We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spacious accommodation in the heart of Chinatown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #158 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    525
    130
    27
    27
See reviews for
262
673
121
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and chose it as we wanted to be based in lower Manhattan. You are smack in the middle of Chinatown on Bowery - about a 10 min walk from Bowery station and 15/20 to Canal/Spring. Good if you like a bit of a walk. We didn't get breakfast, but so not necessary as you're in NYC! The rooms were smalls, but very clean. The bathroom shower was excellent, but annoying as no place to hang towels to dry after use. I'm all for re-using my towels, but hard to because of this! The only other thing that may irk is that the bathroom has a frosted glass door and floor to ceiling windows, which is great during the day. But at night keeps the whole room bright even though you have blackout curtains - so if you're sensitive to light suggest you sleep with an eye mask! And if you are going to Newark - they offer a car service for $75 which is about the same as a cab so could be worth taking up their offer.

Green Features: No place to hang towels to dry after use! So hard to re-use them...
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown for three nights in June. We found the accommodations to be clean, comfortable and in a great location. We were on the fourth floor and were not bothered by road or club noises, as previous reviewers had mentioned.

The rooms were spacious enough for two and our luggage while still allowing space to move, and at this price point, that's more than you can say for other NYC hotels. The room was tastefully decorated. The linens and towels were clean, soft and in great shape, and the bed was firm but comfortable.

The bathroom provides little space for toiletries and would benefit from a shelf or two. The shower pressure was great and the provided soaps are of a high quality. Others have commented on the design of the shower leading to water on the floor, but it was a minor issue for us and was nothing a bath mat couldn't correct.

Our issues with this hotel mainly revolve around customer service. On the first day, we attempted to order something from room service after reading the in-room menu which listed a variety of foods at reasonable prices. Upon inquiring, we found that almost all of the prices were outdated and that the actual price was much higher. We ended up eating off-site as a result.

On our second day, we called the front desk for additional towels as we had opted out of daily housekeeping. We had requested the towels be left on the floor outside of our room as one of us was asleep. The gentleman who brought the towels knocked on our door, which went unanswered to avoid waking the sleeping party. The desk called and mentioned our Do Not Disturb sign and asked us to open the door, to which we again asked that the towels just be left on the floor. The gentleman with towels then knocked AGAIN, waited a moment, and left without ever leaving us our towels. We ended up borrowing some from our traveling companions' room. We both work in hotels, and rule number one of Do Not Disturb signs is that you never knock unless there is a crisis.

On our third day, we asked for a recommendation for local restaurants from a woman at the front desk. She gave us three options and, when we asked for directions, her attitude changed to one of "figure it out yourself". She pointed vaguely down one street and mumbled the name again. My boyfriend asked her to repeat the route, and she again pointed. We ended up going to a small cafe that we found ourselves.

All in all, we did enjoy our stay. We found the staff to be less than helpful (again, by the standards of two individuals who are employees at well-respected Vermont resorts), but the accommodations left little to be desired. We would consider a second visit on our next NYC trip, but we would recommend to management to address these service issues before it becomes a pattern.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhodesReavis8793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. An experience such as the one you described is taken very seriously by all of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel, and we look forward to an opportunity to make it better. Although I cannot undo what happened, I would like to personally discuss your recent stay, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

I appreciate your feedback, as this helps us become the very best that we can be, and I look forward to speaking with you directly concerning your recent stay. I may be contacted at 646-329-3410, or Obouchaar@wyndham.com. In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Rooms very very nice and clean. Couldn't not have surviced withour air-co.
Two blocks to Little Italy and appr. 3 blocks to closest Canal St. subway station.
If you are a light sleeper, take earplugs with you as Bowery is a very busy street all day/night long.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amy-Leena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the glowing review. We are proud of this property and its staff and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed many facets of what makes this property so special. Please come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing