and the check-in and check-out was quick and easy. The room was big and bright. VERY CLEAN and appears new. Very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom with soaps and plenty of towels. Quiet/soundproof room with no disturbances. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown! It makes us proud to know that our hotel was able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel I was unsure what to expect.
Thankfully, it was as several of the reviews had said.
I was pleasantly and happily surprised.
The room was very nice. The floor to ceiling windows was awesome! Also we got some beautiful pictures of the nighttime skyline from the rooftop bar. Absolutely beautiful!
The bellhop, Ling, was a great help and very polite. The bar staff also greeted us on the elevator earlier in the day and when we went up to take photo's.
I Do Not recommend the hotel restaurant for breakfast. It took 30 minutes for 4 of us to get scrambled eggs, which were close to raw, some sort of potatoes and raw bacon. All of which were cold! Everyone's!
You Can mess up breakfast and they did, badly.
I would def recommend this location to anyone! Just no breakfast!
Be prepared for the overflowing shower and you'll be ok. We did fairly well since we were ready for it! Lol.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerite F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such a wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#98 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#187 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#241 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#290 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing