We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #148 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent 4 nights here mid May. Had a room on 12th floor and the view was superb. Room not huge but very clean. Bed comfy and hotel not noisy. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't eat at hotel but did go for a drink on the top floor at night and again the views were amazing.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - need to be on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services, and facilities. I have shared your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham Garden Chinatown in the very near future.

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

The rooms are nice (at least the one I had, on the 8th floor), very small but extremely clean and with a comfortable bed, coffee maker and a fridge. The bathroom was big and confortable with nice amenities. Also the service was good. But the location is terrible. Unless you need or want to be in Chinatown, I would avoid the ugly smells, the rude crowd and the litter all over. I couldn't wait to take the subway to go somewhere else in order to feel like, indeed, I was in New York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and am sorry to hear that the location was not what you expected. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Really happy with my four night stay at this hotel. The rooms are small but all hotels in NYC are small unless you pay a kings ransom. The hotel is close to Grand Street station plus Canal Street is close with three subway stations. The actual area the hotel is in is full of Chinese shops mostly selling tat or restaurants hence the area dies come late evening. Not to worry walk north to Delancy of Springs where you will find bars etc with the closest bat that I find was the One Mile pub on Delancy that is a nice friendly place right next door to the famous Bowery Ballroom. All other main area of entertainment in the East & Greenwich village are walkable or one or two stops on the subway or USD 8,00 dollars in a taxis.

Room Tip: My room was on floor 3 right at the front so no need to use the lift. The higher floors looking Nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. We do all we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank lala067
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Wow! I've never been treated so great in NYC until I stayed at Wyndham Garden Chinatown. The hotel staff are Wonderful!! They are friendly and professional, and offer very clean comfortable rooms in the middle of the hustle and bustle. The front desk people were very engaging with their customers - it was good to come "home" to smiling faces after a long exhausting day in the city. In fact, when I was departing, the Bell Person hailed a cab for me in no time. However, the trunk of the cab was extremely disgusting and the Bell Person said "this is not acceptable" shook his head and loaded my luggage in the front at the cab drivers dismay. The hotel staff exude quality customer service. I definitely found a favorite hotel in NYC. Thank you Wyndham Garden Chinatown!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased that your stay was a comfortable, welcoming one. We strive to be a "home away from home" to all of our guests. Our hotel prides itself on excellent service and I have shared your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wyndham Garden Chinatown.

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was able to view the Freedom Tower while laying in my bed on the 16th floor. The hotel is fairly new and modern and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant in the basement of the hotel which has both Asian and American food on the menu. The hotel is close to the Freedom Tower and Battery Park/Statue of Liberty and Elias Island. If you travel to midtown, it's about a $20 taxi ride from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC

Room Tip: The highest rooms have the best view when facing SW and get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diverhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We’re pleased that you choose the Wyndham Garden Chinatown, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#224 of 470 in New York City
403 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
564 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#257 of 470 in New York City
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 470 in New York City
751 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#261 of 470 in New York City
601 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#217 of 470 in New York City
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $143 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing