We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“clean and new” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #134 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    495
    119
    22
    23
See reviews for
248
641
114
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Thank you so much Mr. Massy for our most enjoyable vacation in New York. Your professional and personable attentiveness to our needs with the subway system and our stay in this big overwhelming city were greatly appreciated. The suite we stayed in were very well appointed and clean. My husband and I will always remember your exceptional hospitality and our highest recommendations for your beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with Massy with regards to how you appreciated his attentive service. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Wyndham Garden Chinatown.

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights over a long weekend.
The hotel has a great location on Bowery between Chinatown and Little Italy. The subway station is only a 5 minute walk.
The staff are extremely friendly and the rooms are well equipped and spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds, coffee makers, mp3 players and a nice big HD TV.
Although the rooms look impressive, their are a few design issues to the room. There is very little draw space (only 2 small bedside draws), and only one side of the bed had a bedside light on it. Another issue is the location of the in room safe, which is at the bottom of the wardrobe so you have to lie on the floor to gain access to it, not an issue for me but for some could be a major issue.
The marble bathrooms are big and well equipped, although the shower heads are fitted at a very strange angle. Toiletries are plentiful and of good quality, however there is no shelf in the bathroom to put your own stuff on.
The rooftop lounge has the potential to be amazing, but falls down on two points. Firstly as a resident in a hotel, I would expect to be able to charge drinks to my room, but this was not allowed. Secondly, the DJ needs to be more aware of the occupants of the bar. When we first walked in, the place was empty and the music was very heavy trance style music, which obviously the DJ was enjoying. Approximately 10 minutes after we arrived, a party of 5 women in their 30's walked in (bringing the total number of people in the bar to 7), but still the DJ insisted on playing the same music, despite the visible distaste on everyone's faces. This resulted in everybody leaving the bar pretty sharpish, and obviously the bar returning to it's previously empty status.
Despite these ( small ) issues, I would recommend this hotel and the surrounding neighbourhoods as a valid alternative to overpriced and plastic Times Square.

Room Tip: Get a high floor as the traffic is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 43Becko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Wyndham Garden Chinatown and your suggestions on the room designs. They will be reviewed to improve future guest experiences. We understand that our hotel might be a bit different than some people are used to when it comes to the layout, but we are very happy that you enjoyed how "well equipped and spotlessly clean" your room was, as you nicely stated!

We also thank you for your comments on the rooftop lounge. The lounge is a separate entity from the hotel and is not managed by the hotel, but we will share your feedback with their management. The hotel do have a bar by the lobby that will allow you to charge drinks and food directly to your room. We hope you will give our bar a try the next time you stay with us.
Thanks for your recommendation, and we certainly hope to see you again at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown!

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed here with my mom over Easter weekend last month for 5 nights. We normally stay more uptown but found a great deal online for the Wyndham. The location was excellent and allowed us to explore a new neighborhood, which we ended up loving and didn't really venture past 14th street in the end, except to shop. The rooms were very clean and the staff were incredibly accommodating. We asked to change rooms as we had previously been given one queen bed and the staff made sure we were given a room with an even better view than the one we had originally been assigned. The subway was around the corner and there was a whole foods about a 7 minute walk away. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We'll be looking forward to your stay at the beautiful Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel!

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great stay at Wyndham Garden Chinatown. Room designs are modern and clever (glass partitions as part of bathroom wall -- cool). Views uptown are spectacular. Fantastic location for lots of things. Omar skillfully directs a wonderful staff. We're definitely going to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and we agree with you 100% about our room designs - they are cool and modern! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and are happy to know that it shows. Thanks again, and we will be looking forward to your return! Take care!

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a modern (under two years old) and professionally run hotel close to Chinatown, Soho and L.E.S. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel seems safe (staff who were alert, elevator use requires key, quality doors in rooms, fire detection and sprinkler systems, etc.)

Our room was not particularly large, but perfectly OK (most rooms are small in NYC), and it was clean and tidy when we arrived (and the cleaning staff did a great job during our stay, too). We found the room very comfortable and it had a magnificent view of the Empire State Building/Midtown. There is also a large roof terrace on the 19th floor with a breathtaking 360 degrees view (we skipped the entire trip to the Empire State Building because of this)!

Top Queen Size bed with quality linens, refrigerator, spacious safe for laptop and passports etc, coffee/tea machine, sufficient electrical outlets (important!), iron/ironing board. The water pressure was good, and the bathroom had lots of thick towels and a hairdryer.

Many hotels have free, but poorly functioning Wi-Fi. That is not an issue at Wyndham Garden! We used the web extensively and without any problems. In the lobby there is also a PC for free use, not to mention a connected printer that made it easy to print our boarding passes before going home. We ordered Room service/used the hotel restaurant a couple of times, and the food was yummy.

Nearest subway station (Grand Street, B/D train) is about a 5 minutes walk and we had no problems getting quickly to Central Park, Times Square and other popular sites. We recommend purchasing a 7 day unlimited MTA-pass for $30. The hotel booked a taxi for us to Newark Airport, it worked great with their regular contacts - and a flat rate was arranged.

Heartfelt thanks to the Director of Rooms Omar Bouchaar, Katie, Hermin, and all the other members of the hotel staff who made our 10-days stay to such a nice experience, we would love to come back to this hotel!

Room Tip: If possible; order a room on about 8th floor or higher - to get a better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Efficient Ventilation system. Hotel encouraging guests to Green Practices:-)
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evbo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
It's so wonderful to receive this great feedback. Thank you for all of the attention to details which we find are important in making one's stay nothing short of amazing. I especially appreciate the kind review of so many members of our team. It is always wonderful to hear when the staff does a wonderful job. I look forward to sharing your comments with them as they will be ecstatic. It was our pleasure hosting you during your stay in New York and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#101 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#14 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#189 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#242 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#287 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing