We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good NYC option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #154 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 28, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have stayed in NYC many times, but this was my first hotel in Chinatown. Wyndham is a chain and the Wyndham Garden hotels seem to be their “value for money-selection”.
The Wyndham Garden Chinatown is situated next to Chinatown and Little Italy on the busy Bowery Street with the new art museum next to you. Ungrounded stations as well as public busses are nearby.
The hotel itself is rather small but well functioning with a very nice and helpful staff. Rooms are small but clean with a good bed. We definitely missed a sitting group in the room, where bed or desk-table was only possibilities of sitting down. There is a (empty) fridge in room as well as coffee machine.
Some rooms are with a balcony for which you pay extra. Don’t do- it is not worth the money as you cannot sit out there and it is shared with rooms next to you.
Prices are fair but normally without breakfast. You can eat in the hotel restaurant or at numerous restaurants and bakeries’ nearby.
Absolutely a good and fair alternative to the many hotels I NYC further up-town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KurtEsbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We’re pleased that you choose the Wyndham Garden Chinatown, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night after my flight was cancelled due to snow in NY. I booked a balcony room but when I viewed it I then downgraded to a regular room. The balcony rooms seem to be on the lower floors with no view. My ‘basic’ room had superb views through floor to ceiling glass.

The rooms are a reasonable size and the bathroom fittings and accessories are good quality. The room and hotel generally was very clean which is not always the case in NYC.

The bar on the top floor is managed by a different company to the hotel. It offered lovely views and friendly bar staff. Although quiet mid-week I’m sure it could get very busy at weekends.

Good price for a clean and new hotel with complimentary internet made this hotel a great choice.

Room Tip: Don't both with a balcony room as you may end up on the lower floors with little views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loungeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay despite being snowed in. We hope to see you again soon at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Wyndham Garden Chinatown is relatively new. The rooms are clean, comfortable, reasonably sized for NYC, and have nice views (all glass windows). The hotel is located 15m walk from Soho, so I won't recommend for solo women travellers.
The hotel is short in facilities (no spa, gym etc.) so if you need this - go somewhere else.
Never tried the breakfast, bur ordered once dinner - which was fine.
The staff are helpful in general.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isik s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I loved this hotel the first time I stayed here mid last year. This time, I booked a room with a balcony (was upgraded to this room last time). I arrived in my room on the 7th floor and the room was small, a queen bed and the balcony door was jammed shut but the snow, as it hadn't been cleared. Asked to be moved and was put downstairs on the 2nd floor, to a larger room with a King bed and again no access to the balcony. Kind of pointless charging extra for a balcony, if you can't access it, even in the winter. The room was freezing cold and we had to get additional heaters in the room. The rooms are lovely...good beds and desk area. The room was big, hence hard to heat. I suggest the best option are the balcony rooms on the 17th floor, which are smaller. heat better and also have baths and great views over Manhattan.

The staff are a mixed bunch. The men are so unbelievably friendly and welcoming but some of the women behind the desk are just indifferent. The phone to call reception didn't work for the whole stay and I had to run down to complain about the cold. Internet is pretty good and water for $1 in the room is good value. The bathrooms are nicely equipped too. Even the small gym is well thought out.

I am really disappointed the stay was not as good as last time, as I love the location and want this hotel to be great. It has so much potential but just didn't get it right this time. I may be looking elsewhere next time I come to New York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copperbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While these individuals do not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Mauro L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From the views, location, and service, this is an excellent place to stay! The management and front desk staff are very kind and helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. I have stayed at this location several times now and will be staying there again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

What an outstanding review! We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown glow with pride! Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
701 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#215 of 473 in New York City
412 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#252 of 473 in New York City
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 473 in New York City
804 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#247 of 473 in New York City
611 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#240 of 473 in New York City
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $152 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing