We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient for downtown activities!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #147 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient for downtown activities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel was simple, but perfect (and perfectly clean!) for downtown activities. Just moments from Chinatown, Soho, The New Museum and the Manhattan and Brooklyn Bridges. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as there are plenty of good spots in the neighborhood and great spots in Little Italy are literally steps away. The staff could not have been more helpful - very kind and aimed to please.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Pearl8882014 S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    503
    123
    24
    25
See reviews for
254
650
114
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Despite all the positive feedback for this new hotel, here is some factual experience:
1) the rooms are tiny.
2) The wall between bathroom and bedroom is semi c-thru. Sanitary duties become a shared experience.
3) Drinks at the bar are expensive.
4) the location is Chinatown, fun fr 1/2 days but not the New York experience that you'll get more up town
5) Rooms are clean
6) the hotel is new, everything works well.
My judgement; I will never go there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VoyageurEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It is disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. All of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown take your comments very seriously, and we are eager to correct any failures on our part. We also understand that our hotel is very unique in regards to the design and the size of our rooms and that the structure of the rooms may not be for everyone. However, from the rave reviews we have received so far from other travelers, we are confident that we are providing a unique and fresh experience for our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham Garden Chinatown in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Newish hotel in Chinatown with good service and staff. The rooms are spacious for New York by any standard. The rooms have multiple outlets for charging and the toiletries are good and plentiful. The biggest issues are in the shower design with no way to close the space so water gets over everything and the noise of the roof top bar. If you can stay on an upper floor but below the 16th floor you should be in good shape noise-wise. The views from the upper floors are amazing. If you get caught on a lower floor - make sure you go to the roof top bar at night! The drinks at the bar are average but nice when you are sitting there.

Room Tip: You want to pick a room below 16 but above the neighboring buildings so that you can have an amazing...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hard to be environmental with a shower that allows water all over bathroom - you end up using all your towels to clean up water on the bathroom floor.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I visit NYC on a regular basis and try to stay in different areas of the city whenever I can. This time the Wyndham Garden Hotel caught my eye with a decent price and a very high Tripadvisor ranking. I had high expectations and for the most part the hotel lived up to these expectations. It's very clean, well located and the rooms have a good floor plan, but there are a few annoyances that keep me from giving this hotel the full five stars. Some of these annoyances maybe nitpicking, but that's why we're talking 4 vs 5 stars.

First of all the bed's duvet is too short. I'm 6'4" and either my shoulders or your feet go under, which is annoying because the airco draft is noticeable at night. Also the duvet cover fits badly and your feet get stuck in it. Both of these issues can be remedied somewhat by turning the duvet 90 degrees, but that's not an option if you're not staying there alone.

Secondly the bathroom is not very well though out considering this is a newly and purpose built hotel. There is no shower curtain or door. There is only a glass panel covering the first part of the shower area. This is not enough and water splashes out soaking not only the floor, but also wetting the only clothes hook in the bathroom (see photo). Secondly it's hard to live up to the reuse of towels policy, because there is no decent rack to hang your towel to dry. There is only the aforementioned hook, which is too small for the large (but good) towels (There is enough place to retrofit a rack). The use of wallpaper in a bathroom, especially next to an open shower is not smart and the results of this decision were already visible (see photo).

Generally the furniture is good (I especially like the desk and it's well places outlets), but the comfortable chair in the room is not comfortable at all, it's basically an odd sized clothes rack (see photo).

Like many hotel rooms also this room didn't have a simple coat hook near the door. Why don't hotels understand how easy a simple hook would be to hang your coat or bag.

Finally I want to mention the most subjective annoyance, which is the fact that you cannot open any window. You are fully reliable on air conditioning and you cannot feel the outside air before you actually go down and exit the hotel. To some this may not be an issue, but I prefer (sleeping with) an open window over airco whenever possible.

All in all this is a good hotel which I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Try to get as high up as possible to get a better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: As I mentioned in my review the lack of a decent towel rack makes it very hard to reuse towels because there is no place to dry them decently.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The best service. Hotel was clean and updated, but the keys seemed to b a problem all weekend. Location of course is fabulous...Food in main restaurant is marginal, but the outside bar was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#134 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#250 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#205 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#296 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#92 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing