We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find in Chinatown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #157 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Wonderful find in Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We checked into the Wyndham Garden Chinatown apprehensive about what we might find as we booked this at the last minute. Were we pleasantly surprised. A brand new hotel just 9 months old, courteous staff, immaculate rooms and great service. We booked two rooms for 8 of us including a two year old. The staff were very helpful when some of us checked in early. The rooms were a bit small but large by New York standards. Parking is a hassle but once you are there you can cab it everywhere. Great to get to a lot of downtown. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We’re pleased that you choose the Wyndham Garden Chinatown, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    519
    129
    27
    27
See reviews for
260
671
120
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I never write reviews but after staying at the WGC in Chinatown NYC twice since they've opened in the fall of 2012, and dealing with such a wonderful staff, I felt compelled to tell everyone what a great hotel WGC is. I stayed there for the Chinese New Year celebration in February and most recently 2 weeks ago. The hotel is extremely clean and in a great spot; off of Canal so away from the madness but still close in proximity to Little Italy, SoHo, and thick of Chinatown. The rooms are fair for Manhattan and there are neat amenities such as a pretty nice gym. The thing that put me over the top to write this review is the amazing staff; always SO nice and just a very professional crew...you can tell they really value their clients and want you to return. On both occasions, I have had the great pleasure to deal with Janice and Hamza who always have a smile and are willing to make your stay a pleasant one. Through reservations, I have dealt with Meyin, who is God-sent in how she is speedy in her replies and ensures you have all concerns answered to the point she gives you 3 phone numbers to contact HER if there are any issues. For example, we intended to stay at WGC in the fall of 2012 right after Hurricane Sandy; however, due to the City's damage, it was postponed. Meyin ensured we were able to seamlessly transfer to another Wyndham property and followed up with handling a subsequent stay in February. I've stayed in NYC MANY times and have seen some decent hotels and some not so great; for me, WGC is probably our favorite for the value and location but most importantly, people like Janice, Meyin and Hamza ensure I will return each time.

Room Tip: higher floors with balcony view is pretty cool. also, the double bed rooms seems to be a bit larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review. I especially appreciate the kind review of so many members of our team. It is always wonderful to hear when the staff does a wonderful job. I look forward to sharing your comments with them as they will be ecstatic. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend & I stayed here for 2 nights and Janice was very nice upon check in. Our room was on the 16th floor so we had excellent views of Chinatown and upper Manhattan. The room was very nice, clean and managed. The only big inconvenience we experienced was the lack of ice machines on none of the hotel floors. The in room book stated our nearest ice machine was on floor 15 but it was removed. I later found out they had all been removed and that we needed to walk to the lobby bar for ice. Being on a vacation we often made drinks in our room so this ice issue was very inconvenient. I wish we were told this upon check in. We also ate at the outdoor patio restaurant called Elevate. They offered discounted food & it was very delicious. Upon check out we left our bags to do some souvenir shopping & Cameron was also very nice. They staff seems very happy to work here.

Room Tip: Rooms come equipped with a fridge so feel free to bring soda, alcohol, water etc. except ice isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4CAST01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We hope that you will come back and visit us again at the beautiful Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel only for 1 night, but we wish we could stay longer. The hotel is modern, like new, clean. We enjoyed the bed which was soft and very comfortable. The hotel is in Chinatown area. We arrived at around 12am, but we still got to have a very nice food at a Chinese restaurant close to the hotel. The service was good and the staff was helpful. You need to use bus or subway to get to the main attractions. The price was reasonable, cheaper than staying closer to Times Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rschan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. We originally had a balcony room on the second floor. We asked for a balcony room on a higher floor for the views. Without hesitation we got a balcony room on the seventh floor. What a view of the city surrounding the hotel! Conveniently located to the subway for easy access to anywhere in the city. Prime location for Canal Street Chinatown and Little Italy. Hotel was extra clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Glass front floor to ceiling windows give you an exceptional view. If staying during the warmer months of the year then I would recommend a balcony room. My wife and I look forward to another weekend getaway at the Wyndham Garden hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#321 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing